Director

Email:
snewport@umflint.edu

Shelby Newport

Shelby is associate professor of Theatre and Dance. She has been actively involved in international education, including serving on the IGS faculty since 2012.  Shelby has led two IGS endorsed study abroad courses to England that focus in her content area of British Performance and Design. She also serves as the resident costume designer for the Department of Theatre and Dance and has designed costumes in England. Shelby has an interest and passion for global education and is looking forward to working with the departments that contribute to the International and Global Studies minor. 

Why I support IGS at UMF? 

I support study abroad because I've seen first hand the life changing experiences students can have while in another country. When you experience another part of the world, you gain empathy and create a more robust world view.

Courses taught within IGS:

INT 394: Special Topics in Study Abroad- London: Theatre, Fashion and Architecture (2011)
INT 394: Special Topics in Study Abroad- British Performance & Design: History, Analysis & Experience in England (2014)

Core Faculty

Email:
dauda@umflint.edu

Dauda Abubakar

Email:
chumov@umflint.edu

Lois Alexander

Email:
dbirchok@umflint.edu

Daniel Birchok, Assistant Professor of Anthropology

Daniel is Assistant Professor of Anthropology. He is an anthropologist of religion who has carried out extensive field and archival research about religion and public life in Indonesia. Daniel has experience leading student exchange trips that have brought Indonesians to the United States and U.S.-based students to Indonesia for multiple week themed programs. He is looking forward to bringing all of this experience to his efforts working with IGS, both in and outside of the classroom.

Why I support IGS at UMF? 

I support International and Global Studies because studying IGS, and especially studying while traveling abroad, allows students to develop unique conceptual tools and critical perspectives that enrich their lives and support their efforts to contribute to the broader societies in which they live. Plus, it's fun, which should never be undervalued!

Courses taught within IGS: 

ANT/INT 100: Introduction to Cultural Anthropology
ANT 352/INT 352: Culture and Economy in Cross-Cultural Perspective

Email:
clementc@umflint.edu
School of Management

Clement Chen, Professor of Accounting

Email:
eernest@umflint.edu

Ernest Emenyonu

Email:
patemen@umflint.edu

Pat Emenyonu

Email:
ggemeda@umflint.edu

Guluma Gemeda

Email:
lxhan@umflint.edu

Lixing Han

Email:
mkietzma@umflint.edu

Mary Jo Kietzman

Email:
glaurenc@umflint.edu
School of Management

Greg Laurence, Associate Professor

Email:
sarlipp@umflint.edu
Communication and Visual Art

Sarah Lippert , Ph.D

Email:
qmazumde@umflint.edu
Computer Science, Engineering and Physics

Quamrul Mazumder, Associate Professor

Email:
seyed@umflint.edu

Seyed Mehdian

Email:
dmunroe@umflint.edu

Derwin Munroe

Email:
mtippen@umflint.edu

Maureen Tippen

Affiliated Faculty

Email:
bucking@umflint.edu

Robert Buckingham

Email:
feuerher@umflint.edu

Emily Feuerherm, Assistant Professor

As an undergraduate student, I studied abroad in Ireland for a year to complete the archaeology requirements of my Anthropology major. After I graduated, I moved to Switzerland, attended an intensive German language program, and got my first experience teaching English as a foreign language. Education abroad is an incredible opportunity for personal and professional growth and my life trajectory was altered by these experiences. Because of my work abroad I chose to pursue a Master’s degree and then a PhD in linguistics with a focus on second language acquisition. Now, I direct the Bridge Program for UM-Flint’s international students and coordinate the certificate in Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages (TESOL certificate). I remain a lifelong language learner and explorer of other cultures and countries.

Email:
lknecht@umflint.edu

Linda Knecht

Email:
jaclede@umflint.edu

Jacob Lederman

Email:
sjleeum@umflint.edu

Seung-Jin Lee

Email:
moyoon@umflint.edu

Otrude Moyo

Email:
sselig@umflint.edu

Suzanne Selig

Email:
esvoboda@umflint.edu

Liz Svoboda, Assistant Librarian, Liaison to IGS