Sterling Staff Award

The Sterling Staff Award is designed to acknowledge staff members for their contributions to the UM-Flint campus. Students, staff, or faculty members can submit a nomination to let staff members know they are making a difference, that what they do is valued, and to recognize them for going the extra distance in their work.

All staff members who are nominated will receive a certificate from Staff Council, and their supervisor will be notified.

Nominate a deserving staff member today!

Use the Golden Apple Award form for faculty/teachers.

2018-19 Sterling Staff Award Recipients

Lindsay Stoddard- UCOM
"Lindsay is both patient and creative — great assets in the UCOM department. Her addition to the team is appreciated campus-wide as is her attention to detail and friendly demeanor. Thanks for all you do to support the many offices and academic departments with your artistic talent!" June 2018
Nikki Swink- Early Childhood Development Center
"Nikki is a vital asset to the UM-Flint community, who in addition to being named a Distinguished Educator recipient this past fall, continues to play a crucial role in the success of ECDC. Her dedication to the children in her classroom, many of whom are children of staff and faculty, helps shape many of our families’ lives." August 2018
Sheena Lewis- CAS
"Sheena is incredibly bright and an invaluable asset to her team, to CAS, and to the university as a whole. Her knowledge and experience is vast and she deserves to be recognized for her willingness to offer assistance to anyone in need, be they faculty, staff, or student. She is a caring, ethical and honest professional. I consider myself fortunate to have worked with Sheena. She really makes the job more enjoyable and she deserves to be recognized as making a difference." September 2018

Staff Recognition Award

Each year, Staff Council honors one (or more) UM-Flint staff member who demonstrates consistent leadership, teamwork, service, and dedication to UM-Flint faculty, staff, and students. The award carries a $500 honorarium, and the recipient is honored at the Annual Staff Assembly Spring Meeting. Additional information about the guidelines and procedures for the award is available on the award brochure.

The 2019 awardee(s) nomination information will be posted in winter. Award recipient(s) will be recognized at the Annual Staff Assembly Spring Meeting in May.

Staff Recognition Award Recipients

Prior award recipients:
2018        Jo Klingler
2017        Rebecca Pettengill and Joy O'Brien
2016        Rhonda Banks and Cheryl Godmar
2015        Suzanne Shivnen & Monique Wilhelm
2014        Karen Davis & Kathy Howe
2013        Dan Sherman & Judy Bedore
2012        Carol Hall & Steve Harrow
2011        Jason Gooding & Lori Vedder    
2010        Marie Angeluski & Beulah Alexander
2009        Rhonda Broadworth & Grounds Crew*
2008        Mary Deibis & Nicholas Gaspar
2007        Sandra Alberto
2006        Sidney Horton & Sue Fabbro
2005        Paula Pollander & Sharon Seames
2004        Reva Kidd
2003        Harvey Sherman & Becky Wood
2002        Lillian Henry & Susan Taylor
2001        Martha Guenin & Richard Horning
2000        Jennifer Flager & Ron Chapman
1999        Peggy Holcumb & Catherine Thibault
1998        Ann Briggs
1997        Renee Zientek
1996        Todd Toulouse
1995        Virginia Sullivan
*Grounds crew recipients included Greg Koch, Les Frazee, D. McClung, David Hodges, R. Adams, Dwayne Gidcumb, and Michael Dekold.