Department of Behavioral Sciences

Department of Behavioral Sciences
196 Murchie Science Building
303 E. Kearsley Street
Flint, MI 48502-1950
Phone: (810) 766-6732


Department Chair

Hillary Heinze, PhD
Chair & Associate Professor of Psychology
hheinze@umich.edu


Anthropology Faculty

Jennifer Alvey
Associate Professor
jalvey@umich.edu

Daniel Andrew Birchok
Assistant Professor
dbirchok@umich.edu

Beverley A. Smith
Associate Professor & Honors Program Advisor
bevsmith@umich.edu

Christian Vannier
Lecturer
rktrojan@umich.edu


Criminal Justice Faculty

Kimberly Bender
Assistant Professor
kimbend@umich.edu

Jeffrey Frost
Lecturer 
jafrost@umich.edu

Kenneth J. Litwin
Associate Professor & Honors Program Advisor
kjlitwin@umich.edu

Joan Mars
Associate Professor
jrmars@umich.edu

Psychology Faculty

Michelle Beddow
Lecturer
mbeddow@umich.edu

Karen Bedell, PhD
Lecturer
kabedell@umich.edu

Allen Bellamy, PhD
Lecturer
abellamy@umich.edu

Nia Billings
Lecturer
niabill@umich.edu

Julie Broadbent, PhD
Associate Professor
broadben@umich.edu

Andrew Franks
Lecturer
asfranks@umich.edu

Susan Gano-Phillips, PhD
Professor & Dean
sganop@umich.edu

Terrence Horgan, PhD
Myron and Margaret Winegarden Professor
& Professor of Psychology
thorgan@umich.edu

Tracy Juliao, PhD
Lecturer
tjuliao@umich.edu

William McKibbin, PhD
Associate Professor
wmckibbi@umich.edu

Nathaniel Miller, PhD
Associate Professor
natmille@umich.edu

Peter Molinaro, PhD
Associate Professor
petermol@umich.edu

Yael Sela, PhD
Lecturer
yaelsela@umich.edu

Kraig Shattuck
Lecturer
shattuc@umich.edu

Amanda Smith, MA, LLP
Lecturer
osbornea@umich.edu

Jeannette Stein, PhD
Associate Professor & Associate Dean
whitmore@umich.edu

Amanda Taylor, MS, LLP
Lecturer
amatayl@umich.edu

Thomas Wrobel, PhD
Professor
twrobel@umich.edu


Sociology Faculty

Roy Barnes
Professor & Associate Dean, College of Arts & Sciences
rcbarnes@umich.edu

Sasha Drummond-Lewis
Assistant Professor
srdlewis@umich.edu

John Girdwood
Lecturer
johngird@umich.edu

Laurel Hilliker
Lecturer
hilliker@umich.edu

Allison James
Lecturer
ajendry@umich.edu

Heather Laube
Associate Professor
hlaube@umich.edu

Jacob Lederman
Associate Professor
jaclede@umich.edu

Laura MacIntyre
Lecturer
lauragm@umich.edu

Rachel Petrak
Lecturer
rpetrak@umich.edu

Greg Rybarczyk
Associate Professor & GIS Certificate Program Director
grybar@umich.edu
Research: Geographic Information Systems (GIS), Transportation Geography, Urban Planning, Spatial analysis, Statistical Modeling, and Remote Sensing

Michael Sabbagh
Lecturer
mlsabbag@umich.edu

Kathryn Schellenberg
Associate Professor Emerita
kathsch@umich.edu

Megan St. George
Lecturer
meedgar@umich.edu


Academic Advisors

Schedule an appointment with your Academic Advisor by clicking here.

Nicole Altheide, MS
Academic Advisor – Advises Psychology students with last names beginning with G-Z.
nrock@umich.edu

Therasa Martin
Academic Advisor – Advises Online Psychology and Criminal Justice.
tsimpson@umich.edu

Cydnee Weirauch
Academic Advisor – Advises Psychology students with last names beginning with A-F; Anthropology; Sociology; Social Science Joint Program; Urban Science; GIS.
cweirauc@umich.edu


Administrative Staff

Lesa Callcut
Administrative Assistant – Financials
lcallcut@umich.edu

Mandy Myers
Administrative Assistant – Communication & Academic Support
mandyst@umich.edu

Suzanne Shivnen
Administrative Assistant – Personnel & Course Scheduling
sshivnen@umich.edu