biology

Biology Department
264 Murchie Science Building
303 E. Kearsley Street
Flint, MI 48502-1950
Phone: (810) 762-3360
Fax: (810) 762-3310

Biology Department Faculty

Anita Baxter-Blough
Lecturer
(810) 762-3360
anitaba@umich.edu

Ken Cabine, MS
Lecturer
(810) 762-3360
kcabine@umich.edu

You-Shin Chen, PhD
Assistant Professor
(810) 762-3360
youshin@umich.edu
Research: Investigation of molecular mechanisms by which cancer cells proliferate and invade, and design therapeutic strategies to induce apoptosis in the malignant cells, STEM education in the area of biotechnology.

Russell Cossaboom, MS, MPA
Lecturer
(810) 762-3360
rcossabo@umich.edu
Research Interests: Biodegradation of compounds by fungi and bacteria.

Heather Dawson, PhD
Associate Professor
(810) 762-3360
hdawson@umich.edu
Research: Invasive species ecology and management, aquatic ecology, fisheries management, simulation modeling.

Randall Duncan, PhD
Professor & Chair
(810) 762-3360
duncanra@umich.edu
Research: Understand how musculoskeletal cells and tissues perceive mechanical signals and how these signals are converted into biochemical responses within the cell to promote anabolic or catabolic function.

Dwayne Etter, PhD
Lecturer 
(810) 762-3360
dretter@umich.edu
Research: Mammalian ecology, wildlife policy and management, animal behavior, and population ecology.

Dania Habeck
Lecturer  
(810) 762-3360
dhabeck@umich.edu

Danielle Harbin, MS
Lecturer  
(810) 762-3360
DDHarbin@umich.edu

Karmen Hollis-Etter, PhD
Associate Professor
(810) 762-3360
kahollis@umich.edu
Research Interests: Wildlife epidemiology especially zoonotic diseases, urban wildlife, terrestrial mammal ecology, animal behavior, disease ecology, spatial/temporal analysis.

Cindy Holzer
Lecturer 
(810) 762-3360
cholzer@umich.edu

Kerry Lazenby, PhD
Lecturer
(810) 762-3360
lazenby@umich.edu

Elizabeth (Liz) Malinowski, MS
Lecturer 
(810) 762-3360
eamal@umich.edu
Research Interests: Hibernation physiology, biogeography.

Earl Mayhew, PT
Lecturer
(810) 762-3360
emayhew@umich.edu

Jennifer Miller, MS
Lecturer
(810) 762-3360
jennmil@umich.edu

Jon Morey, DC
Lecturer
(810) 762-3360
jmorey@umich.edu

Susanna Petrosyan
Lecturer 
(810) 762-3360
spetrosy@umich.edu

Jerry Sanders, PhD
Associate Professor 
(810) 762-3360
dsander@umich.edu
Research Interests: Microbial pathogenesis and molecular genetics of Haemophilis somnus with specific interest in vaccine development.

Jill Slater, PhD
Lecturer 
(810) 762-3360
jislater@umich.edu

Melvin Smith, PhD
Lecturer
(810) 762-3360
melvinsm@umich.edu

Ronald Stamper, PhD
Intermittent Lecturer 
(810) 762-3360
rostampe@umich.edu

Melissa Starking, MS
Lecturer 
(810) 762-3360
starking@umich.edu

Joe Sucic, PhD
Professor 
(810) 762-3360
jsucic@umich.edu
Research Interests: Structure, function, and trafficking of secretory system endoproteases; role of endoproteases in metastasis.

Kevin Tang, PhD
Associate Professor
(810) 762-3360
kltang@umich.edu

Rebecca Tonietto, PhD
Assistant Professor 
(810) 762-3360
tonietto@umich.edu
Research interests: Native bees, pollinator conservation, community ecology, restoration ecology, urban ecology, plant-pollinator interactions.

Dennis Viele, MS
Lecturer & Director/Advisor of Bachelor of Applied Science Program
(810) 762-3360
dviele@umich.edu
Research Interests: Physiological ecology of bats and rodents, non-invasive age determination in deer.  Recently started nutritional studies of Michigan Ruffed Grouse and lead concentration in the American Woodcock.  Also is interested and published articles on the bats of Papua New Guinea.

Margaret (Peg) Ware, MS, MT (ASCP)
Lecturer
(810) 762-3360
pware@umich.edu

Jill Witt, PhD
Associate Professor
(810) 762-3360
wittjill@umich.edu
Research Interests: Forest ecology, forest-wildlife interactions, landscape and ecosystem ecology, plant phenology, small carnivore population and ecology.

Nicole Yambrick, MS, LVT
Lecturer 
(810) 762-3360
nicross@umich.edu

Teresa Yoder-Nowak, MS
Lecturer 
(810) 762-3360
teresay@umich.edu
Research: Natural history and ecology of amphibians, reptiles and birds (with particular emphasis on population dynamics, species interactions and habitat use of terrestrial salamanders and lizards in Michigan).

Biology Department Staff – Small Heading

Aaron Bagwell
Academic Advisor
(810) 762-3360
abagwell@umich.edu
Click to make an appointment

Kerigan Condron
Laboratory Services Technician
(810) 762-3360
keriganc@umich.edu

Megan Presland, MA
Academic Advisor    
(810) 762-3020
meganrv@umich.edu

Kristin Striber
Laboratory/Classroom Services Coordinator
(810) 762-3360
kstriber@umich.edu

Administrative Staff

Carly Byrne
Administrative Assistant
(810) 237-6592
byrnecar@umich.edu

Mary Poletti
Administrative Assistant
(810) 762-3083
mpoletti@umich.edu

Pat Slackta
Administrative Assistant
(810) 762-0737
pslackta@umich.edu

Karri Spoelstra
Administrative Assistant
(810) 424-5491
kleonard@umich.edu