Program Director

Email:
hlaube@umflint.edu
Women's and Gender Studies & Sociology

Heather Laube, Ph.D

Director of WGS & Associate Professor

Courses taught in WGS: 

WGS/SOC 354- Sociology of Familes (face to face & online)
WGS/SOC 474 & 574- Gender and Society

Professional Website 

Core Faculty

Phone:
810-424-5407
Email:
jalvey@umflint.edu
Women's and Gender Studies & Anthropology

Jennifer Alvey, Ph.D

Associate Professor of Anthropology and Women's and Gender Studies

Research interests include feminist political-economy of development and social change, with regional specialization in Latina American, especially Nicaragua, and topical specialization in agrarian relations and change; my new research builds on this focus, but is looking closer at food systems and food justice/sovereignty actors and movements. 

Courses taught in WGS: 
WGS 100 Introduction to Women’s Studies
WGS 320 Special Topics (I have used this special topics to teach Body Traffick, a course that explores feminist perspectives on issues and debates related to contemporary human trafficking, international adoption, and the “organ-trade” )
Soc/Ant/WGS/Int 376-576 Sex, Work, and International Capital
Ant/WGS 378-578 Sex and Gender in Cross-Cultural Perspective
SSC 503 Gender, Race and Inequalities

Department Website

Email:
jamie@umflint.edu
Philosophy

Jami Anderson, Ph.D

Associate Professor

Course taught in WGS: 

PHL/WGS 167- Race, Gender and Sexuality
PHL/WGS 170- Disability Studies

 

 

Department Website

Email:
aakent@umflint.edu
English

Alicia Kent, Ph.D

Associate Professor

Course taught in WGS: 

ENG/WGS 337-Topics in Women's Literature

Department Website

Email:
vlarsen@umflint.edu
English

Vickie Larsen, Ph.D

Assistant Professor

Courses taught in WGS: 

ENG/WGS 301- Medieval Women and Literature

Department Website

Email:
sarlipp@umflint.edu
Communications & Visual Arts

Sarah Lippert, Ph.D

Associate Professor of Art History, Director of the Visual Arts Program

Dr. Lippert is an Associate Professor of Art History at the University of Michigan-Flint. Since July 2014 Dr. Lippert has been serving as the Director of the Visual Arts Program, overseeing the BFA, BA, and BS programs in art education, visual arts, and art history. She also leads the art history major and minor, and is a program faculty member for the Masters in Arts Administration, as well as the Women's and Gender Studies program. As a teacher, Dr. Lippert offers courses in entry-level surveys of art history, as well as courses in Renaissance to Contemporary art of the western tradition. She serves as an undergraduate and graduate advisor for the art, art history, and arts administration programs.

In scholarship, Dr. Lippert is a Modernist scholar of late eighteenth through late nineteenth French and British art.  She holds a Ph.D. in art history from The Pennsylvania State University, and has been the recipient of a Samuel H. Kress Travel Fellowship in the History of Art, as well as a fellowship from the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada. Highlights of recent publications include the article 'Salomé to Medusa by Way of Narcissus,' in the art-history journal Artibus et Historiae, while 'Jean-Léon Gérôme and Polychrome Sculpture' appeared in the inter-disciplinary journal Dix-Neuf in 2014. Dr. Lippert is the Director of the Society for Paragone Studies, and serves as the Editor-in-Chief of the new journal Paragone: Past and Present, and as Senior Editor for the graduate journal Paragone: Emerging Scholars

Courses taught in WGS: 

ARH/WGS 410 - Feminism and the Visual Arts

Department Website

Email:
alutzker@umflint.edu
Economics

Adam Lutzker, Ph.D

Associate Professor

Email:
snewport@umflint.edu
Theatre & Dance

Shelby Newport, M.F.A.

Assistant Professor and Resident Costume Designer

Course taught in WGS:

THE/WGS 275 - Clothing in Western Culture

Department Website

www.shelbynewport.com

Email:
jvros@umflnt.edu
Anthropology

Judy Rosenthal, Ph.D

Email:
sspivack@umflint.edu
Women's and Gender Studies & Criminal Justice

Shelley Spivack, J.D.

Lecturer II, Soc. Ant. CRJ and WGS; Genesee County Family Court Attorney/Referee

Shelley R. Spivack is an Attorney/Referee with the Genesee County Family Court and a Lecturer in the Criminal Justice and Women and Gender Programs at UM- Flint. She received her B.A. from Rutgers University, J.D. from Brooklyn Law School and M.A.from UM-Flint. She is the Director of the Buckham/GVRC Share Art Project and  the immediate past President of the Referees Association of Michigan.  She is a WGS core faculty member and also serves on the UM-Flint Women's Commission and the WEC Advisory Board.  She is the co-author of Implementing a Gender-Based Arts Program for Juvenile Offenders, Anderson Press (2014)  and is a frequent contributor to State and Local Bar Journals.  She also serves as a member of the editorial board of the Michigan Family Law Journal, the Michigan Child Welfare Law Journal and the Referees Quarterly.

Courses Taught in WGS: CRJ/WGS 300/500- Gender, Crime, and Justice; WGS 385/585 Women, Gender, and the Law

Email:
cbthomas@umflint.edu
Sociology

Charles Thomas, Ph.D

Affiliated Faculty

Email:
abiehl@umflint.edu
Economics

Amelia M. Biehl, Ph.D

Assistant Professor

Email:
bortonli@umflnt.edu
Theatre & Dance

Lisa Borton, M.F.A.

Lecturer & Resident Scenic Designer

Email:
erbritt@umflint.edu
English

Erica Britt, Ph.D

Assistant Professor

Email:
scumley@umflint.edu
Criminal Justice

Samantha Cumley, Ph.D

Assistant Professor

Email:
curriet@umflint.edu
Communications and Visual Arts

Traci Currie

Lecturer

Email:
patemen@umflint.edu
English

Patricia Emenyonu

Lecturer

Email:
agresock@umflint.edu
Management

Amy R. Gresock, Ph.D

Assistant Professor

Email:
gundogan@umflint.edu
Sociology

Azat Zana Gundogan, Ph.D

Assistant Professor

Email:
jehaley@umflint.edu
Theatre & Dance

Janet Haley, M.F.A.

Associate Professor

Phone:
810-762-3478
Email:
kazukoh@umflint.edu
English

Kazuko Hiramatsu, Ph.D

Associate Professor of Linguistics

Department Website 

Email:
jjenna@umflint.edu
Communication and Visual Arts

Jjenna Hupp Andrews

Lecturer

Phone:
810-762-3471
Email:
pegkahn@umflint.edu
Political Science

Peggy Kahn, Ph.D

David M. French Distinguished Professor of Political Science

Courses taught in WGS: Women, gender and work POL 331/SOC 362/ POL 541; (POL 342/542 Welfare States in Comparative Perspective includes material on feminist perspectives and family policy)

Peggy Kahn has engaged in research, writing and advocacy regarding low-income and low-wage mothers for a couple of decades, after also writing about issues of pay equity and comparable worth in the U.S. and U.K. Her main interests are in work-family dilemmas for low-wage parents, their work and its wages and conditions, and their access to public benefits and services and post-secondary education. Her most recent pieces of writing are "Beyond FMLA: The pluralization of leave rights from below" and "Worker centers as an inflection point? An introduction and interview with Kimi Lee," in Jacobs and Kahn, Eds., The Disunited States: Employment Relations Systems in Conflict (Cornell University Press, 2014).   She works with the Women's Educational Center at the University of Michigan-Ann Arbor, has worked with the Institute for Women's Policy Research (IWPR) project on student-parents, is on the program advisory committee on economic well-being for Re: Gender (formerly the National Council for Research on Women) and is on the committee of the American Sociological Association that awards the Distinguished Career Award for the Practice of Sociology. She has a B.A. in history and politics from Oberlin College and a PhD in Political Science from the University of California, Berkeley. She is also co-chair of the UM-Flint Common Read.

Email:
suknight@umflint.edu
English

Suzanne Knight, Ph.D

Associate Professor

Email:
glaurenc@umflint.edu
Management

Greg Laurence, Ph.D

Assistant Professor

Phone:
810-762-3390
Email:
levinst@umflint.edu
Social Work

Kathleen P. Levinstein, PhD, LCSW

Assistant Professor of Social Work

I am fresh from the East Coast where I taught in the NYU Masters and Doctoral programs in Clinical Social Work . I am presently knee deep in researching abuses in the Autism community and working on 2 anthologies- one of ABA Survivors- " At the Expense of Joy" and a second anthology designed to record the voices of Human beings with Autism before we are exterminated through Eugenics, any day now- (the clock is ticking) entitled, "Not Dark Yet: The Last Voices of Autism". Sadly it appears that it wil be a postmortem rather than an attempt at policy change as it appears to be too late to save us .... I came of age during the second wave of feminism in the early 70's and the Michigan Womyn's Music festival saved my life. I am also the extremely proud mother of a trans son. I am presently teaching Human Behavior in the Social Environment and Social Work Methods III Micro Applications.
Email:
tamaramc@umflint.edu
Counseling, Accessibility and Psychological Services (CAPS) & Psychology

Tamara L. McKay, LLP

Interim Director of CAPS & Lecturer

Email:
hisyar@umflint.edu
Anthropology

Hisyar Ozsoy, Ph.D

Assistant Professor

Email:
rushika@umflint.edu
Women's Educational Center (WEC)

Rushika Patel, Ph.D

Director of the Women's Educational Center

Email:
prygoski@umflint.edu
Thompson Library

Vince Prygoski

Reference & Instruction Librarian

Email:
sharmans@umflint.edu
Education

Sharman Siebenthal Adams, Ph.D

Associate Professor

Email:
jmadden@umflint.edu
Psychology

Lisa Toro, Ph.D

Lecturer III

Research Interests: Biological and cultural influences on gender identity, gender preferences, gender roles, and sexual orientation; Biological and cultural influences on the practice of high-risk behaviors such as unsafe sex, drug and alcohol abuse and criminal behavior.

Dr. Toro began teaching at UM-Flint in 2014.

Email:
veillet@umflint.edu
Philosophy

Benedicte Veillet, Ph.D

Assistant Professor

Email:
wandmach@umflint.edu
Philosophy

Stevens Wandmacher, Ph.D

Lecturer

Email:
cwaters@umflint.edu

Chris Waters, M.F.A.

Associate Provost and Dean of Undergraduate Studies

Email:
anwhitl@umflint.edu
Education

Annie Whitlock, Ph.D

Assistant Professor

Email:
jzeff@umflint.edu
English

Jacqueline Zeff, Ph.D

Professor

Affiliated Staff

Email:
salberto@umflint.edu
Thompson Center for Learning and Teaching

Sandy Alberto

Administrative Specialist