Orientation Leader Application Timeline and Required Steps

*** Applicants MUST complete each step to be eligible for the position!
  1. Apply beginning Monday, November 10, 2014 at:
    umjobs.org
    Keyword: 103111
    DEADLINE to APPLY:  Friday, December 5, 2014
  2. Attend ONE Informational Meeting:
    • Tuesday, November 11, 3:00 pm - 4:00 pm, Michigan Room B
    • Wednesday, November 12, 9:00 am - 10:00 am, Michigan Room B
    • Thursday, November 20, 10:00 am - 11:00 am, Michigan Room B
    • Friday, December 5, 1:00 pm - 2:00 pm, Michigan Room D 
  3. Ask ONE of your references to submit the recommendation form with a letter of recommendation:
    DEADLINE to submit RECOMMENDATION:  Friday, December 5, 2014
  4. Selected applicants will be invited to participate in ONE Group Interview:
    • Monday, December 8, 10:00 am - 11:00 am, OR
    • Monday, December 8, 3:00 pm - 4:00 pm
  5. Selected applicants will be invited to participate in an Individual Interview:
    • Tuesday, December 9
    • Wednesday, December 10
    • Thursday, December 11

2014-2015 Dates

Listed below is the calendar and time commitment for the Orientation Leader position.

Training:

There will be one training session per week starting in January. There will be no training sessions during spring break. There will be additional training sessions in May, leading up to the initial first year session and once a month throughout the summer. On top of the training sessions for the entire team, there will be some additional training sessions to provide development time to create various workshops for the sessions.

** ALL training sessions will be planned according to the availability of those hired.

2015 First-year Student Sessions:

The sessions will be held overnight in the First Street Residence Hall. Orientation Leaders are expected to attend every session and will be expected to stay in the hall overnight with the students.

Work Schedule – 8:00 am on day one to 6:00 pm on day two

Session #1           Wed. May 27 - Thurs. May 28

Session #2           Wed. June 10 - Thurs. June 11

Session #3           Wed. June 24 – Thurs. June 25

Session #4           Wed. July 8 – Thurs. July 9

Session #5           Wed. July 22 - Thurs. July 23

Session #6           Wed. August 5 - Thurs. August 6

Session #7           Wed. August 19 - Thurs. August 20

2015 Transfer Student Sessions:

Orientation Leaders will be expected to work seven of the following sessions.

Session #1           Tues. March 31, 9 am – 1:30 pm

Session #2           Thurs. April 16, 2 pm – 6:30 pm

Session #3           Wed. April 29, 9 am – 1:30 pm

Session #4           Mon. May 11, 12:30 pm – 5 pm

Session #5           Fri. June 5, 9 am – 1:30 pm

Session #6           Wed. June 17, 11 am – 3:30 pm

Session #7           Tues. June 30, 11 am – 3:30 pm

Session #8           Tues. July 14, 11 am – 3:30 pm

Session #9           Wed. August 12, 11 am – 3:30 pm

Session #10         Mon. August 17, 12:30 pm – 5 pm

Session #11         Wed. August 26, 2 pm – 6:30 pm

Session #12         Fri. August 28, 12:30 pm – 5 pm

 

2015 Additional Sessions and Responsibilities

Orientation Leaders will be expected to attend all of the following sessions and events.

International Student Session                                  TBD, Late August

Genesee Early College Student Session                  TBD, May

D.E.E.P. Student Session                                           TBD, multiple in May

Dual Enrolled Student Sessions                               Wed. May 6, 3:30 pm - 6:30 pm and Mon. August 10, 9 am - 12 pm

Individualized Tours                                                   TBD, Late August

Residence Hall Move-in Day                                     Sun. August 30, Time TBD

New Student Welcome Day & Convocation            Tues. Sept. 1, 10 am – 8 pm

My Flint Events                                                            TBD, Start of Fall Semester