Mentor Network 2012-13

UM-Flint Faculty Mentoring Program

The Mentor Network: A core philosophy behind the Program is that one mentor cannot provide all the guidance an individual faculty member needs. Rather a variety of different kinds of mentors can more effectively help faculty achieve their career goals—true for faculty well beyond the early stages of their academic careers. By making use of the reservoir of mentors’ experience and expertise, the Mentor Network supplements the one-on-one mentoring and group programs by enabling mentees to seek out the kind of information they want most.

Here is a list with past and present mentors’ specific mentoring interests. If you have particular questions or concerns, we encourage you to contact these mentors for further discussion.

Chris Douglas (Economics), ccdougla@umflint.edu

  • Teaching
  • Navigating the promotion and tenure process
  • Time management

Eric Freedman (Psychology), freedman@umflint.edu

  • Personal statements (e.g., for 2-year, 4-year and tenure reviews)
  • Writing multiple choice questions for exams
  • Staying focused on maintaining your research
  • Practical/informal T & P expectations

Guluma Gemeda (Africana Studies), ggemeda@umflint.edu

  • Teaching
  • Choosing committee, teaching, and/or service assignments

Lixing Han (Math), lxhan@umflint.edu

  • Scholarly activity and publication
  • Opportunities for collaboration in research

Kazuko Hiramatsu (English), kazukoh@umflint.edu

  • Work/life balance
  • Improving teaching
  • Community/civic engagement
  • Institutional Review Board, research with human subjects

Adam Lutzker (Economics), alutzker@umflint.edu

  • Teaching
  • Collegial support/community building
  • Choosing committee, teaching, and/or service assignments

Marianne McGrath (Psychology),mmcgrath@umflint.edu

  • Institutional Review Board, research with human subjects
  • General editing of papers, proposals
  • Student behavior, classroom challenges

Juan Mestas (Foreign Languages), jmestas@umflint.edu

  • Collegial support/community building
  • Diversity issues:  gender, race, identity in the academy

Cindy Pfalzer (Physical Therapy), cpfalzer@umflint.edu

  • Scholarly activity and publication
  • Institutional Review Board, research with human subjects
  • Preparation and strategies for tenure and promotion

Suzanne Selig (Public Health & Health Sciences), sselig@umflint.edu

  • Integrating teaching, research, and community engagement

Jessica Tischler (Chemistry), jtisch@umflint.edu

  • Teaching (science/labs specifically)
  • Balancing life/work
  • Working with student clubs

Shu-Yi Tu (Mathematics),sytu@umflint.edu

  • Improving teaching

Chris Waters (Art), cwaters@umflint.edu

  • Choosing committee, teaching, and/or service assignments
  • Collegial support/community building