About the Staff Recognition Award

Each year, Staff Council honors one (or more) UM-Flint staff member who demonstrates consistent leadership, teamwork, service, and dedication to UM-Flint faculty, staff, and students. The award carries a $500 honorarium, and the recipient is honored at the Annual Staff Assembly Spring Meeting. Additional information about the guidelines and procedures for the award is available on the award brochure.

Nominations for the 2018 Staff Recognition Award will be accepted March 1 through March 31, 2018. 

The 2018 awardee(s) will be announced by April 30, 2018. Award recipient(s) will be recognized at the Annual Staff Assembly Spring Meeting in May.

2017 Selection Committee:

Patti Ruhala
Staff Council Recognition Coordinator
UM-Flint Public Health & Health Sciences
ruhala@umflint.edu  |  810.237.6502

Amy Hartwig
Staff Council Co-Chair
UM-Flint College of Arts & Sciences
ahartwig@umflint.edu  |  810.237.6537

Vicki Ames
Staff Council Co-Chair
UM-Flint Facilities
vames@umflint.edu  |  810.762.3323

Tess Barker
Chief of Staff
UM-Flint Office of the Chancellor
tessba@umflint.edu  |  810.762.3322

Fred Svoboda
Faculty Representative
Department of English

Student Representative

Kathy Howe
2014 Staff Recognition Award Recipient
UM-Flint Dept. of Public Safety
khowe@umflint.edu  |  810.762.3300


Prior award recipients:
2016        Rhonda Banks and Cheryl Godmar
2015        Suzanne Shivnen & Monique Wilhelm
2014        Karen Davis & Kathy Howe
2013        Dan Sherman & Judy Bedore
2012        Carol Hall & Steve Harrow
2011        Jason Gooding & Lori Vedder    
2010        Marie Angeluski & Beulah Alexander
2009        Rhonda Broadworth & Grounds Crew*
2008        Mary Deibis & Nicholas Gaspar
2007        Sandra Alberto
2006        Sidney Horton & Sue Fabbro
2005        Paula Pollander & Sharon Seames
2004        Reva Kidd
2003        Harvey Sherman & Becky Wood
2002        Lillian Henry & Susan Taylor
2001        Martha Guenin & Richard Horning
2000        Jennifer Flager & Ron Chapman
1999        Peggy Holcumb & Catherine Thibault
1998        Ann Briggs
1997        Renee Zientek
1996        Todd Toulouse
1995        Virginia Sullivan
*Grounds crew recipients included Greg Koch, Les Frazee, D. McClung, David Hodges, R. Adams, Dwayne Gidcumb, and Michael Dekold.


About the Sterling Staff Awards

The Sterling Staff Award is designed to acknowledge staff members for their contributions to the UM-Flint campus. Students, staff, or faculty members can submit a nomination to let staff members know they are making a difference, that what they do is valued, and to recognize them for going the extra distance in their work.

All staff members who are nominated will receive a certificate via campus mail, and their supervisor will be notified. Nominate a deserving staff member today!

Use the Golden Apple Award form for faculty/teachers.