Program Director

Phone:
810-424-5407
Email:
jalvey@umich.edu
Women's and Gender Studies & Anthropology

Jennifer Alvey, Ph.D

Director of WGS, Associate Professor of Anthropology and Women's and Gender Studies

Research interests include feminist political-economy of development and social change, with regional specialization in Latina American, especially Nicaragua, and topical specialization in agrarian relations and change; my new research builds on this focus, but is looking closer at food systems and food justice/sovereignty actors and movements. 

Courses taught in WGS: 
WGS 100 Introduction to Women’s Studies
WGS 320 Special Topics (I have used this special topics to teach Body Traffick, a course that explores feminist perspectives on issues and debates related to contemporary human trafficking, international adoption, and the “organ-trade” )
Soc/Ant/WGS/Int 376-576 Sex, Work, and International Capital
Ant/WGS 378-578 Sex and Gender in Cross-Cultural Perspective
SSC 503 Gender, Race and Inequalities

Department Website

Core Faculty

Email:
jamie@umich.edu
Philosophy

Jami Anderson, Ph.D

Associate Professor

Course taught in WGS: 

PHL/WGS 167- Race, Gender and Sexuality
PHL/WGS 170- Disability Studies

 

 

Department Website

Phone:
(810) 762-3285
Email:
patemen@umich.edu
Africana Studies & English

Patricia Emenyonu, Ph.D

Courses:
Women Writers of the African World

Phone:
(810) 762-3340
Email:
johngird@umich.edu
Sociology

John Girdwood

Courses:
The Black Family

Phone:
(810) 762-3340
Email:
ajendry@umich.edu
Sociology

Allison James

Courses:
Sociology of Families

Email:
vlarsen@umich.edu
English

Vickie Larsen, Ph.D

Assistant Professor

Courses taught in WGS: 

ENG/WGS 301- Medieval Women and Literature

Department Website

Email:
hlaube@umich.edu
Women's and Gender Studies & Sociology

Heather Laube, Ph.D

Associate Professor

Courses taught in WGS: 

WGS/SOC 354- Sociology of Familes (face to face & online)
WGS/SOC 474 & 574- Gender and Society

Professional Website 

Email:
alutzker@umich.edu
Economics

Adam Lutzker, Ph.D

Associate Professor

Phone:
(810) 762-3340
Email:
lauragm@umich.edu
Sociology

Laura MacIntyre

Courses:
Sociology of Families

Email:
almagnus@umich.edu
Education

Amanda Magnuson

Courses:
Women, Education & Globalization

Email:
snewport@umich.edu
Theatre & Dance

Shelby Newport, M.F.A.

Associate Professor and Resident Costume Designer

Course taught in WGS:

THE/WGS 275 - Clothing in Western Culture

Department Website

www.shelbynewport.com

Email:
sspivack@umich.edu
Women's and Gender Studies & Criminal Justice

Shelley Spivack, J.D.

Lecturer II, Soc. Ant. CRJ and WGS; Genesee County Family Court Attorney/Referee

Shelley R. Spivack is an Attorney/Referee with the Genesee County Family Court and a Lecturer in the Criminal Justice and Women and Gender Programs at UM- Flint. She received her B.A. from Rutgers University, J.D. from Brooklyn Law School and M.A.from UM-Flint. She is the Director of the Buckham/GVRC Share Art Project and  the immediate past President of the Referees Association of Michigan.  She is a WGS core faculty member and also serves on the UM-Flint Women's Commission and the WEC Advisory Board.  She is the co-author of Implementing a Gender-Based Arts Program for Juvenile Offenders, Anderson Press (2014)  and is a frequent contributor to State and Local Bar Journals.  She also serves as a member of the editorial board of the Michigan Family Law Journal, the Michigan Child Welfare Law Journal and the Referees Quarterly.

Courses Taught in WGS: CRJ/WGS 300/500- Gender, Crime, and Justice; WGS 385/585 Women, Gender, and the Law

Email:
cbthomas@umich.edu
Sociology

Charles Thomas, Ph.D

Email:
veillet@umich.edu
Philosophy

Benedicte Veillet, Ph.D

Assistant Professor

Affiliated Faculty

NAME DEPARTMENT/PROGRAM EMAIL
Daniel Birchok CAS, Anthropology dbirchok@umich.edu
Lisa Borton CAS, Theatre & Dance bortonli@umich.edu
Erica Britt CAS, English erbritt@umich.edu
Jessica Camp SEHS, Social Work jkcamp@umich.edu
Elizabeth Collardey SEHS, Social Work collarde@umich.edu
Traci Currie CAS, Communication Studies curriet@umich.edu
Emma Davis CAS, Theatre & Dance emmada@umich.edu
Patricia Emenyonu CAS, English patemen@umich.edu
Marcy Epstein CAS, Psychology mxfx@umich.edu
Jing Fu CAS, Foreign Languages jingfu@umich.edu
Amy R. Gresock SOM, Management agresock@umich.edu
Janet Haley CAS, Theatre & Dance jehaley@umich.edu
Kazuko Hiramatsu CAS, English kazukoh@umich.edu
Barbara Hollie Nursing jbhollie@umich.edu
Samara Hough SEHS, EHS / Social Work samaralw@umich.edu
Peggy Kahn CAS, Political Science pegkahn@umich.edu
Mike Kassel CAS, History mkassel@umich.edu
Suzanne Knight CAS, English suknight@umich.edu
Elke Kramer CAS, Foreign Languages elkekr@umich.edu
Greg Laurence SOM, Management glaurenc@umich.edu
Jacob Lederman CAS, Sociology jaclede@umich.edu
Seung-Jin Lee CAS, GPE & Engineering sjleeum@umich.edu
Sarah Lippert CAS, Art & Art History sarlipp@umich.edu
Kenneth Litwin CAS, Criminal Justice kjlitwin@umich.edu
Gary Maynard CAS, Sociology garymayn@umich.edu
Tamara L. McKay CAS, Psychology & CAPS tamaramc@umich.edu
Bill McKibbin CAS, Psychology wmckinni@umich.edu
Kim Saks McManaway CAS, Political Science kimsaks@umich.edu
Shan Parker SHPS, Public Health & Health Science shanpark@umich.edu
Mark Perry SOM, Economics & Finance mjperry@umich.edu
Vannie Prygoski Frances Willson Thompson Library prygoski@umich.edu
Stevens Wandmacher CAS, Philosophy wandmach@umich.edu
Chris Waters CAS, Art & Art History cwaters@umich.edu
Carolyn Wistrand CAS, Africana Studies carolnur@umich.edu
Annie Whitlock SEHS, Education anwhitl@umich.edu
Jennifer Wray WGS jennwray@umich.edu

 

Affiliated Staff

NAME OFFICE/DEPARTMENT/PROGRAM EMAIL
Sandy Alberto Thompson Center for Learning & Teaching salberto@umich.edu
Molly Barnard Women's Education Center mollybar@umich.edu
Kristen Campbell Women's Education center kristeng@umich.edu
Matha Hanley WGS Secretary - CAS, Philosophy hanleyml@umich.edu
Patrice Hatcher MSA, FACHE hatcherp@umich.edu
Amalie Helms SHPS Dean's Office ahelms@umich.edu
Ashley Hixson Student Success Center & Social Work abhixson@umich.edu
Jen Hogan Event & Building Services jhogan@umich.edu
Jolene Jaquays International Center jjaquays@umich.edu
Theresa Landis Auxilary & Recreational Services tlandis@umich.edu
Sheena Lewis CAS Dean's Office shelew@umich.edu
Lynne McTiernan CAS - Sociology, Anthropology, Criminal Justice lmctier@umich.edu
Aimi Moss CAS Special Advisor aimi@umich.edu
Yuleissa Munger SHPS, Physical Therapy ymunger@umich.edu
Joy Murray Center for Educator Preparation jomurray@umich.edu
Lyndsae Raleigh Office of Assoc. Vice Chancellor & Dean of Students lraleigh@umich.edu
Michelle Rosynsky Student Involvement & Leadership rosynsky@umich.edu
Nakshidil Sadien Office of University Advacement nsadien@umich.edu
Jen Salamone LGBT Center / Women's Education Center jensalam@umich.edu
Karol Scheitler CAS - Chemistry & Biochemistry karolann@umich.edu
Laura Staudacher Honors Program laurast@umich.edu
Jenn Swank Admissions jswank@umich.edu
Tracy Wacker Thompson Center for Learning & Teaching twacker@umich.edu

 

emeritus

NAME DEPARTMENT/PROGRAM EMAIL
Judy Rosenthal CAS, Anthropology jvros@umich.edu
Jacqueline Zeff CAS, English jzeff@umich.edu