研究与经济发展办公室

研究与经济发展办公室 (ORED) 包括研究办公室和经济发展办公室以推进。 它的使命是通过连接大学资源来提高研究和创造能力,并为密歇根大学弗林特大学社区的前瞻性抱负提供服务, 学院 以及 学生, 的需要 社体的一部分, 行业和商业伙伴.

使命与目标

  • 通过支持教师和学生提供服务和资源来增强创造性努力,推进和促进 UM-Flint 的研究使命 
  • 与社区机构、企业和行业以及私人基金会建立和培养伙伴关系和合作
  • 在 ORED 活动和 UM-Flint 教育计划之间建立联系 
  • 开发基础设施、实践和政策,以促进 UM-Flint 的创新、创业、应用研究和技术转让文化
  • 向公众、州和地区传达 UM-Flint 的总体价值主张,更具体地说是向更大的 Flint


教职员工和两名学生在弗林特河寻找七鳃鳗幼虫样本。

学部

ORED 为教职员工提供影响社区、塑造积极未来以及通过研究促进创新和创造性努力所需的工具和服务。 一些资源包括 赠款发展支持, 外部资助申请审查, 合规服务资助研究管理.


学生在实验室进行研究。

大学生

对于学生,ORED 协助将基于课程的学习与解决真正和实际的研究问题联系起来,并与教师、学生和社区或商业伙伴合作和合作。 在 UM-Flint,我们相信每个学生都拥有参与研究项目和学习新技能和研究方法所需的独特优势。 这就是为什么鼓励本科生参与新兴的研究项目,推动社区的新发现和真正的变革。 这 本科生研究机会计划暑期本科研究经历 提供有偿就业以从事教师指导的研究项目。 学生可以展示他们的研究进展 学生研究会议, 头脑会议本科生会议,或其他本科生研究会议。


市中心和校园的 Ariel 视图。

群体

ORED 是 UM-Flint 教师和学生与社区组织、附近大学和商业伙伴建立合作伙伴关系的桥梁。 这些合作投资于学生培训、职业发展以及教师课程和研究专长领域。 通过将 UM-Flint 教师和学生的共同优势与 ORED 的社区合作伙伴相结合,UM-Flint 与科学和创意知识的新进步保持同步。

要了解有关 2020 年 UM-Flint Faculty 与社区的研究项目的更多信息,请查看我们的 2020 年教师研究聚焦。


业务 – 行业合作

研究和经济发展办公室还提供与行业和企业合作伙伴的各种合作机会。 这些互惠互利的伙伴关系旨在推进两个组织的使命。 这 商务交流中心的 (BEC) 团队是大学的前门。 BEC 协助行业合作伙伴发展大学联系/专业知识。 此外,商业参与中心与教职员工合作,与行业建立联系,以获得研究机会和资金。 对于小企业主来说, 创新孵化器 [IN] 让企业家参与社区并为他们提供成功所需的工具。


学生在实验室进行研究。

研究项目

研究创新对于留住密歇根中部的人才至关重要,而 UM-Flint 校园的规模及其学生人数非常适合跨学科团队建设。 要了解有关过去、当前和即将到来的研究项目、赠款和会议的更多信息,请查看我们的 最近的研究交流 以及 在推特上关注我们.


在密歇根州弗林特市中心的摩天轮上工作的学生。

经济发展

研究和经济发展办公室还提供经济发展计划,包括创新和创业支持、网络安全培训和商业参与。 要了解更多信息,请访问 经济发展办公室.

office of research & economic development

The Office of Research & Economic Development (ORED) comprises the Office of Research and the Office of Economic Development to advance. Its mission is to grow research and creative capacity and serve the forward-thinking ambitions of theUniversity of Michigan-Flint’s community by connecting university resources, faculty and students, to the needs of community, industry, and business partners.

Mission & Objectives

  • Advance and promote the research mission of UM-Flint by supporting faculty and students with services and resources to enhance creative endeavors 
  • Establish and nurture partnerships and collaborations with community agencies, businesses and industry, and private foundations
  • Develop linkages between ORED activities and UM-Flint educational programs 
  • Develop infrastructure, practices and policy to promote innovation, entrepreneurship, applied research, and tech-transfer culture at UM-Flint
  • Communicate to the general public, to the state and region the value proposition of UM-Flint in general, and more specifically to greater Flint


Faculty and two students looking for lamprey larvae samples in Flint River.

FACULTY

ORED offers faculty members tools and services needed to impact the community, shape a positive future and grow innovation and creative endeavor through research. Some resources include grant development support, external funding application review, compliance services, and funded research management.


Student conducting research in a lab.

STUDENTS

For students, ORED assists in connecting course-based learning to solving genuine and practical research problems and to collaborate and partner with faculty, students and community or business partners. At UM-Flint, we believe that every student possesses the unique strengths necessary to participate in research projects and learn new skills and research methods. That’s why undergraduate students are encouraged to get involved in emerging research projects that drive new discovery and genuine change in the community. The Undergraduate Research Opportunity Program and the Summer Undergraduate Research Experience provide paid employment to engage in faculty mentored research projects. Students can present the progress of their research at the Student Research Conference, Meeting of Minds Undergraduate Conference, or other Undergraduate Research conferences.


Ariel view of downtown and campus.

COMMUNITY

ORED is a bridge for UM-Flint faculty and students to develop partnerships with community organizations, nearby universities and business partners. These collaborations invest in student training, career development and areas of faculty curricular and research expertise. By combining the shared strengths of UM-Flint faculty and students with community partners at ORED, UM-Flint keeps pace with new advances in scientific and creative knowledge.

To learn more about UM-Flint Faculty’s research projects with the community in 2020, check out our 2020 Faculty Research Spotlight.


BUSINESSES – Industry Partnerships

The Office of Research and Economic Development also offers a variety of collaborative opportunities with industry and corporate partners. These mutually beneficial partnerships are created to advance the missions of both organizations. The Business Engagement Center’s (BEC) team serves as the front door to the University. The BEC assists industry partners in developing University connections/expertise. In addition, the Business Engagement Center works with faculty and staff to make connections to industry for research opportunities and funding. For small business owners, the Innovation Incubator [IN] engages entrepreneurs in the community and provides them with tools they need to be successful.


Student conducting research in a lab.

RESEARCH PROJECTS

Research innovation is essential to retaining talent in mid-Michigan, and the scale of UM-Flint’s campus and its student population is ideal for interdisciplinary team building. To learn more about past, current, and upcoming research projects, grants, and meetings, view our recent research communications and follow us on Twitter.


Students working in the Ferris Wheel in downtown Flint, MI.

ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT

The Office of Research and Economic Development also offers economic development programs, which include innovation and entrepreneurship support, cybersecurity training, and business engagement. To learn more, visit the Office of Economic Development.