In addition to the traditional law enforcement services, DPS is dedicated to providing a wide variety of community services. Our Community Engagement Programs are designed to build and maintain partnerships, trust, respect, create a dialogue with our community, provide educational resources and programs, and assist our community in reducing the opportunity for crime.

DPS is committed to “Connecting with U”!

Calendar of Events 2016

First Annual Police and Students United Global Games (click on link for information)

Saturday, March 19, 2016   

6:30 p.m.  UM-Flint Recreation Center

FREE to all University students with their University ID

 

DPS Block Club - 3rd Annual Safety March

Fall 2016 - to be announced

The Safety March is interactive and involves role-playing at each station. (Click on link for information)

The do's and don't's about personal safety are discussed after each role play event.

Join us and let's March together for safety! 

 

RAD Training

RAD Fall 2016 Class 1 (Men)
Time:  6:30-9:30pm           Location:  WSW, Tuscoloa Room
Tues, Sept 27
Thur, Sept 29
Tues, Oct 4
Thur, Oct 6
 
RAD Fall 2016 Class 2 
Time:  6:30-9:30pm           Location:  WSW, Tuscoloa Room
Tues, Oct 25
Tues, Nov 1
Tues, Nov 8
Tues, Nov 15
 
RAD Winter 2017 Class 3
Time:  6:30-9:30pm           Location:  UCEN, Michigan Room A
Thur, Jan 12
Thur,  Jan 19
Thur, Jan 26
Thur, Feb 2
 
RAD Winter 2017 Class 4
Time:  6:30-9:30pm           Location:  UCEN, Michigan Room A
Thur, Feb 16
Thur, Feb 23
Thur, Mar 2
Thur, Mar 9
 
RAD Winter 2017 Class 5 
Time:  8:30-11:30am           Location:  UCEN, Michigan Room A
Thur, Mar 23
Thur, Mar 30
Thur, April 6
Thur, April 13

 

4th Annual Stop the Silence 3 on 3 Basketball Tournament (click on link for information)

Saturday, June 25. 2016

DDA "flat" lot - S. Saginaw St.

"Building positive relationships between the police and the community built on trust and mutual respect"

We need volunteers! Call Kathy Howe at 810-762-3330 for volunteer information.

Check out the Stop the Silence-Flint facebook page for additional information.

 

5th Annual Touch-A-Truck Event 

September 24, 2016
WSW parking lot
11:00am - 3:00pm

We need volunteers!  Please take a look at highlights from the 2014 event - click on link below:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9U_tKhcLrWs&sns=em

 

2016 Educational Safety Sessions  - Open to UM-Flint Faculty, Staff and Students

Topic:  Active Shooter/Campus Lockdown "What you should know"

March 4 and March 25, 2016  - 6:00pm

If your group or organization would like a customized training session conducted by DPS (Active Shooter/Lockdown) please contact Gaye.

*To attend one of the educational sessions, you must reserve your spot - please call contact # below.

 

Alcohol/Drug Awareness Classes

Fall and Winter 2016 (dates and times TBA)

If your organization or group would like to request this training, please contact the number below.

 

Fall and Winter Semesters (Wednesdays)
UCEN 3rd floor Lobby
12:30 - 1:30 pm

 

DPS/Student Life First Street Residence Hall Block Club

Meetings - Multipurpose Room - First Street Residence Hall, Thursdays at 7 pm. 
Contact your RA for addtional information.

Block Club members understand that Safety is everyone's responsibility.
Join the fun and become a Block Club Member!

 

*Please contact Gaye Stover at 762-3330 for sign-up information.

All Connecting with U services provided by DPS are at no cost for the participants.