Contact Us

Department of Public Safety
103 Hubbard Building
602 Mill Street
Flint, MI 48503

Emergencies: 911 – Police, Fire, Medical
Non-Emergency: (810) 762-3333
Fax: (810) 237-6511


Continuous Improvement to Service

If you would like to compliment the actions of, or file a complaint against, an employee of the University of Michigan-Flint Department of Public Safety (DPS), there are four ways to do this:

In Person: Come to DPS. Go to the dispatch office and explain your purpose. A DPS Dispatcher will put you in contact with an on-duty Police Supervisor.

Via Telephone: Call (810) 762-3333 and explain your purpose. A DPS Dispatcher will put you in contact with an on-duty Police Supervisor.

Via Traditional Mail: Send your written communication to DPS at 602 Mill Street; 103 Hubbard Building; Flint, MI 48502-1950; Attention: Chief of Police.

Via On-line Form Submission: To file a compliment or complaint use the on-line form submission.

The DPS Complaint Brochure: This brochure is a summary of police department policies and procedures; it is not a complete account of the professional standards investigation, discipline, and appeal process. Complaints can be filed and processed on actions by any employee of DPS.

Request Records

Patricia Sellinger is the chief Freedom of Information officer at the University of Michigan. She may be reached by phone at (734) 763-5082. The office is responsible for handling FOIA requests made to the Flint and Dearborn campuses as well as to the Ann Arbor campus.

  • Written FOIA requests should be sent to the University of Michigan FOIA Office, 2025 Fleming Building, 503 Thompson Street, Ann Arbor, MI 48109-1340.
  • Requests can be faxed to the office at (734) 763-1399. 
  • They can also be e-mailed to: foia-email@umich.edu
  • Please specify with as much detail as possible the records you wish to inspect and/or receive copies of. For example, if applicable please include the time period involved, and the department where the documents may be located, if you know it.
  • Please include your mailing address and daytime phone number, as well as an e-mail address and fax number if applicable.

Department of Public Safety Staff

Bruce Andres
Police Officer
baandres@umich.edu

Twan Ball
Communication Officer
tball@umich.edu

Stacia Bender
Communication Officer
staciab@umich.edu

Heather Bromley
Executive Police Sergeant
mcdonalh@umich.edu

John Bundy
Police Sergeant
bundy@umich.edu

Todd Coles
Police Officer
tcoles@umich.edu

Alcinda Cox
Communication Officer
alcox@umich.edu

Joseph Dent
Security Technology
jodent@umich.edu

Shenita Glover
Security Officer
shenita@umich.edu

Sara Groulx
Communication Officer
sarussel@umich.edu

Raymond Hall
Director
raydhall@umich.edu

Kathy Howe
Business Administrator
khowe@umich.edu

David Hunter
Police Sergeant
huna@umich.edu

Mitchell Lipp
Police Officer
mitchlip@umich.edu

Misti Lopez
Communication Officer
mistil@umich.edu

LaShonda Malloy
Communication Officer
ldmalloy@umich.edu

Antonio Mata
Police Officer
amata@umich.edu

Gary Maurer
Security Officer
gmaurer@umich.edu

Stephen Mayfield
Police Officer
sdmay@umich.edu

Thomas Needham
Police Sergeant
thomneed@umich.edu

Meoachy Proby
Police Sergeant
Flint Urban Safety Corp, Program Director
mproby@umich.edu

Torrey Ruffin
Police Officer
ruftorre@umich.edu

Dane Salisbury
Security Technology
dasalisb@umich.edu

Bruce Sepanak
Police Sergeant
brusep@umich.edu

Mark Smith
Police Officer
mrksmith@umich.edu

Phillip Smith
Police Lieutenant
smithpw@umich.edu

Gaye Stover
Clerk Associate
glstover@umich.edu

Russell Taunt
Security Officer
rtaunt@umich.edu

Eric Thompson
Police Officer
thompser@umich.edu

James Vogt
Security Officer
vogtjame@umich.edu

Mark Walker
Detective
markwal@umich.edu

Terrell Weston
Police Officer
teweston@umich.edu