Contact Information and Leadership of the Faculty Mentoring Program

Provost and Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs, the Faculty Mentoring Program is organized by a coalition of faculty and representatives from the Thompson Center for Learning and Teaching (TCLT), the Office of Research, and the Women’s Educational Center.
In 2012 - 2013, the organizing committee members are:
Sandy Alberto Coordinator, Thompson Center
for Learning & Teaching
salberto@umflint.edu

Jie Song, Ph.D
Faculty Coordinator

Associate Professor
Chemistry and Biochemistry
College of Arts & Sciences

jiesong@umflint.edu

Alicia Kent, Ph.D.
 

Associate Professor of English
College of Arts & Sciences

aakent@umflint.edu

Clement Chen, Ph.D. Professor of Accounting
School of Management

clementc@umflint.edu

Hiba WehbeAlamah, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Nursing
School of Health Professions & Studies

hiba@umflint.edu

Terry Van Allen, Ph.D. Director, Office of Research terryva@umflint.edu
Chris Waters

Associate Provost and Dean
Undergraduate Studies
Professor of Art

cwaters@umflint.edu

Mary Jo Finney, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Education
School of Education & Human Services

mjfinney@umflint.edu

Rushika Patel, Ph.D.

Director, Women’s Educational Center

rushika@umflint.edu

Tracy Wacker

Director
Thompson Center for Learning & Teaching
Lecturer Emeritus of Biology

twacker@umflint.edu

 

A tenured UM-Flint faculty member serves as Faculty Coordinator for the program. The Faculty Coordinator is appointed by the Provost and serves in a part-time capacity for a three-year term (which may be renewed at the discretion of the Provost).  A Mentoring Program Work Group provides assistance to the Faculty Coordinator and helps organize and run the Program.  The Work Group is composed of the following members:

  • Director of the Thompson Center for Learning and Teaching (or director’s appointee)
  • Director of the Office of Research (or director’s appointee)
  • Director of the Women’s Educational Center (or director’s appointee)
  • Faculty Coordinator of the Faculty Mentoring Program
  • At least one faculty representative from each unit (to be appointed by the Dean of each unit)