Agho Teaching Excellence Award

The College of Health Sciences places primary focus on teaching excellence. Teaching excellence is demonstrated through high quality delivery of classroom, laboratory, and clinical teaching as well as advising which motivates students to achieve their maximal potential. Teaching excellence includes: subject matter expertise, pedagogical expertise, excellent communication, student-centered mentorship, and systemic and continual assessment.

The Award is supported by the Dr. Augustine O. Agho Endowment Fund, which was established to honor Dr. Agho, who joined UM-Flint in 2001 as professor of Health Care and founding dean of the College of Health Sciences.


Dr. Chad Tiernan

2019 Ahgo Teaching Award Winner:  Chad Tiernan, PhD

•Teaches research and motion analysis courses in DPT and PhD programs

•Delivers material in experiential and active learning modes

•Encourages lively and critical discussions of journal articles

“Not only does he know his subject matter inside and out, he has a keen way of presenting the information so it is not only understandable, but applicable to clinical scenarios. I believe if I would have had a professor 10 years ago similar to Chad, I would have entered the research field a lot earlier.”