负责任的教育领导者硕士学位

密歇根大学弗林特分校的在线教育专家 (EdS) 是一项高级学位课程,专为像您这样有抱负的在职教师或学校管理人员设计,以提高领导力、沟通和管理能力。

EdS 在线计划以您作为教育者的经验为基础,帮助您实现特定目标。 无论您是计划领导课堂、开发和指导课程、晋升为管理员或主管,还是攻读博士学位并进入高等教育,EdS 计划都能帮助您脱颖而出。

UM-Flint 的在线教育专家学位课程获得了 密西根州教育厅. 完成后,您有资格获得带有中央办公室 (CO) 认可的密歇根学校管理员证书。


为什么要在 UM-Flint 获得教育专家 (EdS) 学位?

灵活的在线兼职形式

密歇根大学弗林特分校的在线教育专家学位课程专为在职教师和学校管理人员量身定制,提供灵活的兼职学习形式。 兼职格式可以适应您繁忙的工作日程,让您在不离开劳动力的情况下寻求职业发展。 EdS 将在线课程与每月一堂同步的周六课程相结合。

实地经验

在线 EdS 学位课程强调基于现场的学习。 作为 EdS 计划课程的一部分,这两个实地实习让您有机会在 K-12 或高等教育环境中应用知识进行实践。 这些经验和项目与您对领导力感兴趣的特定领域相关,将您与指导和支持您成功的实践专业人士联系起来。

20 个月结构化课程

教育专家是一个结构良好的计划,可为您提供获得学位和目标的清晰途径。 您确切地知道要参加哪些课程以及何时参加。 以循序渐进的方式提高您的技能和知识,您将准备好在 20 个月内获得高级学位。

小团体

UM-Flint 的在线 EdS 学位是一个基于队列的课程。 您可以与一小群与您一样对卓越教育充满热情的教育工作者一起学习。 这种队列结构使您能够为个人和职业发展建立强大的支持网络。 课程作业强调基于团队的项目,在提高协作和沟通技巧的同时允许建立网络。

博士之路

EdS 计划为计划攻读博士学位的学生提供了极好的准备,尤其是 密歇根大学弗林特分校教育学博士.

UM资源

作为世界知名的密歇根大学社区的一部分,您可以访问弗林特、迪尔伯恩和安娜堡校区的全部学术和研究资源。

在线教育专家计划课程

密歇根大学弗林特分校的教育专家学位课程采用强大的 30 学分课程,培养学生的决策、教学和学习管理技能,以及他们的领导潜力。 该课程旨在适应忙碌的专业人士,将在线课程与每月一次的周六同步教学课程相结合。 学生可以在短短 20 个月内以兼职方式完成 EdS 课程。

在线 EdS 学位课程将课程作业整合到教育领导力和课程与教学中,以解决地区级国家教育领导力计划 (NELP) 标准并符合学生的职业抱负和兴趣。 经密歇根教育部批准,学生有资格获得密歇根学校管理员认证和中央办公室认可 (CO)。


查看
教育专家课程和必修课程.

米歇尔·科尔巴特
教育专家 2016

“出于多种原因,我选择 UM-Flint 进行研究生学习。 我很欣赏所提供的混合学习模型。 让我的大部分课程几乎可用的灵活性正是我作为全职校长、妻子和妈妈所需要的。 我还能够每月亲自与我的同事会面一次,进行一整天的学习。 这些面对面的联系很有价值,并在我获得教育专家学位的过程中为我提供了支持。”

EdS 学位就业机会

密歇根大学弗林特分校的在线教育专家学位课程为您作为富有同情心、负责任和全面发展的教育者在 K-12 和大专教育方面的职业发展做好准备。

拥有教育专家学位,您可以寻求许多工作机会,并准备好通过执行领导任务挑战自己。 您还可以提高教学效率,促进学生成功,并改善教育系统中的教育公平和质量。

潜在的职业道路包括:

  • K-12 学校校长 
  • 专上教育管理员
  • 课程主任
  • 学校负责人
  • K-12老师

入学要求

在线教育专家学位课程的申请人应满足以下要求:

  • 完成教育相关领域的硕士或硕士学位 地区认可机构
  • 研究生院的最低整体平均绩点为 3.0(4.0 分),6.0(9.0 分)或同等水平
  • 至少三年在 P-16 教育机构或教育相关职位的工作经验

要考虑入学,请在下面提交在线申请。 其他材料可发邮件至 [电子邮件保护] 或交付给研究生课程办公室,251 汤普森图书馆。

  • 研究生入学申请*
  • $55 申请费(不可退还)
  • 官方成绩单 (本科生和研究生)来自颁发学士和硕士学位的学院和大学。请阅读我们的全文 成绩单政策 获取更多信息.
  • 对于在非美国机构完成的任何学位,必须提交成绩单以供内部证书审查。 阅读以下 有关如何提交成绩单以供审核的说明。
  • 如果英语不是您的母语,并且您不是来自 豁免国家, 你必须证明 英语水平.
  • 一篇至少 1000 字的文章,描述您申请入学的原因。 
  • 简历或简历 (CV) 确定培训、经验和专业成就
  • 教育领导评估, 这应该由在过去三年中在某个时候担任过你的主管的人完成
  • 三种 推荐信,其中至少一个来自研究生级别的课程中的教授,以解决您在该计划中取得成功的潜力
  • 来自国外的学生必须提交 附加文件

这个程序是完全在线的。 被录取的学生将无法获得学生 (F-1) 签证来攻读该学位。 但是,居住在美国境外的学生可以在本国在线完成此课程。 但是,他们将没有资格获得认证。 目前在美国的其他非移民签证持有人,请通过以下方式联系全球参与中心 [电子邮件保护].

* UM-Flint 研究生课程或 Rackham 研究生课程(任何校区)的校友可以代替 更改课程或双学位申请 不需要申请费。

备注:进入 EdS 计划并不能保证随后进入 UM-Flint 教育博士计划。

申请截止日期

在线教育专家计划每个月都有滚动录取和审查已完成的申请。 要考虑录取,请在申请截止日期或之前将所有申请材料提交给研究生课程办公室:

  • 秋季(提前截止日期*):1 月 XNUMX 日
  • 秋季(最终截止日期):1 月 1 日(XNUMX 月 XNUMX 日截止日期后将根据具体情况接受申请)

*您必须在早期截止日期前提交完整的申请,以保证申请资格 奖学金、助学金和研究助学金.

为教育专业学生提供咨询服务

您在攻读教育专家学位的过程中需要更多指导吗? 在 UM-Flint,我们很自豪有许多专门的顾问来帮助您进行申请、职业探索和设计学习计划。 对于学术建议,请联系您感兴趣的课程/部门,如所列 请点击此处尝试搜索。.


通过在线教育学学位推进您的教育事业

使用 立即加入密歇根大学弗林特分校灵活的在线教育专家 (EdS) 学位课程,培养您在教育领导力方面的专业知识。 在 20 个月内获得 EdS 学位,将您的职业提升到一个新的水平。

对程序有更多疑问? 请求信息.

Online Education Specialist (Ed.S) Degree Program

A Post-Master’s Degree for Responsible Education Leaders

The University of Michigan-Flint’s online Education Specialist (EdS) is an advanced degree program designed for ambitious in-service teachers or school administrators like you to increase leadership, communication, and administration competencies.

With two concentrations—Curriculum and Instruction and Educational Leadership, the EdS online program builds on your experience as an educator and allows you to reach your specific goals. Whether you plan to lead in the classroom, develop and direct curriculum, advance as an administrator or supervisor, or pursue your doctorate degree and enter higher education, the EdS program empowers you to excel.

UM-Flint’s online Education Specialist degree program is approved by the Michigan Department of Education. Upon completion, you are eligible for the Michigan School Administrator Certificate with a Central Office (CO) Endorsement.


Why Earn an Education Specialist (EdS) Degree at UM-Flint?

Flexible Online Part-Time Format

Tailored for working teachers and school administrators, the University of Michigan-Flint’s online Education Specialist degree program provides a flexible part-time learning format. The part-time format can accommodate your busy work schedule allowing you to seek career development without being away from the workforce. The majority of the EdS coursework can be completed online with once-a-month classroom instruction sessions.

Field-Based Experience

The online EdS degree program emphasizes field-based learning. As part of the Ed.S program curriculum, the two field-based practicums give you the opportunity to apply knowledge to practice in a K-12 or postsecondary environment. Relevant to your specific area of leadership interest, these experiences and projects connect you to practicing professionals who mentor and support your success.

20-Month Structured Program

The Education Specialist is a well-structured program that provides a clear path to your degree and your goals. You know exactly which classes to take and when to take them. Improving your skills and knowledge in a progressive manner, you’ll be ready to emerge with your advanced degree in hand in 20 months.

Small Cohorts

The UM-Flint’s online EdS degree is a cohort-based program. You can study with a small group of fellow educators who share your passion for educational excellence. This cohort structure enables you to develop a strong support network for personal and professional development. Coursework emphasizes team-based projects that allow networking while improving collaboration and communication skills.

Path to Doctorate

The EdS program provides excellent preparation for students who plan to pursue a doctoral degree, particularly the Doctor of Education at the University of Michigan-Flint.

U-M Resources

As part of the world-renowned University of Michigan community, you have access to the full academic and research resources at the Flint, Dearborn, and Ann Arbor campuses.

Online Education Specialist Program Curriculum

The University of Michigan-Flint’s Education Specialist degree program employs a robust 30-credit curriculum that fosters students’ decision-making, teaching, and learning management skills, as well as their leadership potential. The curriculum blends online coursework with monthly in-person instruction sessions. Students can complete the EdS program in as little as 20 months on a part-time basis.

The online EdS degree program offers two concentration options for students to customize their curriculum depending on their professional aspirations and interests:

  • Curriculum and Instruction
    The Curriculum and Instruction concentration is ideal for teachers who want to advance their skills in curriculum development, design, and implementation. 
  • Educational Leadership
    The Educational Leadership concentration empowers you to pursue high-level administrative roles in education. It arms you with skills in management and leadership.

The program starts with 12 credits of core courses at a pace of 2 courses per semester. After the completion of core courses, students delve into 9 credits of concentration courses focusing on either Curriculum & Instruction or Educational Leadership. In the end, students need to complete a 6-credit field experience as well as a capstone project to demonstrate their synthesis of knowledge and abilities to address emerging challenges in education.

Review the
Educational Specialist program curriculum and required courses.

EdS Degree Career Opportunities

The University of Michigan-Flint’s online Education Specialist degree program prepares you to further your career in K-12 and post-secondary education as a compassionate, responsible, and well-rounded educator.

With an Education Specialist degree, you can pursue many job opportunities and are ready to challenge yourself with executive leadership assignments. You are also empowered to increase teaching effectiveness, foster student success, and improve educational equity and quality in the educational system.

Potential career paths include:

  • K-12 School Principal 
  • Postsecondary Education Administrator
  • Curriculum Director
  • School Superintendent
  • K-12 Teacher

Admission Requirements

Applicants to the online Education Specialist degree program should meet the following requirements:

  • Completion of an MA or MS degree in an education-related field from a regionally accredited institution
  • A minimum overall graduate school grade point average of 3.0 on a 4.0 scale, 6.0 on a 9.0 scale, or equivalent
  • At least three years of work experience in a P-16 educational institution or in an education-related position

To be considered for admission, submit an online application below. Other materials can be emailed to FlintGradOffice@umich.edu or delivered to the Office of Graduate Programs, 251 Thompson Library.

  • Application for Graduate Admission*
  • $55 application fee (non-refundable)
  • Official transcripts (undergraduate and graduate) from colleges and universities that issued your bachelor’s and master’s degrees
  • An essay of at least 1000 words describing your reason for seeking admission to the program. 
  • Résumé or Curriculum Vitae (CV) identifying training, experience, and professional accomplishments
  • Educational Leader Evaluation, which should be completed by a person who has been your supervisor at some point during the last three years
  • Three letters of recommendation, at least one of which is from a professor in a class taken at the graduate level, addressing your potential for success in the program

International students must submit additional documentation. This program is an online program with mandatory on-campus meetings. Admitted students are not eligible to obtain a student visa (F visa). International students cannot complete this program online in their home country.

*Alumni of a UM-Flint graduate program or a Rackham graduate program (any campus) may substitute the Change of Program or Dual Degree Application which requires no application fee.

Note: Admission to the EdS program does not guarantee subsequent admission to the UM-Flint Doctor of Education program.

Application Deadlines

The online Education Specialist program has rolling admissions and reviews completed applications each month. To be considered for admission, submit all application materials to the Office of Graduate Programs on or before the application deadline:

  • Fall (early deadline*): April 1
  • Fall (final deadline): August 1

*You must have a complete application by the early deadline to guarantee application eligibility for scholarships, grants, and research assistantships.

Advising Services for Education Specialist Students

Do you need more guidance on your journey of pursuing an Education Specialist degree? At UM-Flint, we are proud to have many dedicated advisors to help you with your application, career exploration, and designing a plan of study. Book an appointment today.


Advance Your Career in Education with an Online EdS Degree

Apply to the University of Michigan-Flint’s flexible online Education Specialist (EdS) degree program today to cultivate your expertise in educational leadership. Earn the EdS degree in 20 months and elevate your career to the next level.

Have more questions about the program? Request information.