Lois Matz Rosen Junior Faculty Excellence in Teaching Award

Lois Rosen taught for UM-Flint for over 20 years and was the founding director of the Thompson Center for Learning & Teaching. She established the award upon her retirement in 2003. The award is given annually and carries a stipend of $1,000.
The award seeks to recognize a junior faculty member who:
  • Displays a consistent level of excellence in teaching diverse groups of students
  • Demonstrates commitment to teaching through innovative course development activities, attendance at campus teaching workshops, participation in conferences on pedagogy, publications related to pedagogy, etc.
  • Exemplifies a recognizable committment to UM-Flint students both inside and outside of the classroom through advising, mentoring, or research/performance activities

Award guidelines, criteria, and procedures

Award Recipients:

2015 Nicholas Kingsley, Chemistry & Biochemistry
2014 Laura McLeman, Math
2013 Julie Broadbent, Psychology
2012 Brian DiBlassio, Music
2010 Suleyman Uludag, Computer Science
2009 Quamrul Mazumder, Engineering
2009 Suzanne Knight, English
2008 Sharman Siebenthal Adams, Education
2007 Heather Seipke, Communication & Visual Arts
2006 Stephanie Roach, English
2006 Michael Jarvinen, Psychology
2005 Sapna Taggar, Education
2004 Scott Dahl, Education