Women's Educational Center

Kristen Campbell

Program Manager

Women's Educational Center

Molly Barnard

Program Manager & Sexual Assault Advocate

Molly Barnard started in a brand new position at the Women’s Educational Center in Fall 2015. She is ecstatic about the opportunity to be the Program Manager & Sexual Assault Advocate for the WEC and is excited about what this role can do to engage students in anti-sexual violence efforts on campus and in the community. Molly has her Master’s degree in Women’s & Gender Studies from Roosevelt University in Chicago. She received Bachelor degrees in both Women & Gender Studies and Psychology at Grand Valley State University in Allendale, MI. Molly’s research is focused on sexual violence and prevention efforts around the issue, and she is honored to hold a position that allows her to put her research into action. Her Master’s thesis was a qualitative research endeavor using feminist methodologies to interview local Sexual Violence Prevention Educators in Chicago’s non-profit sector.

Molly has been doing program coordination since she was in high school, and began program management as the Graduate Assistant for the Women’s & Gender Studies program at Roosevelt University. She is committed to being an ally and advocate for students at UM-Flint, and thinks that having student involvement in all parts of program coordination is a great way to empower them as student leaders and leaders in their communities. As the Sexual Assault Advocate, Molly is a resource, support, and advocate for victims and survivors of sexual violence. She can offer confidential support and advocacy to all students, faculty, and staff.

WEC Advisory Board

The role of the Advisory Board is to strengthen the Women's Educational Center by serving as a resource for the Director and the Center.  The Advisory Board provides the Director with general direction consistent with the mission, while ensuring transparency and accountability, and protecting the Center's autonomy.  Advisory Board members include:

Jennifer Alvey, Faculty Representative, Anthropology and WGS

Peggy Kahn, Faculty Representative, Political Science

Heather Laube, Faculty Representative, Sociology

Otrude Moyo, Chair, Social Work

Margaret Murray-Wright, Faculty Representative, Nursing

Shelley Spivack, Faculty Representative, Sociology