图片来源:密歇根摄影/埃里克布朗森

CHS有心

HEART 代表健康公平、行动、研究和教学,是一个由学生和教师共同运营的公益性合作健康诊所,位于密歇根大学弗林特分校健康科学学院。 

我们的使命是改善弗林特和杰纳西县未参保和参保不足人群的健康和医疗保健服务。 HEART 成立于 2010 年,不仅影响患者的健康结果,还为来自多个项目的 UM-Flint 学生提供有意义的实践学习体验。在 HEART 服务的学生拥抱跨专业协作实践并致力于解决健康不平等问题。

在社交媒体上关注 HEART

弗林特社区的免费健康服务

学生和教师每周三在校园内和在学校提供 HEART 服务 Insight 神经外科与神经科学研究所 (IINN) 在周五。 免费服务包括个性化物理治疗和职业治疗就诊,以及三种不同的 MoveMore 运动课程,旨在帮助患有神经系统疾病(包括慢性中风、不完全脊髓损伤、脑损伤和帕金森病)的人改善他们的功能。

作为 HEART 的一部分,学生还在其他社区环境中担任志愿者。物理治疗学生在社区中心提供老年秋季筛查,并为高中运动员提供体检。医师助理学生还在课外项目中指导青少年。

每周三在 UM-Flint 校园的 William S. White 大楼举行

  • MoveMore 治疗帕金森病  – 上午 10 点至 11 点的运动课程由物理治疗和护理学生开设,旨在帮助帕金森病患者通过运动改善功能。

每周五在 Insight 神经外科与神经科学研究所 (IINN) 

  • MoveMore 步行 – 该课程从上午 11 点到下午 1 点由物理治疗和护理专业的学生授课。 它包括高强度步行,对患有慢性中风、脊髓损伤和脑损伤的人有帮助。
  • MoveMore 锻炼上肢 – 中午至下午 1 点的课程由职业治疗学生和教师主持。它的重点是旨在帮助慢性中风患者改善手臂功能的练习。
  • 物理治疗 (PT) – 每周五为行动不便的任何人提供 PT 访问。 由于肌肉或骨骼、大脑或脊髓、心脏和肺部或皮肤出现问题,人们会出现移动问题。 学生将完成初步评估并为您制定个性化的治疗计划。
  • 职业治疗 (OT) – 周五,OT 学生可以与被诊断患有中风、帕金森病、脑损伤、脊髓损伤等的患者一起工作。 OT 帮助受到伤害或健康状况影响的人恢复日常生活技能的独立性。日常生活技能可以包括您需要或想做的任何活动,例如穿衣服和/或准备饭菜。

请求服务

我取得的进步令人难以置信。 我感到非常支持。 他们说,'我们有你',我真的感觉到了。 “我的丈夫过去常常推着我进入设施,现在我走进去。我继续取得进步,我的目标是有一天不用拐杖走进去。 这对我来说是一个真正的祝福。”


金伯利·卢卡斯(Kimberly Lucas)
弗林特居民

弗林特居民金伯利卢卡斯在 UM-Flint 的 HEART 接受物理治疗。

免费健身课程

点击图片下载传单


心脏时间表

如需推荐,请致电 734-417-8963 或发送电子邮件 [电子邮件保护].
对于一般问题/询问,请致电健康科学学院院长办公室: 810-237-6645.

你有心吗?

HEART 目前正在寻找学生和临床医生在 Sylvester Broome Empowerment Village 自愿提供时间和服务。 志愿者将在改善弗林特和杰纳西县居民的健康和医疗保健服务方面发挥重要作用。

  • 临床医生可以通过填写我们的表格来表达他们对志愿者的兴趣 临床医生志愿者表格 会有人与您联系,进一步讨论您的兴趣
  • 学生可以通过填写我们的志愿服务来表达他们对志愿服务的兴趣 学生志愿者表格 会有人与您联系,进一步讨论您的兴趣

爱心赞助商

团队康复物理治疗徽标
PT 解决方案 | 物理治疗标志

Photo Credit: Michigan Photography/Eric Bronson

CHS has HEART

HEART stands for Health Equity, Action, Research and Teaching and is a student and faculty-run collaborative pro-bono health clinic based in the College of Health Sciences at UM-Flint. 

Our mission is to improve health and health care access for the uninsured and underinsured in Flint and Genesee County. Founded in 2010, HEART is both impacting health outcomes for patients, and providing meaningful, hands-on learning experiences for UM-Flint students from multiple programs. Students who serve in HEART embrace interprofessional collaborative practice and a commitment to addressing health inequities.

Follow HEART on Social

Free Health Services for the Flint Community

Students and faculty offer HEART services on campus on Wednesdays and at the Sylvester Broome Empowerment Village on Fridays. Free services include personalized physical therapy and occupational therapy visits, and three different MoveMore exercise classes designed to help people with neurologic conditions, including chronic stroke, incomplete spinal cord injury, brain injury, and Parkinson’s disease, improve their function.

As a part of HEART, students also volunteer in other community settings. Physical therapy students provide geriatric fall screenings at community centers and physicals for high school athletes. Physician assistant students also mentor youth in an after school program.

Wednesdays in the William S. White Building on UM-Flint’s campus

  • MoveMore for Parkinson’s disease  – This exercise class from 10 to 11 a.m. is run by physical therapy and nursing students and is designed to help people with Parkinson’s improve their function through movement.

Fridays at the Sylvester Broome Empowerment Village

  • MoveMore for Walking – This class from 11 a.m. to 1 p.m. is run by physical therapy and nursing students. It incorporates walking at a high intensity and is helpful for people with chronic stroke, spinal cord injury and brain injury.
  • MoveMore for Upper Extremities – This class from noon to 1 p.m. is facilitated  by occupational therapy students and faculty. It focuses on exercises designed to help people with chronic stroke improve their arm function.
  • Physical Therapy (PT) – PT visits are available on Fridays for anyone with problems moving. People develop issues with moving because of issues with their muscles or bones, brain or spinal cord, heart and lungs, or skin. Students will complete an initial evaluation and develop an individualized treatment plan for you.
  • Occupational Therapy (OT) – OT students are available on Fridays to work with people diagnosed with a stroke, Parkinson’s disease, brain injury, spinal cord injury, and more. OT helps people regain independence in daily living skills that have been affected by an injury or medical condition. Daily living skills can include any activity you need or want to do, such as getting dressed and/or preparing meals.
Request Services

For referrals, call 734-417-8963 or email [email protected].
For general questions/inquiries, call the College of Health Sciences Dean’s Office at 810-237-6645.

The progress I have made is unbelievable. I feel very supported. They say, ‘we’ve got you’ and I really feel that. “My husband used to wheel me into the facility and now I walk in. I continue to make progress and my goal is to walk in one day without my cane. It has been a true blessing to me.”


Kimberly Lucas
Flint Resident

Kimberly Lucas, Flint resident, receiving physical therapy sessions at UM-Flint's HEART.

Do you have HEART?

HEART is currently seeking students and clinicians to volunteer their time and services at the Sylvester Broome Empowerment Village. Volunteers will be integral in improving health and healthcare access for Flint and Genesee County residents.

  • Clinicians can express their interest to volunteer by filling out our Clinician Volunteer Form and someone will contact you to discuss your interest further
  • Students can express their interest in volunteering by filling out our Student Volunteer Form and someone will contact you to discuss your interest further

HEART Sponsors

Team Rehabilitation Physical Therapy Logo
PT Solutions | Physical Therapy logo