Department of Natural Sciences

Department of Natural Sciences
196 Murchie Science Building
303 E. Kearsley Street
Flint, MI 48502-1950
Phone: (810) 766-6733


Department Chairs

Matthew Fhaner, PhD
Chair & Associate Professor of Chemistry & Biochemistry
(810) 766-6733
fhaner@umich.edu


Biology Faculty

Ken Cabine, MS
Lecturer
(810) 766-6733
kcabine@umich.edu

You-Shin Chen, PhD
Assistant Professor
(810) 766-6733
youshin@umich.edu
Research: Investigation of molecular mechanisms by which cancer cells proliferate and invade, and design therapeutic strategies to induce apoptosis in the malignant cells, STEM education in the area of biotechnology.

Russell Cossaboom, MS, MPA
Lecturer
(810) 766-6733
rcossabo@umich.edu
Research Interests: Biodegradation of compounds by fungi and bacteria.

Heather Dawson, PhD
Associate Professor
(810) 766-6733
hdawson@umich.edu
Research: Invasive species ecology and management, aquatic ecology, fisheries management, simulation modeling.

Randall Duncan, PhD
Professor of Biology
(810) 766-6733
duncanra@umich.edu
Research: Understand how musculoskeletal cells and tissues perceive mechanical signals and how these signals are converted into biochemical responses within the cell to promote anabolic or catabolic function.

Dwayne Etter, PhD
Lecturer 
(810) 766-6733
dretter@umich.edu
Research: Mammalian ecology, wildlife policy and management, animal behavior, and population ecology.

Dania Habeck
Lecturer  
(810) 766-6733
dhabeck@umich.edu

Danielle Harbin, MS
Lecturer  
(810) 766-6733
DDHarbin@umich.edu

Karmen Hollis-Etter, PhD
Associate Professor
(810) 766-6733
kahollis@umich.edu
Research Interests: Wildlife epidemiology especially zoonotic diseases, urban wildlife, terrestrial mammal ecology, animal behavior, disease ecology, spatial/temporal analysis.

Cindy Holzer
Lecturer 
(810) 766-6733
cholzer@umich.edu

Kerry Lazenby, PhD
Lecturer
(810) 766-6733
lazenby@umich.edu

Elizabeth (Liz) Malinowski, MS
Lecturer 
(810) 766-6733
eamal@umich.edu
Research Interests: Hibernation physiology, biogeography.

Earl Mayhew, PT
Lecturer
(810) 766-6733
emayhew@umich.edu

Jennifer Miller, MS
Lecturer
((810) 766-6733
jennmil@umich.edu

Jon Morey, DC
Lecturer
(810) 766-6733
jmorey@umich.edu

Jerry Sanders, PhD
Associate Professor 
(810) 766-6733
dsander@umich.edu
Research Interests: Microbial pathogenesis and molecular genetics of Haemophilis somnus with specific interest in vaccine development.

Jill Slater, PhD
Lecturer 
(810) 766-6733
jislater@umich.edu

Melvin Smith, PhD
Lecturer
(810) 766-6733
melvinsm@umich.edu

Ronald Stamper, PhD
Intermittent Lecturer 
(810) 766-6733
rostampe@umich.edu

Melissa Starking, MS
Lecturer 
(810) 766-6733
starking@umich.edu

Joe Sucic, PhD
Professor 
(810) 766-6733
jsucic@umich.edu
Research Interests: Structure, function, and trafficking of secretory system endoproteases; role of endoproteases in metastasis.

Kevin Tang, PhD
Associate Professor
(810) 766-6733
kltang@umich.edu

Rebecca Tonietto, PhD
Assistant Professor 
(810) 766-6733
tonietto@umich.edu
Research interests: Native bees, pollinator conservation, community ecology, restoration ecology, urban ecology, plant-pollinator interactions.

Dennis Viele, MS
Lecturer & Director/Advisor of Bachelor of Applied Science Program
(810) 766-6733
dviele@umich.edu
Research Interests: Physiological ecology of bats and rodents, non-invasive age determination in deer.  Recently started nutritional studies of Michigan Ruffed Grouse and lead concentration in the American Woodcock.  Also is interested and published articles on the bats of Papua New Guinea.

Margaret (Peg) Ware, MS, MT (ASCP)
Lecturer
(810) 766-6733
pware@umich.edu

Jill Witt, PhD
Associate Professor
(810) 766-6733
wittjill@umich.edu
Research Interests: Forest ecology, forest-wildlife interactions, landscape and ecosystem ecology, plant phenology, small carnivore population and ecology.

Nicole Yambrick, MS, LVT
Lecturer 
(810) 766-6733
nicross@umich.edu

Teresa Yoder-Nowak, MS
Lecturer 
(810) 766-6733
teresay@umich.edu
Research: Natural history and ecology of amphibians, reptiles and birds (with particular emphasis on population dynamics, species interactions and habitat use of terrestrial salamanders and lizards in Michigan).

Biology Staff

Aaron Bagwell
Academic Advisor
(810) 762-3124
abagwell@umich.edu
Click to make an appointment

Kerigan Condron
Laboratory Services Technician
(810) 762-3210
keriganc@umich.edu

Megan Presland, MA
Academic Advisor    
(810) 762-3020
meganrv@umich.edu
Click to make an appointment


Chemistry & Biochemistry Faculty

Matthew Fhaner, PhD
Chair & Associate Professor of Chemistry & Biochemistry
(810) 766-6733
fhaner@umich.edu

Jessica Kelts, PhD
Associate Professor
(810) 766-6733
jkelts@umich.edu

Douglas Herzog, MS
Lecturer
(810) 424-5363
doherzog@umich.edu

Darya Howell
Lecturer
daryah@umich.edu

Marina Ionina-Prasov, MS
Lecturer
(810) 766-6733
ion@umich.edu

Nicholas Kingsley, PhD
Associate Professor
(810) 766-6733
kingsley@umich.edu

Justin Massing, PhD
Assistant Professor
(810) 766-6733
justmass@umich.edu

Zahra Nossoni, PhD
Lecturer
(810) 766-6733
nossoniz@umich.edu

Jie Song, PhD
Professor 
(810) 766-6733
jiesong@umich.edu

Jessica Tischler, PhD
Associate Professor
(810) 766-6733
jtisch@umich.edu

Steven Toth, PhD
Lecturer
(810) 424-5355
srtoth@umich.edu

Tayseer Wasif, PhD
Lecturer
(810) 766-6733
twasif@umich.edu

Besa Xhabija, PhD
Assistant Professor
(810) 766-6733
xhabija@umich.edu


Physics Faculty

James Alsup, PhD
Associate Professor of Physics
(810) 766-6733
jalsup@umich.edu
Research: Black holes as condensed tools, Orbital Mechanics

Biplob Barman, PhD
Assistant Professor 
(810) 766-6733
bbarman@umich.edu
Research: Optical spectroscopy of semiconductor nanostructures at low temperatures and high magnetic fields 

Katherine Eaton, PhD
Assistant Professor
(810) 766-6733
eatonk@umich.edu

Rajib Ganguly, PhD
Associate Professor
(810) 766-6733
ganguly@umich.edu
Research: Supermassive Black Hole growth, Active Galaxies, Quasar Absorption Lines, Quasar Outflows

Alan Grafe, PhD
Lecturer
(810) 766-6733
grafe@umich.edu

Stephanie Hart, MS
Lecturer
(810) 766-6733
stlhart@umich.edu

Chris Pearson, PhD
Professor
(810) 766-6733
pear@umich.edu

Michele Stark, PhD
Lecturer
(810) 766-6733
mistark@umich.edu

Larry Tarini, PhD
Lecturer
(810) 766-6733
ltarini@umich.edu
Research: Relativistic heavy ion collisions, quark-gluon plasma, two-particle correlations 

Mojtaba Vaziri, PhD
David M. French Professor
(810) 766-6733
mvaziri@umich.edu
Research: Engineering and solid-state physics in the production and characterization of nanowires

Physics Staff

Jeff Dobbs
Undergraduate Academic Advisor
(810) 766-6676
jdobbs@umich.edu
Click here to make an appointment


Administrative Staff

Carly Byrne
Administrative Assistant – Communication & Academic Support
(810) 237-6592
byrnecar@umich.edu

Pat Slackta
Administrative Assistant, Personnel & Course Scheduling
(810) 762-0737
pslackta@umich.edu