Call for Nomination for the University of Michigan-Flint Sponsored Faculty and Faculty/Staff Achievement Awards

We are soliciting nominations for the following faculty/staff achievement awards:

For your convenience, the above links provide the criteria and guidelines for the various campus-wide awards.  Here is a list of recent recipients.  Here is the Nomination for Faculty/Staff Award Form.

We have wonderful faculty and staff who are worthy of these awards.  Please give careful thought to colleagues in your own and in other units who deserve this recognition.  Your support is essential to assemble a strong pool of candidates!

Due to award timelines and/or funding constraints, all awards may not be available each year.  Notification of available awards will be announced when the call for nominations is made.  For all of the above awards, the name of the nominee and the name of the award for which the person is being nominated is due no later than January 28, 2016.  This information should be emailed to The deadline for supporting documents is March 18, 2016.  Supporting documents should be submitted to Christopher Heidenreich & Charlotte Tang, Co-Chairs of the Scholarships, Awards and Special Events Committee, c/o Provost’s Office, 229 University Pavilion or via e-mail to  Please assist in generating a strong pool of nominees to ensure that the awards will be given – our faculty deserve no less.  

Call for Presidents Council Michigan Distinguished Professor of the Year Award Nomination

The Michigan Distinguished Professor of the Year Award is given by the Presidents Council to recognize a tenured professor who displays a special commitment to undergraduate education. Nominations should be submitted to the Scholarships and Special Events Committee, at 229 University Pavilion, no later than 5:00 p.m., TBD. Self-nominations are not accepted. All required documentation must be submitted on time in order for the nomination to be considered. More details are on the 2014 Professor of the Year Flyer for UM-F.

Faculty/Staff Awards/Honors

2015 Award Recipients

Join your colleagues on August 31, at the Academic Affairs Convocation, from 2:00 to 4:00 p.m., in the University Theatre in honoring the following faculty/staff award recipients.

Distinguished Service Award

Kathryn Schellenberg – Associate Professor of Sociology

Scholarly or Creative Achievement Award

Lixing Han – Professor of Mathematics

Teaching Excellence Award

Lois Alexander – Professor of Music

Lawrence D. Kugler Academic Advisor Excellence Award

Brenda Cameron – Manager of Quality Improvement
/Public Health and Health Sciences



Alvin D. Loving Senior Faculty Initiative Award

Ernest Emenyonu – Professor of Africana Studies

Lucinda Hinsdale Stone Junior Women Faculty

Karen Salvador – Assistant Professor of Music

Dorothea E. Wyatt Award

Peggy Kahn – Professor of Political Science

Dr. Lois Matz Rosen Junior Faculty Excellence in Teaching Award

Nicholas Kingsley – Assistant Professor of Chemistry

Presidents Council Sponsored Faculty Award 
University of Michigan-Flint Nominee
for the Michigan Distinguished Professor of the Year Award 

Ricardo Alfaro – Professor of Mathematics

Collegiate Lecturer Award


Traci Currie – Lecturer of Communication