Department of fine & Performing arts

French Hall

Department of Fine & Performing Arts

260 David M. French Hall
303 E. Kearsley Street
Flint, MI 48502-1950
Phone: (810) 766-6723


Fine & Performing Arts Faculty & Staff


Department Chair

Nicole Broughton-Adams, MFA
Chair of Fine & Performing Arts Department, Lecturer IV, Stage Management Advisor & Director of Arts Administration Graduate Program
(810) 237-3315
broughn@umich.edu


Art Faculty

Amy Davis
Lecturer I
(810) 766-0733
davisamy@umich.edu

Andy Deck, MFA
Assistant Professor of Art
andydeck@umich.edu 

Alla Dubrovich, MFA
Lecturer II
dubrovic@umich.edu

Benjamin Gaydos, MFA
Associate Professor of Design
(810) 762-0733
gaydos@umich.edu

Christian Gerstheimer, MFA, MA
Lecturer I
gersthei@umich.edu

Autumn Heddy-Reed, LLMSW, MSW, MEd, ATR-BC
Lecturer I
aheddy@umich.edu

Gerry Hess, PhD
Lecturer II
gerhess@umich.edu

Linda Johnson, PhD
Lecturer I
linjohdr@umich.edu

Matthew Osmon, MA
Lecturer I
mosmon@umich.edu

Michael Sevick, MFA
Associate Professor of Art
(810) 766-6875
satch@umich.edu

Amanda Sikarskie
Lecturer I
asikarskie@umich.edu

Holly Stevens, MA, MLIS
Lecturer II
hosteven@umich.edu

Cristen Velliky, MFA
Associate Professor 
(810) 762-3032
cvelliky@umich.edu

Rebecca Zeiss, MFA
Lecturer III
rzeiss@umich.edu


Art Staff

Patricia McDonald, MFA
Lab Technician
(810) 762-3113
pmmcdona@umich.edu


Music Faculty

Lois Alexander
Professor of Music
(810) 762-3040
chumov@umich.edu

Douglas Burtch
Lecturer I
(810) 424-5315
dburtch@umich.edu

Francesco Cavallini
Lecturer II
cavalle@umich.edu

Carol Chaney
Lecturer Adjunct
(810) 762-3037
chaney@umich.edu

James Coviak
Lecturer II
coviak@umich.edu

Brittany DeYoung
Lecturer I
brithart@umich.edu

Brian DiBlassio
Associate Professor of Music
(810) 762-0784
briandb@umich.edu

Joseph Dobos
Lecturer I
jmdobos@umich.edu

Amy Hall
Lecturer I
asvhall@umich.edu

Gabriela Hristova
Associate Professor of Musi
ghristov@umich.edu

John Kennedy
Lecturer I
johncke@umich.edu

Sherri Marttila
Lecturer I
smartti@umich.edu

Whitney Mayo
Lecturer I
wmmayo@umich.edu

Frank Pitts
Lecturer II
fepitts@umich.edu

Jeffrey Price
Lecturer II
pricejef@umich.edu

Daniel Schmit
Lecturer I
dschmit@umich.edu

James Schuster
Lecturer II
jaschu@umich.edu

Ray Ureña
Lecturer I
rayurena@umich.edu

Colton Wansitler, PhD
Lecturer I
coltons@umich.edu

Chris Wheeler
Lecturer I
cnwheel@umich.edu

Hannah Wikaryasz
Lecturer I
hwikarya@umich.edu

Joseph Wright
Lecturer II
jnwright@umich.edu


Theatre & Dance Faculty

Lisa Borton, MFA
Lecturer IV & Resident Scenic Designer
bortonli@umich.edu

Emma Davis
Lecturer II & Dance Instructor
emmada@umich.edu

Stephanie Dean, MFA
Associate Professor of Theatre
(810) 237-6546
scdean@umich.edu

Beth Freiman, MFA
Director of Dance & Lecturer IV
bwielins@umich.edu

Janet Haley, MFA
Associate Professor of Theatre
jehaley@umich.edu

William Irwin, MFA
Associate Professor of Theatre
wirwin@umich.edu

Kendrick Jones, MLS
Lecturer II
kendricj@umich.edu

Doug Mueller, MFA
Technical Director & Resident Lighting Designer & Lecturer
dmueller@umich.edu

Shelby Newport
Professor of Theatre
(810) 762-0886
snewport@umich.edu


Theatre & Dance Staff

Janae Lafleur
Costume Shop Supervisor
jlafleu@umich.edu

Dave Thompson
Scene Shop Manager
djft@umich.edu


Administrative Staff

Audrey Beauchesne
Administrative Assistant – Communication & Academic Support
abeauche@umich.edu

Suzanne Shivnen
Administrative Assistant, Personnel & Course Scheduling
sshivnen@umich.edu

Karri Spoelstra
Administrative Assistant, Financials
kleonard@umich.edu