History and Application Process of the Winegarden Professorship

The Myron and Margaret Winegarden Visiting Professorship was established in 2001 through a generous gift from the estate of Margaret Winegarden.  This gift enables the University of Michigan-Flint to bring individuals of national and international reputation to our campus. 

The guidelines for the Professorship specify that the candidate contribute to the understanding and appreciation for the sciences and humanities in the context of the emerging global world economy.  Winegarden Visiting Professors will be expected to spend a significant amount of time on our campus during the fall or winter semester.  They will teach and/or interact with classes, participate in meetings with students and faculty, conduct lectures for students, faculty, staff and the community, offer seminars and colloquia for faculty, etc.

Candidates for this Visiting Professorship need not hold a traditional faculty appointment; however, they should be nationally or internationally acclaimed for their professional work.  The Provost, in consultation with the Vice Chancellor for Institutional Advancement, will appoint a faculty selection committee to determine the successful nomination.

The open window to submit applications normally occurs in the spring and will be announced by the Office of the Provost.  To submit a nomination, please complete the nomination form and mail the completed form to Sue Fabbro, Office of the Provost, sefabbro@umflint.edu, 229 University Pavilion.  The only supporting documentation needed is a brief biographical sketch and a statement addressing the question, “How would the nominee contribute to the understanding of and appreciation for the sciences and humanities in the context of the emerging global world economy?”  Please contact the nominee to be sure they would be interested in coming to our campus and to get a sense of the remuneration they would need.  Recipients typically spend the equivalent of one month on campus, which could occur by several visits during the semester or an extended stay.

Previous Winegarden Professors

Dr. Jürgen Wolter 2013-2014
Dr. James Elkins  2012-2013
Dr. Kenneth Waltzer  2011-2012
Christopher Paul Curtis - 2009
Tariq Ali - 2008
Will Power - 2007

Winegarden Nomination Form