Department of fine & Performing arts

Department of Fine & Performing Arts
260 David M. French Hall
303 E. Kearsley Street
Flint, MI 48502-1950
Phone: (810) 766-6723


Department Chair

Nicole Broughton-Adams, MFA
Chair of Fine & Performing Arts Department, Lecturer, Stage Management Advisor & Director of Arts Administration Graduate Program
(810) 237-3315
broughn@umich.edu


Art Faculty

Amy Davis
Lecturer 
(810) 766-0733
davisamy@umich.edu

Andy Deck, MFA
Assistant Professor of Art
andydeck@umich.edu 

Alla Dubrovich, MFA
Lecturer 
dubrovic@umich.edu

Benjamin Gaydos, MFA
Associate Professor of Design
(810) 762-0733
gaydos@umich.edu

Christian Gerstheimer, MFA, MA
Lecturer
gersthei@umich.edu

Autumn Heddy-Reed, MEd, ATR-BC
Lecturer 
aheddy@umich.edu

Gerry Hess, PhD
Lecturer
gerhess@umich.edu

Linda Johnson, PhD
Lecturer 
linjohdr@umich.edu

Matthew Osmon, MA
Lecturer
mosmon@umich.edu

Michael Sevick, MFA
Associate Professor of Art
(810) 766-6875
satch@umich.edu

Amanda Sikarskie
Lecturer 
asikarskie@umich.edu

Holly Stevens, MA, MLIS
Lecturer
hosteven@umich.edu

Cristen Velliky, MFA
Associate Professor 
(810) 762-3032
cvelliky@umich.edu

Rebecca Zeiss, MFA
Lecturer
rzeiss@umich.edu

Art Staff

Patricia McDonald, MFA
Lab Technician
(810) 762-3113
pmmcdona@umich.edu


Music Faculty

Lois Alexander
Professor of Music
(810) 762-3040
chumov@umich.edu

Douglas Burtch
Lecturer
(810) 424-5315
durtch@umich.edu

Francesco Cavallini
Lecturer
cavalle@umich.edu

Carol Chaney
Lecturer & Media Technology Consultant
(810) 762-3037
chaney@umich.edu

James Coviak
Lecturer
coviak@umich.edu

Brittany DeYoung
Lecturer
brithart@umich.edu

Brian DiBlassio
Associate Professor of Music
(810) 762-0784
briandb@umich.edu

Joseph Dobos
Lecturer
jmdobos@umich.edu

Amy Hall
Lecturer
asvhall@umich.edu

Gabriela Hristova
Associate Professor of Music
ghristov@umich.edu

John Kennedy
Lecturer
johncke@umich.edu

Sherri Marttila
Lecturer
smartti@umich.edu

Whitney Mayo
Lecturer
wmmayo@umich.edu

Frank Pitts
Lecturer
fepitts@umich.edu

Jeffrey Price
Lecturer
pricejef@umich.edu

Daniel Schmit
Lecturer
dschmit@umich.edu

James Schuster
Lecturer
jaschu@umich.edu

Ray Ureña
Lecturer
rayurena@umich.edu

Colton Wansitler
Lecturer
coltons@umich.edu

Chris Wheeler
Lecturer
cnwheel@umich.edu

Hannah Wikaryasz
Lecturer
hwikarya@umich.edu

Joseph Wright
Lecturer
jnwright@umich.edu


Theatre & Dance Faculty

Lisa Borton, MFA
Managing Producer, Lecturer & Resident Scenic Designer
bortonli@umich.edu

Emma Davis
Lecturer & Dance Instructor
emmada@umich.edu

Stephanie Dean, MFA
Associate Professor of Theatre
(810) 237-6546
scdean@umich.edu

Beth Freiman, MFA
Director of Dance & Lecturer
bwielins@umich.edu

Janet Haley, MFA
Associate Professor of Theatre
jehaley@umich.edu

William Irwin, MFA
Associate Professor of Theatre
wirwin@umich.edu

Kendrick Jones, MLS
Lecturer
kendricj@umich.edu

Doug Mueller, MFA
Technical Director & Resident Lighting Designer & Lecturer
dmueller@umich.edu

Shelby Newport
Associate Professor of Theatre
(810) 762-0886
snewport@umich.edu

Theatre & Dance Staff

Janae Lafleur
Costume Shop Supervisor
jlafleu@umich.edu

Dave Thompson
Scene Shop Manager
djft@umich.edu


Administrative Staff

Audrey Beauchesne
Administrative Assistant – Communication & Academic Support
abeauche@umich.edu

Suzanne Shivnen
Administrative Assistant, Personnel & Course Scheduling
sshivnen@umich.edu

Karri Spoelstra
Administrative Assistant, Financials
kleonard@umich.edu