Department of Mathematics & Applied Sciences

Department of Mathematics & Applied Sciences
196 Murchie Science Building
303 E. Kearsley Street
Flint, MI 48502-1950
Phone: (810) 766-6735


Department Chair

Cam McLeman
Chair & Associate Professor of Mathematics
mclemanc@umich.edu


Computer Science & Information Systems Faculty

Amal Alhosban, PhD
Associate Professor
(810) 766-6735
alhosban@umich.edu
Research: Semantic Web, Fault Management and Wireless Network

Mark Allison, PhD
Associate Professor
(810) 766-6735
markalli@umich.edu
Research Interests: Autonomous Systems in Teams, Machine Learning, Software Engineering, Affective Computing, Computer Science Education

Olanrewaju Aluko, PhD, PE
Associate Professor
(810) 766-6735
aluko@umich.edu
Research: Modeling and analysis of composite structures and nanocomposites; Computational mechanics and material science; Materials characterization, evaluation and testing

Vijayaditya Ayyagari
Lecturer
(810) 766-6735
vayyagar@umich.edu

Halil Bisgin, PhD
Assistant Professor of Computer Science
(810) 766-6735
bisgin@umich.edu
Research: Data Mining & Machine Learning, Social Computing, Biomedical Informatics & Bioinformatics, Parallel Computing 

Cherie Brown
Lecturer
(810) 766-6735
chbrown@umich.edu

Donald Chisholm, MBA 
Lecturer 
donchis@umich.edu

Shane Emmons
Lecturer
(810) 766-6735
semmons@umich.edu

Quentin Galerneau
Lecturer
(810) 766-6735
qgalerne@umich.edu

Sonia Galerneau
Lecturer
(810) 766-6735
sgalerne@umich.edu

(Houssein) Joel Hachem
Lecturer
(810) 766-6735
hjhachem@umich.edu

Steven Harrow
Lecturer
(810) 766-6735
sharrow@umich.edu

John Hart
Lecturer
(810) 766-6735
johnha@umich.edu

Joel Howard
Lecturer
(810) 766-6735
joelhowa@umich.edu

Pam Kalmar
Lecturer
(810) 766-6735
pkalmar@umich.edu

Murali Mani, PhD
Professor
(810) 766-6735
mmani@umich.edu
Research: Database Systems, Processing of Streaming Data, Data Lineage, Big Data, Secure Query Processing in the Cloud, Effective Computer Science Education, Women and Minorities in Computer Science

Brian McBride
Lecturer
(810) 766-6735
brmcbrid@umich.edu

Matthew Spradling, PhD
Assistant Professor
(810) 766-6735
mjspra@umich.edu
Research: Misinformation in Social Media, Coalition Formation, Game Theory, Complexity Theory, Social Networks

Zahid Syed, PhD
Associate Professor
(810) 766-6735
zahsyed@umich.edu
Research: Computer & mobile security, Behavioral biometrics, Data mining

Charlotte Tang, PhD
Associate Professor
(810) 766-6735
tcharlot@umich.edu
Research: Designing for Real People with Real Needs! Including healthcare collaborations with clinicians, arts & technology research with local museums and galleries, cognitive assessments with local older adults, and social media and student performance with schools

Stephen Turner, PhD
Director for Master of Science in Computer Science & Information Systems, and Associate Professor
(810) 766-6735
swturner@umich.edu

Suleyman Uludag, PhD
Associate Professor
(810) 766-6735
uludag@umich.edu
Research: Smart Grid communications, smart meter data collection, security & privacy in the Smart Grid, Cybersecurity education & curriculum development; Routing in Wireless Mesh Networks; Quality-of-Service routing in networks

Computer Science & Information Systems Staff

Adriana Diaz
Academic Advisor
Computer Information Systems
(810) 762-0160
acdiaz@umich.edu
Book an Appointment

Jeff Dobbs
Undergraduate Academic Advisor
(810) 766-6676
jdobbs@umich.edu
Click here to make an appointment

David Rosemary 
Systems Administrator
(810) 237-6531
djros@umich.edu


Engineering Faculty

Bashar AbdulNour, PhD
Lecturer 
basharan@umich.edu

Mohammed Aslam, MS
Lecturer 
maslam@umich.edu

Mihai Burzo, PhD
Associate Professor
(810) 766-6735
mburzo@umich.edu
Research: Infrared thermal imaging, deception detection, thermal comfort, air diffuser design 

Ming Li, PhD
Assistant Professor of Mechanical Engineering
(810) 766-6735
minglilm@umich.edu
Research: Mechatronics, signal processing, robotics

Quamrul Mazumder, PhD, PE
Professor of Mechanical Engineering
(810) 766-6735
qmazumde@umich.edu
Research: Particulated Mulitphase Flow Characterization using Computational (CFD) and Experimental Fluid Dynamics, Particle Image Velocimetry, Engineering Education Research (EER)

Mojtaba Vaziri, PhD
David M. French Professor
(810) 766-6735
mvaziri@umich.edu

Na (Linda) Zhu, PhD
Assistant Professor
(810) 766-6735
nazhu@umich.edu
Research: Acoustics, vibration and noise control, signal processing, sensor and controls, automotive engineering

Khalil Khanafer
Lecturer
(810) 766-6735
khanafer@umich.edu

Laura Lucas
Lecturer
(810) 766-6735
llaura@umich.edu

Engineering Staff

Adriana Diaz
Academic Advisor
Engineering General Program, 2+2 UM-Flint to Ann Arbor Preferential Admissions Engineering Program
(810) 762-0160
acdiaz@umich.edu
Book an Appointment

Gregory Keller
Engineering Technician
(810) 766-6735
gbkelle@umich.edu

Shannon Resowski
Academic Advisor
Mechanical Engineering
(810) 762-3051
resowski@umich.edu
Book an Appointment


Mathematics Faculty

Ricardo Alfaro
David M. French Professor
ralfaro@umich.edu

Mary Boomer
Lecturer II
mboomer@umich.edu

Matt Campbell
Lecturer II
mattheca@umich.edu

Daniel Coffield
Associate Professor
dcoffiel@umich.edu

Shawil Daoud
Lecturer II
sdaoud@umich.edu

Alecia DelCore
Lecturer II
adelcore@umich.edu

Lixing Han
Professor
lxhan@umich.edu

Kristina Hansen
Associate Professor
khansen@umich.edu

Jean Herta
Lecturer II
jherta@umich.edu

Matt Lobban
Lecturer II
mlobban@umich.edu

Laura McLeman
Associate Professor
lauramcl@umich.edu

Allen Murphy
Lecturer II
allenmu@umich.edu

Brian Robertson
Lecturer II
robbrian@umich.edu

Kenneth Schilling
Professor
ksch@umich.edu

Mehrdad Simkani
Professor
simkani@umich.edu

Shaun Thayer
Lecturer I
sthayer@umich.edu

Howard Thompson
Associate Professor
hmthomps@umich.edu

Shu-Yi Tu
Professor
sytu@umich.edu

James Wade
Lecturer II
jawade@umich.edu

Mathematics Staff

Taylor Ryan
Academic Advisor
(810) 762-3053
ryantayl@umich.edu


Administrative Staff

Carly Byrne
Administrative Assistant – Communication & Academic Support
(810) 237-6592
byrnecar@umich.edu

Pat Slackta
Administrative Assistant, Personnel & Course Scheduling
(810) 762-0737
pslackta@umich.edu