Shared Governance Task Force

Creating a New Shared Governance Structure

In the spring of 2020, at the request of U-M President Mark Schlissel, Chancellor Deba Dutta convened a group of faculty members and administration to create a system of shared governance at UM-Flint. That group is the Shared Governance Task Force.

The Shared Governance Task Force was asked to find a new shared governance structure that will:

  • Align with the governance models of the Ann Arbor and Dearborn campuses;
  • Support UM-Flint to be adaptable, flexible, and able to make changes quickly and efficiently to match the pressures of our context and the context of higher education; and
  • Reflect the importance of shared governance and define the roles and responsibilities of administration and faculty.

As a result of this effort and the input of faculty, the University of Michigan Board of Regents gave final approval to the UM-Flint Faculty Senate Bylaws on October 22, 2020.

Faculty Members

  • Jennifer Blackwood, Associate Professor, Physical Therapy, CHS
  • Brian Blume, Professor, Organizational Behavior, SOM
  • Aviva Dorfman, Associate Professor, Education, SEHS
  • Ken Schilling, Professor, Mathematics, CAS
  • D.J. Trela, Professor, English, CAS
  • Hiba Wehbe-Alamah, Professor, Nursing, SON


  • Tess Barker, Senior Director for Special Projects, Chancellor’s Office
  • Donna Fry, Dean, CHS
  • Susan Gano-Phillips, Dean, CAS
  • Michael Hague, Vice Chancellor for Business & Finance
  • Kristi Hottenstein, Vice Chancellor for Enrollment Management
  • Scott Johnson, Dean, SOM

Convener & Moderator

  • Gloria Hage, Senior Associate General Counsel,Office of the Vice-President and General Counsel, U-M

Staff Support

  • Terry Bigelow, Executive Secretary, Business & Finance/Enrollment Management


May 11 – Task Force membership announced

May 18 – Task Force holds initial meeting and will be charged by Chancellor Dutta

July 20 – Task Force Holds Town Hall

July 24 – Task Force Holds Town Hall

August 1 – Shared governance document due to Chancellor

Town Halls

The Shared Governance Task Force held two Town Halls to hear comments, questions, and suggestions on the draft Bylaws. Recordings of the Town Halls can be viewed here:

The submitted questions for the Shared Governance Task Force Town Hall meetings are found here: