Foreign Languages Faculty/Staff

The Foreign Languages Department is comprised of a very diverse group of persons, with numerous international cultural experiences as language professionals and individuals. We share our expertise and first-hand knowledge of the languages, literatures and cultures of other nations in an effort to promote the understanding and value of human, cultural, and ethnic diversity in our global community.

For inquiries, please contact the Foreign Languages Department support staff:

Ms. Jessica Gutiérrez
Principal Secretary
Phone: (810) 762-3370

Tenure-Track Faculty

Dr. Imane A. Hakam
Associate Professor of Foreign Languages (French)
French Section Coordinator 

Dr. Jamile T. Lawand
Associate Professor of Foreign Languages (Spanish)
Phi Sigma Iota (Rho Rho Chapter) Advisor  

Dr. Juan E. Mestas
Professor of Foreign Languages (Spanish) 
Chancellor Emeritus

Dr. Rafael H. Mojica
Associate Professor of Foreign Languages (Spanish)
Spanish Section Coordinator  

Lecturer Faculty

Mr. Norberto Aguado-Perez 
Lecturer in Spanish  

Dr. Mohamed Daassa
Lecturer in Arabic and French
Department Chair

Ms. Giséle Farah 
Lecturer in French

Ms. Theresa Fedio 
Lecturer in American Sign Language

Dr. Jing Fu
Lecturer in Mandarin Chinese

Ms. Theresa Knoll
Lecturer in Spanish

Ms. Elke Kramer
Lecturer in German  

Ms. Deborah Snow
Lecturer in French

Dr. Dolores Pons-Hervás
Lecturer in Spanish
Spanish Basic Courses Coordinator

Dr. Joseph Tyler
Lecturer in Spanish