Department of Behavioral Sciences

Murchie Science Building

Department of Behavioral Sciences

196 Murchie Science Building
303 E. Kearsley Street
Flint, MI 48502-1950
Phone: (810) 766-6732


Behavioral Sciences Faculty & Staff


Department Chair

Hillary Heinze, PhD
Associate Professor of Psychology & Chair
hheinze@umich.edu


Anthropology Faculty

Jennifer Alvey, PhD
Associate Professor
jalvey@umich.edu

Daniel Andrew Birchok, PhD
Assistant Professor
dbirchok@umich.edu

Beverley A. Smith, PhD
Associate Professor & Honors Program Advisor
bevsmith@umich.edu

Christian Vannier, PhD
Lecturer II
rktrojan@umich.edu


Criminal Justice Faculty

Kimberly Bender, PhD
Assistant Professor
kimbend@umich.edu

Jeffrey Frost, PhD
Lecturer I
jafrost@umich.edu

Kenneth J. Litwin, PhD
Associate Professor & Honors Program Advisor
kjlitwin@umich.edu

Joan Mars, PhD
Associate Professor
jrmars@umich.edu

Shelley R. Spivack, JD, MA
Lecturer II
sspivack@umich.edu


Geographic Information Systems Faculty

Greg Rybarczyk, PhD
Associate Professor & GIS Certificate Program Director
grybar@umich.edu
Research: Geographic Information Systems (GIS), Transportation Geography, Urban Planning, Spatial Analysis, Statistical Modeling, and Remote Sensing


Psychology Faculty

Michelle Beddow, PhD
Lecturer I
mbeddow@umich.edu

Karen Bedell, PhD
Lecturer IV
kabedell@umich.edu

Allen Bellamy, PhD
Lecturer IV
abellamy@umich.edu

Nia Billings, PhD
Lecturer I
niabill@umich.edu

Julie Broadbent, PhD
Associate Professor
broadben@umich.edu

Andrew Franks, PhD
Lecturer I
asfranks@umich.edu

Susan Gano-Phillips, PhD
Professor & Dean
sganop@umich.edu

Terrence Horgan, PhD
Myron and Margaret Winegarden Professor
& Professor of Psychology
thorgan@umich.edu

Tracy Juliao, PhD
Lecturer II
tjuliao@umich.edu

William McKibbin, PhD
Associate Professor
wmckibbi@umich.edu

Nathaniel Miller, PhD
Associate Professor
natmille@umich.edu

Peter Molinaro, PhD
Assistant Professor
petermol@umich.edu

Yael Sela, PhD
Lecturer III
yaelsela@umich.edu

Kraig Shattuck, PhD
Lecturer I
shattuc@umich.edu

Amanda Smith, MA, LLP
Lecturer III
osbornea@umich.edu

Jeannette Stein, PhD
Associate Professor & Associate Dean
whitmore@umich.edu

Amanda Taylor, MS, LLP
Lecturer IV
amatayl@umich.edu

Thomas Wrobel, PhD
Professor
twrobel@umich.edu


Sociology Faculty

Roy Barnes, PhD
Professor & Associate Dean
rcbarnes@umich.edu

Sasha Drummond-Lewis, PhD
Assistant Professor
srdlewis@umich.edu

John Girdwood, PhD
Lecturer I
johngird@umich.edu

Heather Laube, PhD
Associate Professor
hlaube@umich.edu

Jacob Lederman, PhD
Associate Professor
jaclede@umich.edu

Laura MacIntyre, MA
Lecturer II
lauragm@umich.edu

Rachel Petrak, MPH
Lecturer I
rpetrak@umich.edu

Michael Sabbagh, MSc
Lecturer I
mlsabbag@umich.edu

Kathryn Schellenberg, PhD
Associate Professor Emerita
kathsch@umich.edu

Megan St. George, MA
Lecturer I
meedgar@umich.edu


Academic Advisors

Schedule an appointment with your Academic Advisor by clicking here.

Nicole Altheide, MS
Academic Advisor – Advises Psychology students with last names beginning with G-Z.
nrock@umich.edu

Therasa Martin
Academic Advisor – Advises Online Psychology and Criminal Justice.
tsimpson@umich.edu

Cydnee Weirauch
Academic Advisor – Advises Psychology students with last names beginning with A-F; Anthropology; Sociology; Social Science Joint Program; Urban Science; GIS.
cweirauc@umich.edu


Administrative Staff

Lesa Callcut
Administrative Assistant – Financials
lcallcut@umich.edu

Dominika Lazarska
Communication & Academic Support
dalazars@umich.edu

Suzanne Shivnen
Administrative Assistant – Personnel & Course Scheduling
sshivnen@umich.edu