physics

Physics Department
212 Murchie Science Building
303 E. Kearsley Street
Flint, MI 48502-1950
Phone: (810) 762-3121
Fax: (810) 766-6780
Email: studyphysics@umich.edu

Physics Department Faculty

James Alsup, PhD
Associate Professor & Department Chair
(810) 762-3121
jalsup@umich.edu
Research: Black holes as condensed tools, Orbital Mechanics

Biplob Barman, PhD
Assistant Professor 
(810) 762-3121
bbarman@umich.edu
Research: Optical spectroscopy of semiconductor nanostructures at low temperatures and high magnetic fields 

Katherine Eaton, PhD
Assistant Professor
(810) 762-3121
eatonk@umich.edu

Rajib Ganguly, PhD
Associate Professor
(810) 762-3121
ganguly@umich.edu
Research: Supermassive Black Hole growth, Active Galaxies, Quasar Absorption Lines, Quasar Outflows

Alan Grafe, PhD
Lecturer
(810) 762-3121
grafe@umich.edu

Stephanie Hart, MS
Lecturer
(810) 762-3121
stlhart@umich.edu

Chris Pearson, PhD
Professor
(810) 762-3121
pear@umich.edu

Michele Stark, PhD
Lecturer
(810) 762-3121
mistark@umich.edu

Larry Tarini, PhD
Lecturer
(810) 762-3121
ltarini@umich.edu
Research: Relativistic heavy ion collisions, quark-gluon plasma, two-particle correlations 

Mojtaba Vaziri, PhD
David M. French Professor
(810) 762-3121
mvaziri@umich.edu
Research: Engineering and solid-state physics in the production and characterization of nanowires

Physics Department Staff

Jeff Dobbs
Undergraduate Academic Advisor
(810) 762-3121
jdobbs@umich.edu
Click here to make an appointment

Administrative Staff

Mary Poletti
Administrative Assistant
(810) 762-3083
mpoletti@umich.edu

Pat Slackta
Administrative Assistant
(810) 762-0737
pslackta@umich.edu

Cydnee Weirauch
Administrative Assistant
(810) 424-5388
cweirauc@umich.edu