The scholarship program is designed to attract and retain students of exceptional talent and promise and to enable these students to pursue a theatre degree without financial hardship.  Scholarships funds honor a variety of theatre patrons past faculty members, and vary in their academic requirements.  Scholarships are awarded based on an audition or interview held every March.  Students should contact the department at: (810) 237-6522 for additional information and to set up appointments for auditions and interviews. Scholarships currently available are listed below. Nicole Broughton and Janet Haley are our current scholarship coordinators within the department. 

Frances Ann Frazier Student Travel Scholarship Information

Student travel to conferences and festivals can be funded through the "Fran Frazier Scholarship". Click more to access the downloadable PDF of the application and expense sheet. 

Stephen Landon Memorial Endowed Scholarship

To Make a Donation to the Stephen Landon Memorial Scholarship: Established in 2012 to honor the memory of Stephen Landon, this need-based scholarship supports full-time students pursuing a Bachelor of Science in Theatre Design and Technology. Make a donation online using the following link: 

Scholarship Requirements for Current Students


As of September 14, 2012


Scholarship students are expected to exercise positive leadership in the department, and to behave in a professional manner in the execution of academic and production responsibilities.  (This includes representation of self and UMF in public media, such as facebook, youtube, myspace, blogs, twitter, etc.)
Student must have a cumulative GPA consistent with the award given.  See individual scholarships GPA requirements below. If you do not know your exact scholarship type, please inquire.

Carl and Sarah Morgan Scholars: cumulative 2.75 G.P.A.
Jeffrey F. Garfield Scholars: cumulative 3.0 G.P.A.
Brian McDonald Scholar: cumulative 3.0 G.P.A.
Chancellor Scholars: cumulative 2.50 G.P.A.
Ralph M. and Emmalyn E. Freeman scholars: cumulative 3.2 G.P.A.
Friends of Theatre Scholars: cumulative 2.50 G.P.A.
Kay Sampson Kelly Scholars: cumulative 3.25 G.P.A.
New Theatre Scholarship 2.6 G.P.A.

Positive progress toward theatre degree:

Student must be registered for a minimum of 12 credits during each major term for which the scholarship is given.A student dropping a class from his/her schedule and falling below the 12 credit minimum will not receive scholarship money in the subsequent term.
Student must not have received an E, I, or N during the previous major term.
Scholarship will not be awarded to students accruing more than 130 credits for a BA, BS, or BFA degree; Students working toward double degrees will be capped at 150 credits.

10 hours of community service is required for ALL scholarships. The Scholarship Service Form must be submitted to Nicole Broughton by Saturday, March 22nd, 2014, at the time of your renewal audition.
All scholarship recipients must also submit a REPORT at the scholarship renewal audition (see date below) documenting their community service plans/progress (same form as above), academic performance, and participation in departmental productions or functions.

ALL SCHOLARSHIPS ARE FOR 1 YEAR. RENEWAL IS NOT AUTOMATIC. Scholarship renewal auditions/interviews will be held on Saturday, March 22nd, 2014.

New Theatre Scholarship

2.6 G.P.A. 

Brian McDonald Scholar

cumulative 3.0 G.P.A. 

Carl and Sarah Morgan Scholars

cumulative 2.75 G.P.A. 

Ralph M. and Emmalyn E. Freeman Theatre Scholarship

cumulative 3.2 G.P.A. 

Kay Sampson Kelly Scholars

cumulative 3.25 G.P.A.

Friends of Theatre Scholars

cumulative 2.50 G.P.A. 

Chancellor Scholars

cumulative 2.50 G.P.A.