Annual Pre-Convocation Workshop and the 2016 Fall Convocation


The Office of the Provost and Thompson Center for Learning and Teaching (TCLT) invite you to the University of Michigan-Flint’s annual Pre-Convocation Workshop and the 2016 Fall Convocation

Why Failure is Essential for Student Learning


♦ Registration and Continental breakfast at 8:30 a.m. ♦

♦ Program 9:00 a.m. to 12:00 noon ♦

Please register online at: or by phone at (810) 237-6508


Everybody knows that scientists walk into their labs and immediately make world-changing discoveries, right?  And isn’t it true that writers, too, create their magnum opus on the first attempt?  Of course not.  As academics, we long ago realized that research, discovery, and learning are lengthy processes marked by stops, starts, and a fair degree of failure before we come close to success, however that might be defined by our respective fields and universities.  Higher education, on the other hand, does not often allow for this process of learning to play out.  Students are frequently asked to achieve, on their first attempts, stellar results on high-stakes, high-pressure assessments.  New research on the science of learning is beginning to show us that this strategy does not work well, because it is not how human beings naturally learn.  We need to make mistakes before we can get the right answers.


In this presentation, Dr. Joshua Eyler, Adjunct Associate Professor of Humanities, Rice University, will review some of the most important findings in this new area of inquiry and suggest ways that we can generate “opportunities for failure” in our courses so that our students may learn more effectively.  Participants are asked to bring with them materials for the classes they’ll be teaching in the fall such as syllabi, course outlines, etc. 


1:30 p.m. Refreshments ~ University Theatre Atrium

2:00 p.m. Program ~ University Theatre


University Sponsored Faculty Awards


CLEMENT CHEN, Professor of Accounting

David M. French Professor Award


HIBA WEHBE-ALAMAH, Associate Professor of Nursing

Teaching Excellence Award


JAMI ANDERSON, Professor of Philosophy

Scholarly or Creative Achievement Award


SUZANNE SELIG, Professor of Public Health

Distinguished Service Award


PAMELA ROSS McCLAIN, Assistant Professor of Education

Alvin D. Loving Junior Faculty Initiative Award


VICTORIA MORCKEL, Assistant Professor of Earth and Resource Science

Lucinda Hinsdale Stone Junior Women Faculty Award


JESSICA TISCHLER, Associate Professor of Chemistry

Lawrence D. Kugler Academic Advisor Excellence Award


KRISTEN CAMPBELL, Program Coordinator/Women’s Educational Center

Dorothea E. Wyatt Award


AMY YORKE, Assistant Professor of Physical Therapy

Dr. Lois Matz Rosen Junior Faculty Excellence in Teaching Award


ANNIE WHITLOCK, Assistant Professor of Education

Olivia P. Maynard and Olof Karlstrom Faculty Award for Civic Engagement


DENNIS VIELE, Lecturer of Biology

2016-17 Collegiate Lecturer Award


Michigan Association of State Universities Sponsored Faculty Award


JOSEPH SUCIC, Professor of Biology

University of Michigan-Flint Nominee for the Michigan Distinguished Professor of the Year


We look forward to your participation in welcoming our new faculty and supporting those colleagues who are being honored for a faculty award, service award, or achieving promotion and/or tenure!