65年的卓越

在 1837 年给东部家庭的一封信中,安娜堡居民莎拉 C. 迈尔斯凯斯写道:“密歇根大学安娜堡分校的一个分校将在未来的某一天在弗林特成立。”

那一天是 23 年 1956 月 120 日,距莎拉首次记录提及密歇根大学弗林特分校将近 167 年。 那个秋天的早晨,XNUMX 名学生在弗林特高级学院(位于今天的莫特社区学院)开始了他们的第一天,院长大卫·弗伦奇 (David French) 是校园的第一任领导。 

由于查尔斯·斯图尔特·莫特 (Charles Stewart Mott)、乔治·罗姆尼 (George Romney) 州长和弗林特 (Flint) 和安娜堡 (Ann Arbor) 其他领导人等社区和州领导人的远见卓识、慷慨解囊和领导力,学校根据所建立社区的需求不断发展和适应服务。

1970 年,北中央学院和学校协会认可了当时称为弗林特学院的学院。 1971 年,密歇根大学董事会正式更名为密歇根大学弗林特分校。 同年,密歇根大学校长罗本·弗莱明任命了密歇根大学弗林特分校的第一任校长威廉·E·莫兰。

在 1970 年代后期,该大学开始迁往弗林特市中心的房产,建造了一个河滨校区,其中包括教室办公大楼(对 UM-Flint 校友亲切地称为 CROB)、哈丁莫特大学中心和娱乐中心。 随着学生人数的增加,默奇科学大楼于 1988 年和 2021 年开放 新翼 为开设的扩展 STEM 课程。 1994 年,恩人弗朗西斯·威尔森·汤普森 (Frances Willson Thompson) 的礼物促成了引人注目的汤普森图书馆的建成。 2001 年,密歇根大学弗林特分校首次向北扩张,开设了设有健康教室和实验室的威廉 S. 怀特大楼。 今天,这座现代而迷人的校园占地超过 70 英亩,沿着弗林特河。 

作为社区合作伙伴,随着时间的推移,大学收购了整个市中心的现有建筑,并将它们变成了校园的可行部分。 这些空间包括大学馆(左图)、北岸中心、滨河中心,以及最近的前公民银行大楼。 

2006 年,UM-Flint 庆祝了卓越 50 周年。 2008 年,当 300 名学生搬入第一街宿舍时,该大学最终成为一个住宿校园,并在 2015 年增加了第二个宿舍,同时增加了滨河宿舍。 该建筑也是新装修的滨河会议中心的所在地是杰纳西县最大的会议场地,每年接待成千上万的游客。

今天,超过 6,400 名学生就读于 UM-Flint。 六个主要学术单位,包括艺术与科学学院、管理学院、健康科学学院、教育与人类服务学院、护理学院和新的创新与技术学院,提供引人注目的、 - 需要为学生的未来做好准备的课程。

教授们将他们的专业知识和创造力投入到研究和服务学习项目的开发中,这些项目将课程与世界上最紧迫的问题相匹配。 这些项目将学习带入生活,满足社区需求,并满足学生为共同利益做出贡献的愿望。 这种对服务的奉献精神为 UM-Flint 赢得了许多赞誉。 2010 年和 2019 年,UM-Flint 再次获得了享有盛誉的 卡内基公民参与分类. 然后在 2012 年,UM-Flint 被选为“年度参与校园奖”由密歇根校园契约提出。

2021 年,UM-Flint 迎来了 65 周年纪念,庆祝其作为世界知名的密歇根大学仅有的三个校区之一的地位。 今天,随着新的本科和研究生学位课程的学术发展,校园继续经历转型,扩大与当地和区域实体和行业的合作伙伴关系,并通过提供负担得起的、可访问的教育,继续致力于多元化、公平和包容的理想可能到社区。

History

64 Years of Excellence

In a 1837 letter to family back east, Ann Arbor resident Sarah C. Miles Case wrote, “A branch of the Michigan University at Ann Arbor is to be established in Flint at some future day.”

That day turned out to be September 23rd 1956, nearly 120 years after Sarah penned the first recorded mention of a University of Michigan-Flint campus. On that autumn morning, 167 students began their first day at Flint Senior College (located where Mott Community College is today) with Dean David French as the first leader of the campus. 

Owing to the vision, generosity, and leadership of community and state leaders such as Charles Stewart Mott, Governor George Romney and other leaders in Flint and Ann Arbor, the school continued to evolve and adapt in accordance with the needs of the community it was established to serve.

In 1970, the North Central Association of Colleges and Schools accredited what was then called Flint College. In 1971, the U-M Board of Regents officially changed the name of the institution to the University of Michigan-Flint. That same year, University of Michigan President Robben Fleming appointed the first Chancellor of the University of Michigan-Flint, William E. Moran.

In the late 1970s, the university began moving to property in the heart of downtown Flint, building a riverfront campus with a small collection of buildings including the Classroom Office Building, (affectionately known as CROB to UM-Flint Alumni), the Harding Mott University Center, and the Recreation Center. As student enrollment grew, the Murchie Science Building opened in 1988, and in 2021 a new wing for expanded STEM courses will open. A gift from benefactor Frances Willson Thompson led to the building of the striking Thompson Library in 1994. In 2001, UM-Flint expanded north for the first time with the opening of the William S. White Building which houses health classrooms and labs.  Today, the modern and inviting campus spans over 70 acres along the Flint River. 

As a community partner, over time the university has acquired existing buildings throughout the downtown and turned them into viable parts of the campus. These spaces include University Pavilion, the Northbank Center, The Riverfront Center, and most recently the former Citizens Bank Building which will open as an office and classroom space in a few years. 

In 2006, UM-Flint celebrated 50 Years of Excellence. The university finally became a residential campus in 2008 when 300 students moved into the First Street Residence Hall, and added a second residence hall with the addition of the Riverfront Residence Hall in 2015. 

Today, nearly 7,000 students are enrolled at UM-Flint. UM-Flint faculty from over 100 areas of study. Five major academic units, consisting of the College of Arts and Sciences, the School of Management, the College of Health Sciences, the School of Education and Human Services, and the School of Nursing, offer students a wide variety of degree programs. A sixth unit, the College of Innovation and Technology, will launch in Fall 2021. 

Professors pour their expertise and creativity into the development of research and service-learning projects that match course curriculum with the world’s most-pressing issues. These projects bring learning to life, address community needs, and fulfill students’ desires to contribute to the common good. This dedication to service has earned UM-Flint many accolades.  In 2010 and again in 2019, UM-Flint received the prestigious Carnegie Classification for Civic Engagement. Then in 2012, UM-Flint was selected as the first recipient of the “Engaged Campus of Year Award” presented by the Michigan Campus Compact.

In 2016, UM-Flint marked its 60th anniversary, celebrating its position as one of only three campuses of the world-renown University of Michigan. Today, the campus continues to undergo a transformation as it grows academically with new undergraduate and graduate degree offerings, expanding partnerships with local and regional entities and industries, and remains committed to the ideals of diversity, equity and inclusion by making an affordable, accessible education possible to the community.