English

English Department
326 David M. French Hall
303 E. Kearsley Street
Flint, MI 48502-1950
Phone: (810) 762-3285
Fax: (810) 237-6666
Email: EnglishDept@umich.edu

English Department Faculty

Cathy Akers-Jordan
Lecturer
(810) 762-3477
cakers@umich.edu

Scott Atkinson
Lecturer
(810) 762-0751
satkinso@umich.edu

Stephen Bernstein
Professor
(810) 762-3285
sberns@umich.edu

Jacob Blumner
Professor & Director of the Marian E. Wright Writing Center
(810) 424-5387
blumner@umich.edu

Erica Britt
Associate Professor
(810) 762-3483
erbritt@umich.edu

Jay Clark
Lecturer
(810) 767-6664
jtclark@umich.edu

Monika Ehrlich
Lecturer
(810) 762-3285
mehrlich@umich.edu

Patricia Emenyonu
Lecturer
(810) 762-3474
patemen@umich.edu

Emily Feuerherm
Associate Professor & Director of the Bridge Program
(810) 762-3183
feuerher@umich.edu

Stephanie Vidaillet Gelderloos
Lecturer
(810) 762-3285
stepgeld@umich.edu

Lisa Hine
Lecturer
(810) 762-3285
lhine@umich.edu

Kazuko Hiramatsu
Associate Professor
(810) 762-3285
kazukoh@umich.edu

Stephanie Irwin Booms
Lecturer
(248) 622-0794
irwinsj@umich.edu

Mary Jo Kietzman (Gifford)
Associate Professor
(810) 762-3465
mkietzma@umich.edu

Suzanne Knight
Associate Professor
(810) 762-0145
suknight@umich.edu

Dave Larsen
Lecturer, Director of Writing Placement Exam (WPX), & Qua Faculty Advisor
(810) 424-5247
dalarsen@umich.edu

Vickie Larsen
Associate Professor & Director of the Masters in English Language and Literature program
(810) 424-5656
vlarsen@umich.edu

Dave Linden
Lecturer
(810) 762-3285
dlinden@umich.edu

John Pendell
Lecturer
(810) 237-6641
jpendell@umich.edu

Stephanie Roach
Associate Professor, Director of Writing Programs, Associate English Chair, & Director of the General Education Program
(810) 762-3429
smroach@umich.edu

James Schirmer
Associate Professor & Department Chair
(810) 762-3285
jschirm@umich.edu

Frederic Svoboda
Professor
(810) 762-3285
fsvoboda@umich.edu

Maureen Thum
Lecturer & Director of Honors Scholar Program
(810) 762-3285
mthum@umich.edu

D.J. Trela
Professor & Chair for Department of Foreign Languages
(810) 762-3285
djtrela@umich.edu 

Diane Washington
Lecturer
(810) 762-3497
washd@umich.edu

Janelle Wiess
Lecturer
(810) 762-3443
jwiess@umich.edu

Stephanie Wilhelm
Lecturer
(810) 762-3285
swilhelm@umich.edu

Melojeane Zawilinski
Lecturer
(810) 762-3285
zawimelo@umich.edu

Administrative Staff

Lesa Callcut
Administrative Assistant
(810) 766-6646
lcallcut@umich.edu

Mandy Myers
Administrative Assistant
(810) 762-3486
mandyst@umich.edu

Suzanne Shivnen
Administrative Assistant
(810) 766-6639
sshivnen@umich.edu