The Citizens Advisory Committee of 11 to 18 members is established for the purpose of advising the chancellor, the president, and the board on all matters bearing on the effectiveness of the service of the university to that area served by its programs centered in Flint, including the long-range educational needs of the area, and the part the university should take in responding to such needs. The committee shall provide for its own organization and procedures.

The committee shall be appointed by the board on recommendation by the president for terms of four years. No member shall be eligible to serve more than eight consecutive years. The chancellor of the University of Michigan-Flint shall be a member of the committee ex officio, without vote, and shall preside at meetings of the committee.

Committee Members

Melany Gavulic, President & CEO
Hurley Medical Center

Dr. Lisa Hagel, Superintendent
Genesee Intermediate School District

Margaret Kato, Executive Director
Genesee County Habitat for Humanity

Preston Means, President & CEO
ACCU-Shape Die Cutting, Inc.

Linda Thompson, former Superintendent
Flint Community Schools

Gregory Viener, Community President
Commercial Banking
First Merit Bank

Ridgway White, Vice President
Charles Stewart Mott Foundation