Department of Social Sciences & Humanities

Department of Social Sciences & Humanities
260 David M. French Hall
303 E. Kearsley Street
Flint, MI 48502-1950
Phone: (810) 766-6729


Department Chairs

Dauda Abubakar
Chair & Associate Professor of Africana Studies
dauda@umich.edu


Africana Studies Faculty


Economics Faculty

William DeFrance
Lecturer II
willyd@umich.edu

Christopher Douglas
Associate Professor
(810) 424-5492
ccdougla@umich.edu

Adam Lutzker
Associate Professor
(810) 762-3195
alutzker@umich.edu


History Faculty

Mohamed Daassa
Lecturer IV
(810) 424-5490
daassa@umich.edu
Research: U.S. minorities, Identity Issues, Assimilation, Religious Integration, Islam and Muslims in Non-Muslim Majority Societies

John Ellis
Professor
(810) 762-3204
ellisjs@umich.edu
Research: Nationalism and national identity in the British Isles; Modern Wales and Ireland

Roy Hanashiro
Professor
(810) 762-3368
okuma@umich.edu
Research: Modern Japan; Asian economic history

Gregory M. Havrilcsak
Lecturer IV
(810) 762-3205
greghav@umich.edu

Thomas Henthorn
Associate Professor
(810) 762-3206
henthorn@umich.edu
Research: Progressive Era, Urban History, Charities and Philanthropy

Michael B. Kassel
Adjunct Lecturer
mkassel@umich.edu

Douglas Knerr
Professor
(810) 762-3211
dknerr@umich.edu
Research: Vernacular Architecture; Capital Formation and Regional Markets; Industrial Archeology

Wade Merrill
Lecturer I
wmerrill@umich.edu
Research: American political development, World history, Cultural history, LGBT history, Sports history, Public history and archival administration

Christopher A. Molnar
Associate Professor
(810) 762-3207
chrismol@umich.edu
Research: Modern Germany; race and immigration in German and European history; the memory of World War II in postwar Europe

Matthew Thick
Lecturer I
mthick@umich.edu
Research Interests: Great Lakes American Indians, Nineteenth Century Michigan


Philosophy Faculty


Political Science Faculty

Jason Kosnoski, PhD
Associate Professor
(810) 762-3473
kosnoski@umich.edu
Research: Democratic theory, theories of public space, pragmatism, Marxism

Victoria Morckel, PhD, AICP
Associate Professor 
(810) 237-6560
morckel@umich.eduResearch: Land use planning, urban planning, urban studies, public policy; shrinking/legacy cities; causes and consequences of population decline; property vacancy, housing abandonment, blight

Derwin Munroe
Campus Pre-Law Advisor, & Lecturer IV
(810) 762-3130
dmunroe@umich.edu
Research: Politics of energy, economic development in developing countries

Kimberly Saks McManaway, PhD
Lecturer IV & MPA Director
(810) 762-3472
kimsaks@umich.edu
Research: Political representation and electoral decision-making; gender and politics, gender and public policy; law and public policy; political behavior

Jeremiah Wade-Olson, PhD
Assistant Professor
(810) 762-3412
jerolson@umich.edu
Research interests: Conditions in U.S. prisons; race and prisoner treatment; administration of U.S. prisons


Administrative Staff

Audrey Beauchesne
Administrative Assistant – Communication & Academic Support
abeauche@umich.edu

Suzanne Shivnen
Administrative Assistant, Personnel & Course Scheduling
sshivnen@umich.edu

Karri Spoelstra
Administrative Assistant – Financials
kleonard@umich.edu