Department of Language & communication

Department of Language & Communication
196 Murchie Science Building
303 E. Kearsley Street
Flint, MI 48502-1950
Phone: (810) 766-6725


Department Chair

Marcus Paroske
Chair & Associate Professor of Communication Studies
paroske@umich.edu


Communication Studies Faculty

Jenell Barnard-Keller
Lecturer II in Communication Studies
jenell@umich.edu

Dan Lake
Lecturer II in Communication Studies
danlake@umich.edu

Kimberly A. Laux
Lecturer II in Communication Studies
(810) 762-3411
kimberws@umich.edu

Jeyoung (Jenny) Oh
Assistant Professor of Communication Studies
jennyoh@umich.edu

Sarah Rosaen
Professor of Communication Studies
rosaen@umich.edu

Brian Schrader
Lecturer IV in Communication Studies
brischr@umich.edu

Heather Seipke
Associate Professor of Communication Studies
hseipke@umich.edu

Michelle Silva
Lecturer IV in Communication Studies
misilva@umich.edu


English Faculty

Cathy Akers-Jordan
Lecturer IV in English
cakers@umich.edu

Bob Barnett
Professor of English
rbarnett@umich.edu

Stephen Bernstein
Professor of English
sberns@umich.edu

Jacob Blumner
Professor of English & Director of the Marian E. Wright Writing Center
blumner@umich.edu

Erica Britt
Associate Professor of English (Linguistics)
erbritt@umich.edu

Jay Clark
Lecturer II in English
jtclark@umich.edu

Monika Ehrlich
Lecturer II in English
mehrlich@umich.edu

Emily Feuerherm
Associate Professor of Linguistics & Director of the Bridge Program
feuerher@umich.edu

Stephanie Vidaillet Gelderloos
Lecturer IV in English
stepgeld@umich.edu

Lisa Hine
Lecturer II in English
lhine@umich.edu

Kazuko Hiramatsu
Associate Professor of Linguistics
kazukoh@umich.edu

Kazuko Hiramatsu
Associate Professor of Linguistics
kazukoh@umich.edu

Stephanie Irwin Booms
Lecturer II in English
irwinsj@umich.edu

Mary Jo Kietzman (Gifford)
Associate Professor of English
mkietzma@umich.edu

Dave Larsen
Lecturer IV in English, Director of Writing Placement
Exam (WPX), & Qua Faculty Advisor
dalarsen@umich.edu

Vickie Larsen
Associate Professor of English & Director of the Masters in English Language and Literature program
(810) 424-5656
vlarsen@umich.edu

Dave Linden
Lecturer II in English
dlinden@umich.edu

John Pendell
Lecturer II in English
jpendell@umich.edu

Stephanie Roach
Associate Professor of English
(810) 762-3429
smroach@umich.edu

James Schirmer
Associate Professor of English
jschirm@umich.edu

Maureen Thum
Lecturer IV in English
mthum@umich.edu

D.J. Trela
Professor of English
djtrela@umich.edu

Diane Washington
Lecturer II in English
washd@umich.edu

Janelle Wiess
Lecturer IV in English
jwiess@umich.edu

Stephanie Wilhelm
Lecturer II in English
swilhelm@umich.edu


Foreign Language & Literatures Faculty

Norberto Aguado-Perez
Lecturer I in Foreign Languages & Literatures (Spanish)
naguado@umich.edu

Mohamed Daassa 
Lecturer in Foreign Languages IV & Literatures (Arabic & French)
daassa@umich.edu

Jessica Esperanza
Lecturer I in Foreign Languages & Literatures (Spanish)
jesperan@umich.edu

Jing Fu 
Lecturer IV in Foreign Languages & Literatures (Chinese)
jingfu@umich.edu

Theresa Knoll 
Lecturer II in Foreign Languages & Literatures (Spanish)
tknoll@umflint.edu

Jeanine LeMieux
Lecturer I in Foreign Languages & Literatures (Spanish)
jelemieu@umich.edu

Daniel O’Connell
Lecturer I in Foreign Languages & Literatures (German)
danocone@umich.edu


Administrative Staff

Lesa Callcut
Administrative Assistant – Financials
lcallcut@umuch.edu

Mandy Myers
Administrative Assistant – Communication & Academic Support
mandyst@umich.edu

Pat Slackta
Administrative Assistant, Personnel & Course Scheduling
pslackta@umich.edu