2014 Michigan Mathematics Meetings

The UM - Flint Mathematics Department is honored to host the 2014 Annual Meeting of the Michigan Section of the Mathematical Association of America (MAA) and the Michigan Mathematical Association of Two-Year Colleges (MichMATYC).  The meetings will take place Friday, May 2, and Saturday, May 3.  We invite you to come and enjoy mathematics together with your Michigan colleagues.  For information on registering, talk submission, or travel and parking information, see the side bar to the right.  For information on the talks during the meetings, continue reading below.


Program and Talk Information

The sessions will feature four parallel sessions, where faculty and students are invited to present their mathematical research and teaching innovation techniques.  For students, there will be special sessions by industry representatives with information on job opportunities and graduate school opportunities for students in mathematics.  A special ceremony will take place at the Friday Banquet where the MAA Michigan Distinguished Teaching Award and the MAA Michigan Distinguished Service Award will be presented.

Program / Schedule of Talks


Plenary Speakers
  • Dr. Brian Hopkins - Saint Peter's University

  • Dr. John Oprea - Cleveland State University

  • Dr. Lloyd Douglas - UNC - Greensboro (and MAA Officer)

  • Dr. Francis Su - Harvey Mudd College

Local Speakers
  • Patricio Herbst - University of Michigan

  • Brin Keller - Michigan State University

  • Libin Rong - Oakland University

  • Matt Boelkins - Grand Valley State University

  • Stephen DeBacker - University of Michigan