Resources

UM-Flint Faculty Introduce The Home Place

UM-Flint students, faculty, and staff are invited to view a short video introduction of The Home Place: Memoirs of a Colored Man’s Love Affair with Nature (requires log in).

Additional Resources

J. Drew Lanham

J. Drew Lanham (2013), “9 Rules for the Black Birdwatcher,” Orion Magazine, https://orionmagazine.org/article/9-rules-for-the-black-birdwatcher/ and https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aaPWAE34GJU

J. Drew Lanham (2016), “Birding While Black,” Orion Magazine, https://lithub.com/birding-while-black/

J. Drew Lanham (2018), “Forever Gone,” Orion Magazine, https://orionmagazine.org/article/forever-gone/

J. Drew Lanham (2020) “A Black Birder’s Ramble Through the Thicket of Opinion on Social Movement and Bird Conservation” https://abcbirds.org/blog20/a-black-birders-ramble-through-the-thicket-of-opinion-on-social-movement-and-bird-conservation/

J. Drew Lanham (2020), “9 Rules for the Woke Birdwatcher,” Orion Magazine, https://orionmagazine.org/article/9-rules-for-the-woke-birdwatcher/

J. Drew Lanham (2020)  “Elegy in Three Plagues,” Places Journal, https://placesjournal.org/article/elegy-in-three-plagues-birding-while-black/

Radio Interview with KristaTippett (On Being, 2021),  https://onbeing.org/programs/drew-lanham-i-worship-every-bird-that-i-see/

J. Drew Lanham (2021), “What Do We Do About John James Audubon?” Audubon Magazine, https://www.audubon.org/magazine/spring-2021/what-do-we-do-about-john-james-audubon#

J. Drew Lanham’s home page https://jdlanham.wixsite.com/blackbirder

The UM-Flint library has electronic versions of many of Lanham’s writings:

The Home Place: https://ebookcentral-proquest-com.libproxy.umflint.edu/lib/umichigan/detail.action?docID=4673417

Book chapters:
Forever Gone / The Best American Essays 2019
Red-headed Love Child / When Birds Are Near: Dispatches from Contemporary Writers
Still Birding While Black / Dear America: Letters of Hope, Habitat, Defiance, and Democracy
Hope and Feathers: A crisis in birder identification / The Colors of Nature: Culture, Identity, and the Natural World

Wildlife and conservation organizations

The Aldo Leopold Foundation https://www.aldoleopold.org/

The National Wildlife Federation https://www.nwf.org/ and Michigan Wildlife Federation, Great Lakes https://www.nwf.org/Great-Lakes

The Nature Conservancy https://www.nature.org/en-us/ and https://www.nature.org/en-us/about-us/where-we-work/united-states/michigan/

The National Audubon Society https://www.audubon.org/

Michigan Audubon https://www.michiganaudubon.org/

Cornell Lab of Ornithology https://www.birds.cornell.edu/home/

Bird Note https://www.birdnote.org/