One mentor cannot provide all the guidance an individual faculty member needs. The core philosophy of the Faculty Mentoring Program asserts that faculty at all stages can benefit rom the guidance of a variety of mentors who offer their diverse experience and advice to help mentees achieve their professional goals. The Mentor Network supplements one-on-one mentoring by enabling mentees to seek the information they want from a tenured faculty across disciplines at UM-Flint.

Past and present mentors, listed below with their areas of interest, are available to answer your questions. We encourage you to contact these mentors for further discussion.

 

Chris Douglas (Economics), ccdougla@umflint.edu

  • Teaching
  • Navigating the promotion and tenure process
  • Time management

 

Eric Freedman (Psychology), freedman@umflint.edu

  • Personal statements (e.g., for 2-year, 4-year and tenure reviews)
  • Writing multiple choice questions for exams
  • Staying focused on maintaining your research
  • Practical/informal T & P expectations

 

Guluma Gemeda (Africana Studies), ggemeda@umflint.edu

  • Teaching
  • Choosing committee, teaching, and/or service assignments

 

Lixing Han (Math), lxhan@umflint.edu

  • Scholarly activity and publication
  • Opportunities for collaboration in research

 

Kazuko Hiramatsu (English), kazukoh@umflint.edu

  • Work/life balance
  • Improving teaching
  • Community/civic engagement
  • Institutional Review Board, research with human subjects

 

Adam Lutzker (Economics), alutzker@umflint.edu

  • Teaching
  • Collegial support/community building
  • Choosing committee, teaching, and/or service assignments

 

Marianne McGrath (Psychology), mmcgrath@umflint.edu

  • Institutional Review Board, research with human subjects
  • General editing of papers, proposals
  • Student behavior, classroom challenges

 

Juan Mestas (Foreign Languages), jmestas@umflint.edu

  • Collegial support/community building
  • Diversity issues:  gender, race, identity in the academy

 

Cindy Pfalzer (Physical Therapy), cpfalzer@umflint.edu

  • Scholarly activity and publication
  • Institutional Review Board, research with human subjects
  • Preparation and strategies for tenure and promotion

 

Suzanne Selig (Public Health & Health Sciences), sselig@umflint.edu

  • Integrating teaching, research, and community engagement

 

Jessica Tischler (Chemistry), jtisch@umflint.edu

  • Teaching (science/labs specifically)
  • Balancing life/work
  • Working with student clubs

 

Shu-Yi Tu (Mathematics), sytu@umflint.edu

  • Improving teaching

 

Chris Waters (Art), cwaters@umflint.edu

  • Choosing committee, teaching, and/or service assignments
  • Collegial support/community building