computer science & Information Systems

Computer Science & Information Systems Department
212 Murchie Science Building
303 E. Kearsley Street
Flint, MI 48502-1950
Phone: (810) 762-3121
Fax: (810) 766-6780
Email: studycomputerscience@umich.edu

Computer Science & Information Systems Department Faculty

Amal Alhosban, PhD
Associate Professor
(810) 762-3121
alhosban@umich.edu
Research: Semantic Web, Fault Management and Wireless Network

Vijayaditya Ayyagari
Lecturer
(810) 762-3121
vayyagar@umich.edu

Halil Bisgin, PhD
Assistant Professor of Computer Science
(810) 762-3121
bisgin@umich.edu
Research: Data Mining & Machine Learning, Social Computing, Biomedical Informatics & Bioinformatics, Parallel Computing 

Cherie Brown
Lecturer
(810) 762-3121
chbrown@umich.edu

Shane Emmons
Lecturer
(810) 762-3121
semmons@umich.edu

Quentin Galerneau
Lecturer
(810) 762-3121
qgalerne@umich.edu

Sonia Galerneau
Lecturer
(810) 762-3121
sgalerne@umich.edu

(Houssein) Joel Hachem
Lecturer
(810) 762-3121
hjhachem@umich.edu

Steven Harrow
Lecturer
(810) 762-3121
sharrow@umich.edu

John Hart
Lecturer
(810) 762-3121
johnha@umich.edu

Joel Howard
Lecturer
(810) 762-3121
joelhowa@umich.edu

Pam Kalmar
Lecturer
(810) 762-3121
pkalmar@umich.edu

Murali Mani, PhD
Professor
(810) 762-3121
mmani@umich.edu
Research: Database Systems, Processing of Streaming Data, Data Lineage, Big Data, Secure Query Processing in the Cloud, Effective Computer Science Education, Women and Minorities in Computer Science

Brian McBride
Lecturer
(810) 762-3121
brmcbrid@umich.edu

Matthew Spradling, PhD
Assistant Professor
(810) 762-3121
mjspra@umich.edu
Research: Misinformation in Social Media, Coalition Formation, Game Theory, Complexity Theory, Social Networks

Zahid Syed, PhD
Associate Professor
(810) 762-3121
zahsyed@umich.edu
Research: Computer & mobile security, Behavioral biometrics, Data mining

Charlotte Tang, PhD
Associate Professor
(810) 762-3121
tcharlot@umich.edu
Research: Designing for Real People with Real Needs! Including healthcare collaborations with clinicians, arts & technology research with local museums and galleries, cognitive assessments with local older adults, and social media and student performance with schools

Stephen Turner, PhD
Interim Associate Provost & Dean of Graduate Programs & Associate Professor
(810) 762-3121
swturner@umich.edu

Suleyman Uludag, PhD
Associate Professor
(810) 762-3121
uludag@umich.edu
Research: Smart Grid communications, smart meter data collection, security & privacy in the Smart Grid, Cybersecurity education & curriculum development; Routing in Wireless Mesh Networks; Quality-of-Service routing in networks

Computer Science & Information Systems Department Staff

Adriana Diaz
Academic Advisor
Computer Information Systems
acdiaz@umich.edu
Book an Appointment

Jeff Dobbs
Undergraduate Academic Advisor
(810) 762-3121
jdobbs@umich.edu
Click here to make an appointment

David Rosemary 
Systems Administrator
(810) 237-6531
djros@umich.edu

Administrative Staff

Mary Poletti
Administrative Assistant
(810) 762-3083
mpoletti@umich.edu

Pat Slackta
Administrative Assistant
(810) 762-0737
pslackta@umich.edu

Cydnee Weirauch
Administrative Assistant
(810) 424-5388
cweirauc@umich.edu