Orientation 2018

Hail Orientation! Orientation Season is one of the most exciting times at the university! We have the opportunity to connect with and make an impact on eager incoming freshmen, transfer students, and their families! Students’ experience with orientation is our first opportunity at ensuring student success. Our Orientation Leaders are committed to the university and the Flint Community. We are seeking student leaders who truly enjoy serving and helping others.

Orientation Leader Required Steps

*** APPLICANTS MUST COMPLETE EACH STEP TO BE ELIGIBLE FOR THE POSITION!

Step 1:

Attend ONE information session

Date Time Location
Monday, October 30 12:30 pm UCEN, Michigan Room D
Tuesday, October 31 12:30 pm UCEN, Happenings Room
Tuesday, October 31 5:00 pm UCEN, Intercultural Center, Room 115
Wednesday, November 1 12:30 pm UCEN, Michigan Room A
Wednesday, November 1 5:00 pm First Street, Multipurpose Room
Step 2:

APPLY: careers.umich.edu
| Posting number 149114 opens October 26, 2017 and closes on November 8, 2017

Step 3:

Reference: submit one letter of reference: www.umflint.edu/orientation/orientation-leader-recommendation-form
| Due on November 10, 2017 at 12:00 pm

Step 4:

Group Interview: Selected applicants will be invited to participate in a group interview
| November 10, 2017 from 4:00 pm - 7:00 pm in UCEN, Michigan Rooms

Step 5:

Individual Interview: Further selected applicants will be invited to participate in an interview

Once hired:

Training:

Trainings will begin in January. We anticipate Friday as the training day; however, the schedule will be according to selected candidates’ availability. On top of the training sessions for the entire team, there is additional training sessions to provide development time to create various workshops for the sessions.

ALL FIRST-YEAR AND TRANSFER ORIENTATION SESSIONS ARE MANDATORY!
FIRST-YEAR ORIENTATION SESSIONS
Session #1 Thursday, June 14, 2018
Session #2 Thursday, June 28, 2018
Session #3 Thursday, July 12, 2018
Session #4 Thursday, July 26, 2018
Session #5 Thursday, August 9, 2018
TRANSFER ORIENTATION SESSIONS
Spring Transfer Tuesday, April 17, 2018
Session #1 Tuesday, June 12, 2018
Session #2 Tuesday, June 26, 2018
Session #3 Tuesday, July 10, 2018
Session #4 Tuesday, July 24, 2018
Session #5 Tuesday, August 7, 2018
Session #6 Wednesday, August 29, 2018
2018 Additional Sessions and Responsibilities

Orientation Leaders will be expected to attend all of the following sessions and events, including additional dates that may come up throughout the year.

Event Date
Genesee Early College Student Session Thursday, April 19, 2018
DEEP Student Session TBD
Dual Enrolled Student Sessions TBD
Individualized Tours TBD, Late August