Administrative Staff

Click here to meet the English Department's Administrative Staff!

Department Leadership

Phone:
(810) 762-3285
Email:
jschirm@umich.edu
Writing

James Schirmer, Associate Professor

Department Chair

Education: Ph.D., Bowling Green State University (2008)

Academic interests: digital rhetoric, the English major/minor, first-year writing, the history of rhetoric, technical writing.

Personal interests: audiobooks, cats, craft beer, pencils, running/walking.

Website: https://betajames.posthaven.com/

Dr. Schirmer began teaching at the University of Michigan-Flint in 2008.

Preferred pronouns: he/him/his

Phone:
(810) 762-3429
Email:
smroach@umich.edu
Writing

Stephanie Roach, Associate Professor

Director of Writing Programs, Associate English Chair, and Director of the General Education Program

Education: Ph.D., English, University of Connecticut (2003)

Academic Interests: first-year writing, the specialization in writing major in English or our writing minors (including Professional Writing and Creative Writing), the teaching of writing and writing assignment design, plagiarism, writing program administration, general education learning outcomes, advising and retention, signature assignments and integrative learning.

Dr. Roach began teaching at the University of Michigan-Flint in 2003.

Preferred pronouns: she/her/hers

Faculty

Phone:
(810) 762-3477
Email:
cakers@umich.edu
Writing

Cathy Akers-Jordan, Lecturer IV

Education: Master of Liberal Studies, American Culture, University of Michigan-Flint (1998)

Academic Interests: technical writing, detective fiction, RMS Titanic, The Lord of the Rings, and Harry Potter.

Personal Interests: wild eagle cams, dog training, Egyptology, Greek and Roman mythology, counted cross-stitch, and knitting.

Website:  http://homepages.umflint.edu/~cakers/

Phone:
(810) 762-0751
Email:
satkinso@umich.edu
Writing

Scott Atkinson, Lecturer

Phone:
(810) 766-6878
Email:
rbarnett@umich.edu
Writing

Robert Barnett, Professor

Dean of the School of Education and Human Services

Education: Ph.D., University of Nevada

Download Dr. Barnett's Presentation: How to Write a Winning Resume

Email:
sberns@umich.edu
Literature

Stephen Bernstein, Professor

Education: Ph.D., University of Wisconsin (1990)

Academic interests: British Literature, literary theory, Alice Munro, comics

Personal interests: travel, music, cooking, reading, crossword puzzles, his cat

Dr. Bernstein began teaching at UM-Flint in 1990.

Phone:
(810) 424-5387
Email:
blumner@umich.edu
Writing

Jacob Blumner, Professor

Director of the Marian E. Wright Writing Center

Education: Ph.D., University of Nevada, Reno (1996)

Academic Interests: writing centers, writing across the curriculum, writing assessment, composition pedagogy

Personal Interests: tree hugging, woodworking, cycling, jiu jitsu, fishing, collecting hobbies.

Dr. Blumner began teaching at UM-Flint in 2005.

Phone:
(810) 762-3483
Email:
erbritt@umich.edu
Linguistics

Erica Britt, Associate Professor

Education: Ph.D, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign (2011)

Phone:
(810) 767-6664
Email:
jtclark@umich.edu
Writing

Jay Clark, Lecturer

Education

  • M.Ed., Cambridge College
  • M.A., American and English Literature, University of Toledo
Email:
mehrlich@umich.edu
Writing and Literature

Monika Ehrlich, Lecturer

Phone:
(810) 762-3474
Email:
patemen@umich.edu
Literature

Patricia Emenyonu, Lecturer

Phone:
(810) 762-3183
Email:
feuerher@umich.edu
Linguistics

Emily Feuerherm, Associate Professor

Director of the Bridge Program

Education: Ph.D., Linguistics, University of California, Davis (2013)

Academic Interests: teaching English to speakers of other languages (TESOL), immigrant and refugee studies, swearing and taboo language, health literacy, community-based participatory action research

Personal Interests: cooking (and eating!), running, learning languages

Website: https://emfeuerherm.wixsite.com/feuerherm

Dr. Feuerherm began teaching at the University of Michigan-Flint in 2013. 

Preferred pronouns: she/her/hers

Phone:
(810) 762-3463
Email:
jfurman@umich.edu
Literature

Jan Furman, Professor

Director of MA in Liberal Studies (MALS) Program

Education: Ph.D., Florida State University

Email:
stepgeld@umich.edu
Writing

Stephanie Vidaillet Gelderloos, Lecturer

Education: M.A., English Linguistics, Eastern Michigan University (2004)

Email:
lhine@umich.edu
Writing

Lisa Hine, Lecturer

Phone:
(810) 762-3478
Email:
kazukoh@umich.edu
Linguistics

Kazuko Hiramatsu, Associate Professor

Education: Ph.D. in Linguistics (2000)

Academic Interests: general linguistics, the English major (specialization in linguistics), the linguistics minor, scholarship of teaching and learning (service learning/civic engagement, signature assignments and integrative learning, reflection), language acquisition

Dr. Hiramatsu started teaching at the University of Michigan-Flint in 2000.

Preferred pronouns: she/her/hers

Phone:
(248) 622-0794
Email:
irwinsj@umich.edu
Writing

Stephanie Irwin Booms, Lecturer

Email:
aakent@umich.edu
Literature

Alicia Kent, Associate Professor (on Leave)

Education: Ph.D., University of Wisconsin-Madison (2000)

Phone:
(810) 762-3465
Email:
mkietzma@umich.edu
Literature

Mary Jo Kietzman (Gifford), Associate Professor

Education: Ph.D., Boston College (1993)

Phone:
(810) 762-0145
Email:
suknight@umich.edu
English Education

Suzanne Knight, Associate Professor

Phone:
(810) 424-5247
Email:
dalarsen@umich.edu
Writing

Dave Larsen, Collegiate Lecturer IV

Director of Writing Placement Exam (WPX), Qua Faculty Advisor

Education: M.A. Northern Michigan University

Academic Interests: First year writing, Creative Writing (fiction and non-fiction)

Mr. Larsen began teaching at the University of Michigan-Flint in January 1997.

Phone:
(810) 424-5656
Email:
vlarsen@umich.edu
Literature

Vickie Larsen, Associate Professor

Director of the Masters in English Language and Literature program

Education: Ph.D., University of Iowa

Academic Interests: pre-modern literature, language and culture; multi-ethnic American literature; history and future of text technologies; decolonizing methodologies; community-archives and preservation; public engagement; digital humanities

Dr. Larsen began teaching at the University of Michigan-Flint in 2008.

Preferred pronouns: she/her/hers

Email:
dlinden@umich.edu
Writing

Dave Linden, Lecturer

Education: M.A., University of Michigan-Flint

Phone:
(810) 237-6641
Email:
jpendell@umich.edu
Linguistics / Honors

John Pendell, Lecturer

Email:
fsvoboda@umich.edu
Literature

Frederic Svoboda, Professor

Education

  • Ph.D., English, Michigan State University (1978)
  • Graduate, Radcliffe Course in Publishing Procedures, Harvard University (Summer, 1975)
Email:
mthum@umich.edu
Honors

Maureen Thum, Lecturer IV

Director of Honors Scholar Program

Education: Ph.D., Michigan State University

Email:
djtrela@umich.edu
Literature / Honors

D. J. Trela, Professor

Interim Chair for Department of Foreign Languages

Phone:
(810) 762-3497
Email:
washd@umich.edu
Writing

Diane Washington, Lecturer

Phone:
(810) 762-3443
Email:
jwiess@umich.edu
Writing

Janelle Wiess, Lecturer

Education: M.A., Literary and Textual Studies, Bowling Green State University (2006)

Academic Interests: First-year writing, online writing instruction, syllabi design, career-preparation instruction, professional writing, memoir/creative nonfiction, first-year experience instruction.

Personal Interests: Running, blogging, historical fiction, and camping

Ms. Wiess started teaching at the University of Michigan-Flint in 2006.
Email:
swilhelm@umich.edu
Writing

Stephanie Wilhelm, Lecturer

Education

  • Master’s, Library Science and Information, Wayne State University (May 2012)
  • M.A., English, Wayne State University (August 2006)
Email:
zawimelo@umich.edu
Writing

Melojeane Zawilinski, Lecturer

Education: M.A., Teaching, Saginaw Valley State University