Honors Program

Maureen Thum, Ph.D.


Education: B.A. and M.A., Queen's University; Ph.D., Michigan State University

Dr. Thum received her B.A. and M.A. degrees from Queen's University, Kingston, Ontario, Canada, and her Ph.D. from Michigan State University. She joined the University of Michigan-Flint faculty in 1975 after teaching at Mott Community College for three years. Dr. Thum served as Assistant Director of the Honors Program from 1997 through 1999.

She has published 19 refereed articles and 14 abstracts in scholarly journals and presented over 100 refereed papers at professional conferences, along with facilitating and sponsoring over 400 student papers presented at undergraduate conferences. She was the recipient of two National Endowment for the Humanities Summer Seminar awards at Princeton University and Brown University. In 2013, Dr. Thum received the Dr. Matthew Hilton-Watson Distinguished Professor Award and the 2013-2014 Collegiate Lecturer Award.

Dr. Thum's service to the University has included serving on the Academic Affairs Advisory Committee, Library Resources Committee, Graduate Resources Committee, International Studies Program, Telecommunications Committee, Writing Across the Curriculum, CAS Grievance Committee, to name only a few. Professionally, she serves on the Executive Board of the Michigan Academy of Science, Arts, and Letters, and has served on the Community Advisory Board for Michigan Television, and Channel 28 Advisory Board.

(810) 424-5354
Honors Program

Laura Staudacher, MPA

Program Manager

Education: B.S. in Business Management, University of Phoenix; M.A. in Public Administration, University of Michigan-Flint

Laura Staudacher received an Associate in Art from Mott Community College, her B.S. in Business Management from the University of Phoenix, and her Master of Public Administration from the Horace H. Rackham School of Graduate Studies at the University of Michigan-Flint. She joined the university community in 2001 as an Administrative Assistant at the Ginsberg Center for Community Service and Learning at the UM-Ann Arbor campus. She joined the UM-Flint staff in 2007 and has been working for the Honors Program since 2010.

She moved to Flint from Swartz Creek in 2014, and is currently Fairfield Village Neighborhood Council President. 

Laura’s service to the university has included serving as Staff Council Web Coordinator, Staff Council Chair, Student Success Center Subcommittee Chair, Dining Services RFP Committee, Dining Services Advisory Committee, Earth Day Committee, Welcome Back Picnic Cake Runner, and The Flint Corridor Alliance Hamilton Dam Committee.

Other Faculty
  • Mr. Bob Houbeck, Library Director
    HON 252
  • Dr. Vickie Larsen, Associate Professor, English
    HON 155
  • Dr. Jamile Lawand, Professor, Foreign Languages and Literatures
    HON 251

  • Mr. John Pendell, Professor, English
    HON 156
    email | webpage
  • Dr. Heather Seipke, Professor, Communication
    HON 498
Student Office Assistant
  • Sadie Lawrence