Connecting with U!

In addition to the traditional law enforcement services, DPS is dedicated to providing a wide variety of community services. Our Community Engagement Programs are designed to build and maintain partnerships, trust, respect, create a dialogue with our community, provide educational resources and programs, and assist our community in reducing the opportunity for crime.

DPS is committed to “Connecting with U”!

Calendar of Events 2015

First Annual Police and Students United Global Games (click on link for information)

Saturday, March 21, 2015    

6:30 p.m.  UM-Flint Recreation Center

FREE to all University students with their University ID

 

DPS Block Club - 2nd Annual Safety March

Fall 2015 - date, location and time TBA

The Safety March is interactive and involves role-playing at each station. (Click on link for interactive map)

The do's and don't's about personal safety are discussed after each role play event.

Join us and let's March together for safety! 

 

RAD Training

Fall 2015 dates

The following dates are on Tuesday and Thursday nights - (6:30 p.m. - 9:30 p.m.)

RAD Session #1 - WSW Tuscola Room 

Tuesday, September 29 

Thursday, October 1 

Tuesday, October 6 

Thursday, October 8

RAD Session #2 - WSW Tuscola Room

Tuesday, November 3 

Thursday, November 5

Tuesday, November 10

Thursday, November 12

Winter 2016 dates

RAD for Men - location to be determined

Tuesday, January 12

Tuesday, January 19

Tuesday, January 26

Tuesday, February 2

RAD Session #3 - location to be determined

Tuesday, February 9

Tuesday, February 16

Tuesday, February 23

Tuesday, March 1

RAD Session #4 - location to be determined

Tuesday, March 15

Tuesday, March 22

Tuesday, March 29

Tuesday, April 5

3rd Annual Stop the Silence!!  3 on 3 Basketball Tournament (Click on link for information)

Rescheduled to September 26, 2015

Downtown Flint - James P. Cole Blvd.

"Building positive relationships between the police and the community built on trust and mutual respect"

We need volunteers! Call Kathy Howe at 810-762-3330 for volunteer information.

Check out the Stop the Silence-Flint facebook page for additional information.

4th Annual Touch-A-Truck Event 

September 26, 2015
WSW parking lot
11:00am - 3:00pm

We need volunteers!  Please take a look at highlights from the 2014 event - click on link below:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9U_tKhcLrWs&sns=em

201 Educational Safety Sessions  - Open to UM-Flint Faculty, Staff and Students

Topic:  Active Shooter/Campus Lockdown "What you should know"

Hubbard Building Conference Room

February 13, 2015/ Times: 5:00 p.m. - 6:30 p.m.

September 18, 2015/ Times 5:00 p.m. - 6:30 p.m.

If your group or organization would like a customized training session conducted by DPS (Active Shooter/Lockdown) please contact Gaye.

*To attend one of the educational sessions, you must reserve your spot - please call contact # below.

Alcohol/Drug Awareness Classes

Fall and Winter 2015 (dates and times TBA)

If your organization or group would like to request this training, please contact the number below.

Fall and Winter Semesters (Wednesdays)
UCEN 3rd floor Lobby
12:30 - 1:30 pm

DPS/Student Life First Street Residence Hall Block Club

Meetings - Multipurpose Room - First Street Residence Hall, Tuesdays at 7 pm. 
Contact your RA for addtional information.

Block Club members understand that Safety is everyone's responsibility.
Join the fun and become a Block Club Member!

 

*Please contact Gaye Stover at 762-3330 for sign-up information.

All Connecting with U services provided by DPS are at no cost for the participants.