Advising

The Office of Graduate Programs provides general information about UM-Flint graduate programs and assists prospective students with the application process and basic program advising.  If you are interested in speaking with the Graduate Advisor, you may do so in a number of different ways:

  • Drop into the Graduate Programs Office: The Graduate Advisor is available for advising on Monday, Wednesday and Friday from 8:00 am - 5:00 pm and Tuesdays and Thursdays from 11:00 am - 8:00 pm.
  • Participate in the Graduate Advisor Chat, which takes place on Mondays from 1:00 - 3:00 pm and Thursdays from 6:00 pm - 8:00 pm.  
  • Request an appointment via telephone or on-campus.

All questions relating to the program of study and degree requirements should be directed to the assigned advisor for that program.  Visit our programs of study pages for additional contact information for each graduate program.

Graduate Program Directors and Advisors

Graduate Programs Recruiter and Academic Advisor | Erin Strom
251 Thompson Library
(810) 762-3171
ecarrasc@umflint.edu

Accounting | Craig Gomolka
2200 Riverfront Center
(810) 237-6676
cgomolka@umflint.edu

Anesthesia (MS and DrAP) | Jane Motz, CRNA, DrAP 
3171-A William S. White Building
(810) 262-9264
jamotz@umflint.edu

Applied Communication | Daniel Lair, Ph.D.
4116 William S. White Building
(810) 766-6679
danlair@umflint.edu

Arts Administration | Nicole Broughton, MFA
238 French Hall
(810) 237-6522
broughn@umflint.edu

Biology | Joe Sucic, Ph.D.
262 Murchie Science Building
(810) 762-3360
jsucic@umflint.edu

Business Administration | Craig Gomolka
2200 Riverfront Center
(810) 237-6676
cgomolka@umflint.edu

Computer Science & Information Systems | Jeffrey Livermore, Ph.D.
207 Murchie Science Building
(810) 762-3131
jefflive@umflint.edu

Early Childhood Education | Rachel Gutierrez
430 David M. French Hall
(810) 424-5215
biocchir@umflint.edu

Education (Ed.D.)| Rachel Gutierrez
430 David M. French Hall
(810) 424-5215
biocchir@umflint.edu

Educational Administration | Patrick O'Donnell, Ph.D.
220 David M. French Hall
(810) 762-3470
padonnel@umflint.edu

Educational Technology | Rachel Gutierrez
430 David M. French Hall
(810) 424-5215
biocchir@umflint.edu

Education Specialist | Rachel Gutierrez
430 David M. French Hall
(810) 424-5215
biocchir@umflint.edu

Education - MAC Program | Mary Jo Finney, Ph.D.
430 David M. French Hall
(810) 762-3260
mjfinney@umflint.edu

English | Suzanne Knight, Ph.D.
326 David M. French Hall
(810) 762-0145
suknight@umflint.edu

Health Education | Suzanne Selig, Ph.D.
2102 William S. White Building
(810) 762-3172
sselig@umflint.edu

Liberal Studies | M. Jan Furman, Ph.D.
326 French Hall
(810) 762-3285
jfurman@umflint.edu

Literacy Education | Rachel Gutierrez
430 David M. French Hall
(810) 424-5215
biocchir@umflint.edu

Mathematics | Cam McLeman, Ph.D.
402 Murchie Science Building
(810) 762-3185
mclemanc@umflint.edu

Nursing | Constance Creech, RN, EdD
2180 William S. White Building
(810) 762-3420
ccreech@umflint.edu

Physical Therapy Entry-Level Program | Leslie Smith, PT, DPT
2157 William S. White Building
(810) 762-3373
llacy@umflint.edu

Physical Therapy (Ph.D.) | Cathy Larson, PT, Ph.D.
2157 William S. White Building
(810) 762-3373
clarson@umflint.edu

Physical Therapy Post-Professional Programs | Jamie Creps, DScPT
2157 William S. White Building
(810) 762-3373
jcreps@umflint.edu

Public Administration | Kathryn Schellenberg, Ph.D.
522 David M. French Hall
(810) 762-3343
kathsch@umflint.edu

Public Health | Suzanne Selig, Ph.D.
2102 William S. White Building
(810) 762-3172
sselig@umflint.edu

Social Sciences | Adam Lutzker, Ph.D.
220 David M. French Hall
(810) 762-3280
alutzker@umflint.edu

Lifelong Learning and Guest Advising

Please contact the Office of Graduate Programs for advising related to non-degree (Lifelong Learning) and guest admission.