history

History Department
260 David M. French Hall
303 E. Kearsley Street
Flint, MI 48502-1950
Phone: (810) 762-3366

History Department Faculty

Mohamed Daassa
Lecturer IV
(810) 424-5490
daassa@umich.edu
Research: U.S. minorities, Identity Issues, Assimilation, Religious Integration, Islam and Muslims in Non-Muslim Majority Societies

John Ellis
Professor
(810) 762-3204
ellisjs@umich.edu
Research: Nationalism and national identity in the British Isles; Modern Wales and Ireland

Roy Hanashiro
Professor
(810) 762-3368
okuma@umich.edu
Research: Modern Japan; Asian economic history

Gregory M. Havrilcsak

Lecturer IV
(810) 762-3205
greghav@umich.edu

Thomas Henthorn
Department Chair & Associate Professor
(810) 762-3206
henthorn@umich.edu
Research: Progressive Era, Urban History, Charities and Philanthropy

Michael B. Kassel
Adjunct Lecturer
(810) 762-3366
mkassel@umich.edu

Douglas Knerr
Professor
(810) 762-3211
dknerr@umich.edu
Research: Vernacular Architecture; Capital Formation and Regional Markets; Industrial Archeology

Wade Merrill
Lecturer I
(810) 762-3366
wmerrill@umich.edu
Research: American political development, World history, Cultural history, LGBT history, Sports history, Public history and archival administration

Christopher A. Molnar

Associate Professor
(810) 762-3207
chrismol@umich.edu
Research: Modern Germany; race and immigration in German and European history; the memory of World War II in postwar Europe

Matthew Thick
Lecturer I
(810) 762-3366
mthick@umich.edu
Research Interests: Great Lakes American Indians, Nineteenth Century Michigan

Administrative Staff

Audrey Beauchesne
Administrative Assistant
(810) 766-6643
abeauche@umich.edu

Suzanne Shivnen
Administrative Assistant
(810) 766-6639
sshivnen@umich.edu

Karri Spoelstra
Administrative Assistant
(810) 424-5491
kleonard@umich.edu