Women’s & Gender Studies

Women’s & Gender Studies Department
521 David M. French Hall
303 E. Kearsley Street
Flint, MI 48502-1950
Phone: (810) 762-3340
Email: WGSProgram@umich.edu

Women’s & Gender Studies Department Faculty

Jennifer Alvey, PhD
Program Director & Associate Professor
(810) 424-5407
jalvey@umich.edu
Research: Feminist political-economy of development and social change, with regional specialization in Latina American, especially Nicaragua, and topical specialization in agrarian relations and change; my new research builds on this focus, but is looking closer at food systems and food justice/sovereignty actors and movements. 

Jami Anderson, PhD
Associate Professor 
(810) 762-3340
jamie@umich.edu

Patricia Emenyonu, PhD
Lecturer
(810) 762-3285
patemen@umich.edu

Allison James
Lecturer
(810) 762-3340
ajendry@umich.edu

Vickie Larsen, PhD
Assistant Professor
(810) 762-3340
vlarsen@umich.edu

Heather Laube, PhD
Associate Professor
(810) 762-3340
hlaube@umich.edu

Adam Lutzker, PhD
Associate Professor
(810) 762-3340
alutzker@umich.edu

Laura MacIntyre
Lecturer
(810) 762-3340
lauragm@umich.edu

Amanda Magnuson
Lecturer
(810) 762-3340
almagnus@umich.edu

Shelby Newport
Associate Provost & Dean of Undergraduate Studies/Associate Professor
(810) 762-3340
snewport@umich.edu

Shelley Spivack, JD
Lecturer & Genesee County Family Court Attorney/Referee
(810) 762-3340
sspivack@umich.edu

Benedicte Veillet, PhD
Assistant Professor
(810) 762-3340
veillet@umich.edu

Administrative Staff – Small Heading

Lesa Callcut
Administrative Assistant
(810) 766-6646
lcallcut@umich.edu

Mandy Myers
Administrative Assistant
(810) 762-3486
mandyst@umich.edu

Suzanne Shivnen
Administrative Assistant
(810) 766-6639
sshivnen@umich.edu