Engineering Industrial Advisory Board

Mechanical Engineering Program Industrial Advisory Board

At the start of the 2012-13 academic year, the program established a new Industrial Advisory Board (MEGN-IAB), composed of leaders representing a wide spectrum of industrial organizations located in Michigan. One of the most important objectives for the industrial advisory board is to contribute to the program’s strategic success. The MEGN-IAB will focus on aspects of the engineering program’s relationship with business and industry, and address such issues as:

  •  Determining the steps required to improve and expand the mechanical engineering program’s current relationships with business and industry and how to improve it.
  •  Helping the engineering program build a better image and recognition in Michigan and other surrounding states.
  •  Providing industry perspective to the department in assessing undergraduate mechanical engineering program.
  •  Assessing the level of competency of the mechanical engineering program graduates and provide input on course and curriculum improvements.
  •  Helping the mechanical engineering program to attract research grants, student design projects, internships, awards, etc., from industry

 

The MEGN-IAB will meet at two times annually (preferably in October, and March). Usually,the meetings will be held on the University of Michigan-Flint campus. The agendas will reflect the interests of the mechanical engineering program and the MEGN-IAB members.

Membership:

MEGN-IAB membership will consist of members from industry and related organizations. It will be by invitation from the MEGN program faculty and the Board. The members will serve for a minimum of three-year terms and there will be no term limits for membership. The Board will be chaired by the Department Chair or the Mechanical Engineering Program Director or a senior Mechanical Engineering Program Faculty. The Director for The Office of Development and Alumni Relations of University of Michigan-Flint will be a member of the Board. Other University and School administrators and faculty will be invited to attend the meetings as appropriate.

The Board Chair shall:

  •  Coordinate the Board meetings
  •  Prepare meeting agendas in collaboration with the members
  •  Provide leadership in helping the Board in achieving its goals and objectives
  •  Work with the Board in recruiting new members for achieving diversity

 

Engineering Industrial Advisory Board Members
November 15, 2012

 

NAME

COMPANY

EMAIL

Bauer, Glen

GM Casting, Engine & Transmission Ctr

glen.bauer@gm.com

Benjamin, Robert "Bob"

GM Casting, Engine & Transmission Ctr

robert.benjamin@gm.com

Evangelista, Jim (interim)

Shiloh Industries

jjevangelista@shiloh.com

Garcia, Elisia

M CIV USARMY TARDEC (US)

elisia.m.garcia.civ@mail.mil

Gerrish, John

GM Casting, Engine & Transmission Ctr

john.gerrish@gm.com

Howard-Coolin, Darryl

GM

dhowardc@gmail.com

Kilbreath, Randall "Randy"

VP Total Solutions

rkilbreath@vpts.net

Leece, Adam

North American Lighting

aeleece@gmail.com

Malek, Justin

R. L. Adams Plastics

jmalek@goadams.com

Millstead, Chester "Chuck"

The Gates Corporation

CM6608@gates.com

Moncrieff, Laurie S.

Adaptive Manufacturing Solutions, Manufacturing & Innovation Technology Institute

lmoncrieff@ams-miti.com

Murray, Jr., Neil G.

TRW Automotive Electronics

ngmurray@comcast.net

Murshed, Mahboob

GM, Sag Metal Casting Op

mahboobmurshed@msn.com

Pendleton, John – resigned

HP Pelzer – promoted, now in Germany

JPendleton@hppelzer.com

Phinisee, Rashaun "Shaun"

Ford Motor Company

shaunp1286@gmail.com

Rahman, Khwaja M.

GM Global Electrical Systems, Infotainment and Electrification

khwaja.rahman@gm.com

Siddique, Saiful

Ford Motor Company

saifuls@umflint.edu

Uddin, Mohammad "Nasim"

Global Automotive Management Council

muddin1@gmail.com

Webber, Donald "Don"

TMI, Inc.

dowebber@umflint.edu

Aluko, Olanrewaju "Lanre"

UM-Flint

aluko@umflint.edu

Kim, Young Man

UM-Flint

kymkmo@umflint.edu

Mazumder, Quamrul

UM-Flint

qmazumde@umflint.edu

O'Brien, John

UM-Flint

johnalle@umflint.edu

Vaziri, Mojtaba

UM-Flint

mvaziri@umflint.edu

Voland, Gerard

UM-Flint

gvoland@umflint.edu

Turner, Stephen "Steve"

ex officio

UM-Flint

swturner@umflint.edu