具有认证(mac)计划的中等教育文学硕士

最需要教育的地方

你一直想知道你是否会成为一名好老师——敬业、关怀、有弹性并致力于终身学习。 UM-Flint 的中等教育文学硕士认证 (MAC) 计划需要您! 该计划专为有抱负的教师而设计,他们拥有地区认可机构的学士学位,并且有兴趣通过教师认证获得硕士学位。

UM-Flint 的 MAC 课程不仅为您提供强大的教学技能,还使您能够成为解决当今充满挑战的学校环境中学生面临的令人信服的现实的一部分。

为什么要在 UM-Flint 获得中等教育硕士学位?

以现实世界为中心的教学计划

UM-Flint 的中等教育硕士课程与认证课程侧重于基于经验的学习,旨在通过临床观察和整个课程的学生教学实习明确地将理论与实践联系起来。 您通过与经验丰富的教师一起工作来开始该计划,同时逐渐增加您在这些教室中教学的责任。 因此,尽管学生可能面临挑战,您仍可以做好教学和帮助学生取得学术成就的充分准备。

实地经验

基于现场的设置对于与您的教师、同龄人、辅导教师和学生建立社区意识非常宝贵。 MAC 计划为您分配密歇根州初中和高中的教学实习。 在实地培训中,您将与专业的大学和学校教师密切合作,他们会促进和支持您在教学方面不断增长的专业知识。

灵活的学习形式

具有认证计划的中等教育硕士学位非常重视现场经验,并以混合模式学习形式(在线和面对面)提供研讨会。 您将咨询您的大学主管和校内导师,根据您的可用性安排每周 10-12 小时的实地体验。 这种灵活的形式使您能够平衡您的工作、学校和生活承诺,并根据您的日程安排参加课程。

一年的教师资格证

我们的中学教育硕士课程是密歇根州授权的替代路线提供者。 通过密歇根州教师资格考试 (MTTC) 内容领域测试并成功完成该计划第一年的 MAC 候选人有资格获得密歇根州临时教学证书和就业,同时完成该计划的其余部分。

但是,学生也可以选择传统途径参加 MTTC 考试,并在完成 MAC 课程后获得教学认证。

引号

MAC 计划提供的课程不仅让您深入了解如何成为一名教师,还让您了解如何通过包容性、公平性和成长心态的领域来看待世界。 我觉得我不仅作为一名教师,而且作为我所在社区的倡导者,更有能力。 作为一名学生教师,我正在获得音乐教育和数学方面的认证。 在教育领域讨论的是学生甚至教师在数学方面的焦虑。 我的热情之一是让数学变得易于理解,就像是具有某些规则的谜题。


米奇·桑西里班
2022 年获得认证的文学硕士

米奇·桑西里班

参与队列环境

具有认证计划的中等教育硕士学位是基于队列的。 您可以与一小群教育工作者一起享受引人入胜的学习体验,他们分享您对通过教育做出改变的热情。 这种队列结构使您能够为个人和职业发展建立强大的支持网络。

此外,在小班授课的情况下,该课程强调基于团队的项目,这允许在提高协作和沟通技巧的同时建立网络。 我们的教师专家致力于您的成功,通过灵活的办公时间和在线访问,让您在正常的课程表之外为您提供服务。

UM资源

作为世界知名的密歇根大学社区的一部分,您还可以访问弗林特、迪尔伯恩和安娜堡校区的全部学术和研究资源。

中等教育硕士与认证课程课程

具有认证的中等教育文学硕士课程提供了一个强大的课程,将理论与初中和高中阶段的实践教学实地工作相结合。 作为课程的一部分,教学安排允许学生在现实世界中建立他们的教学专业知识,并从我们著名的教师和支持性的辅导教师那里获得反馈。

这个全日制 MAC 课程要求 42 个学分,可以在不到两年的时间内完成,并且可以选择在一年内获得教师证书。 通过严格的课程,您可以建立广泛的教学技能和方法,以改善中学教育的课堂体验。

了解更多有关 中等教育硕士与认证课程课程.

UM-Flint MAC 计划很高兴地宣布,我们的学生有资格获得密歇根未来教育者奖学金,该奖学金为未来的教育者提供 10,000 美元的可再生奖学金,以及密歇根未来教育者津贴,该奖学金为学生教学学期提供 9,600 美元的津贴. 有关这两个计划及其相关资格要求的更多信息,请访问 可在这里.

有关这些计划的问题可以直接联系 MAC 顾问 Jim Owen,网址为 [电子邮件保护].

中等教育硕士职业前景

在获得中等教育文学硕士学位和教学证书后,您已做好充分准备,在 6 至 12 年级从事充实的教学工作。您有权运用所获得的知识和技能,通过以下方式创建一个更公平的社会教育。

根据劳工统计局的数据,就业人数 中学高中老师 预计到 4 年将增长 2029%,市场上有超过 1,000,000 个工作岗位。 此外,教师的年薪中位数可以超过 60,000 美元。

到 4 年,中学和高中教师预计将增长 2029%,市场上的工作岗位将超过 1,000,000 个。

入学要求

合格的申请人应持有学士学位 地区认可机构 并且在 3.0 的范围内,最低整体本科平均绩点为 4.0。 本科 GPA 低于 3.0 的学生可考虑试用。

要考虑入学,请在下面提交在线申请。 其他材料可发邮件至 [电子邮件保护] 或交付给研究生课程办公室,251 汤普森图书馆。

  • 研究生入学申请
  • $55 申请费(不可退还)
  • 所有参加的学院和大学的正式成绩单。请阅读我们的全文 成绩单政策 获取更多信息.
  • 对于在非美国机构完成的任何学位,必须提交成绩单以供内部证书审查。 阅读以下 有关如何提交成绩单以供审核的说明。
  • 如果英语不是您的母语,并且您不是来自 豁免国家, 你必须证明 英语水平.
  • 总结
  • 三种 推荐信
  • 目的声明:教学既是一项使命,也是一项日常挑战。 在一篇 750 字的文章中,描述为什么你非常适合这个挑战。
  • 来自国外的学生必须提交 附加文件.

收到所有文件后,教育部将安排与您进行面对面的面试。 还需要进行包括指纹识别在内的犯罪背景调查,费用由候选人承担。

该程序是一个在线程序,具有强制性的面对面会议。 被录取的学生将无法获得学生 (F-1) 签证来攻读学位。 居住在国外的学生无法在本国在线完成此课程。 目前在美国的其他非移民签证持有人,请通过以下方式联系全球参与中心 [电子邮件保护].

申请截止日期

该计划每月都有滚动录取和审查已完成的申请。 申请截止日期如下:

  • 秋季(提前截止日期*)– 1 月 XNUMX 日
  • 秋季(最终截止日期)– 1 月 1 日(XNUMX 月 XNUMX 日截止日期后将根据具体情况接受申请)
  • 冬季 – 1 月 XNUMX 日(优先截止日期,优先考虑 Talent Together 申请者)

MAC 课程的入学时间为秋季学期。 有时,该计划也会提供冬季学期的录取通知。 这不能保证,我们建议所有申请人计划秋季入学。

*您必须在截止日期前完成申请,以保证申请奖学金、助学金和研究助学金的资格。

通过认证计划为中学教育提供学术咨询

在 UM-Flint,我们很自豪有许多专门的顾问来指导您的教育之旅。 现在预约 今天来谈谈你获得中等教育硕士学位的计划。


通过认证计划了解有关中等教育硕士学位的更多信息

密歇根大学弗林特分校的中等教育文学硕士课程提供您实现成为下一代鼓舞人心的教师梦想所需的技能和实地工作经验。 今天申请 or 请求信息 了解有关该计划的更多信息!

UM-弗林特博客 |研究生课程

master of arts in secondary education with certification (mac) program

Education Where It’s Needed Most

Follow SEHS on Social

You’ve always wondered whether you would make a good teacher – you’re dedicated, caring, resilient, and committed to lifelong learning. University of Michigan-Flint’s Master of Arts in Secondary Education with Certification (MAC) program wants you! This program is designed for aspiring teachers who have a bachelor’s degree from a regionally accredited institution and are interested in earning a master’s degree with teacher certification.

UM-Flint’s MAC program not only equips you with strong skills in teaching but also empowers you to be part of the solution to the compelling realities facing students in today’s challenging school environments.

Why Earn Your Secondary Education Master’s Degree at UM-Flint?

Real-world Focused Teaching Program

UM-Flint’s MA in Secondary Education with Certification program focuses on experience-based learning intended to explicitly link theory with practice through clinical observation and student teaching placements for the entire program. You start the program by working alongside experienced teachers while gradually growing your responsibilities for teaching in these classrooms. As a result, you can become well prepared to teach and help students achieve academic excellence despite the challenges they might face.

Field-based Experience

The field-based setting is invaluable in building a sense of community with your instructors, cohort peers, coaching teachers, and students. The MAC program assigns you teaching placements in middle and high schools throughout Michigan. In the field-based training, you work closely with expert university and school faculty who facilitate and support your growing expertise in teaching.

Flexible Learning Format

The master’s degree in Secondary Education with Certification program’s robust emphasis on field experience is coupled with seminars offered in a mixed-mode learning format—online and face-to-face. You may consult with your coaching teacher to arrange 10-12 hours per week of field experience based on your availability. This flexible format empowers you to balance your work, school, and life commitments and take courses around your schedule.

Teacher Certification in One Year

Our MA in Secondary Education program is an authorized Alternate Route Provider with the State of Michigan. MAC candidates who pass a Michigan Test for Teacher Certification (MTTC) content area test and successfully complete the first year of the program are eligible for a Michigan Interim Teaching Certificate and employment while completing the remainder of the program.

However, students may also choose the traditional route to take the MTTC tests and earn their teaching certification after their completion of the MAC program.

Quote Marks

The MAC program offers courses that not only give you insight on how to be a teacher, but how to see the world through the realms of inclusivity, equity, and growth mindsets. I feel I am more equipped not just as a teacher, but as an advocate in my community. As a student teacher, I am getting certifications in both music education and mathematics. Something that is discussed in the education field is the anxiety students and even teachers get when it comes to math. One of my passions is making math understandable in a way that it seems like a puzzle with certain rules.


Mitch Sansiribhan
Master of Arts with Certification 2022

Mitch Sansiribhan

Engaging Cohort Environment

The MA in Secondary Education with Certification program is cohort-based. You can enjoy an engaging learning experience with a small cohort of fellow educators who share your passion for making a difference through education. This cohort structure enables you to develop a strong support network for personal and professional development.

In addition, with small class sizes, the coursework emphasizes team-based projects, which allows for networking while improving collaborative and communication skills. Our faculty experts are committed to your success, making themselves available to you outside the normal class schedule with flexible office hours and online access.

U-M Resources

As part of the world-renowned University of Michigan community, you also have access to the full academic and research resources at the Flint, Dearborn, and Ann Arbor campuses.

Master’s in Secondary Education with Certification Program Curriculum

The Master of Arts in Secondary Education with Certification program provides a robust curriculum that integrates theories with hands-on teaching fieldwork at the middle and high school levels. As part of the curriculum, the teaching placement allows students to build their teaching expertise in the real world and obtain feedback from our renowned faculty and supportive coaching teachers.

With a requirement of 41 credits, this full-time MAC program can be completed in less than two years, with an option to earn your teaching certificate in one year. Through the rigorous coursework, you can build a broad range of teaching skills and approaches to improve the classroom experience in secondary education.

Learn more about the MA in Secondary Education with Certification program curriculum.

Secondary Education with Certification Courses

  • EDE 540 – Classroom Management
  • EDR 548 – Reading and Writing Across the Content Areas
  • EDS 515 – Urban Education
  • EDS 530 – Teaching Numeracy Across the Curriculum
  • EDN 510 – Teaching in the Inclusive Classroom
  • EDR 541 – Assessment-Based Literacy Instruction in Secondary Classrooms 
  • EDS 500 – Developmental Psychology for Secondary Education
  • EDE 670 – Research Seminar
  • EDT 501 – Using Technology in Education
  • EDS 560 – Teaching Methods in Secondary Education
  • EDS 668 – Student Teaching I 
  • EDS 698 – Student Teaching Seminar 
  • EDS 669 – Student Teaching II

Master’s in Secondary Education Career Outlook

After earning a Master of Arts degree in Secondary Education and a teaching certification, you are well-prepared to pursue fulfilling teaching jobs in grades 6 through 12. You are empowered to apply the knowledge and skills you have acquired to create a more equitable society through education.

According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, the employment of middle school and high school teachers is projected to grow 4% through 2029 with over 1,000,000 jobs in the market. In addition, teachers can make a competitive median salary of over $60,000/year.

Middle school & high school teachers is projected to grow 4% through 2029 with over 1,000,000 jobs in the market.

Admission Requirements

Qualified applicants should hold a bachelor’s degree from a regionally accredited institution and have a minimum overall undergraduate grade point average of 3.0 on a 4.0 scale. Students with an undergraduate GPA below 3.0 may be considered for probationary admission.

To be considered for admission, submit an online application below. Other materials can be emailed to FlintGradOffice@umich.edu or delivered to the Office of Graduate Programs, 251 Thompson Library.

Once all documents have been received, a face-to-face interview will be scheduled with you by the Education Department. A criminal background check that includes fingerprinting, at the candidate’s expense, is also required.

Application Deadlines

The program has rolling admissions and reviews completed applications each month. Application deadlines are as follows:

  • Fall (early deadline*) – May 1
  • Fall (final deadline) – August 1
  • Winter (final deadline) – December 1

Admission to the MAC program is reserved for the fall semester. Occasionally, the program will provide admissions to the winter semester as well. This is not guaranteed and we recommend all applicants plan for fall admission.

*You must have a completed application by the early deadline to guarantee application eligibility for scholarships, grants, and research assistantships.

The final deadlines for international students are May 1 for the fall semester and October 1 for the winter semester.

Academic Advising for the Secondary Education with Certification Program

At UM-Flint, we are proud to have many dedicated advisors to guide your educational journey. Book an appointment today to talk about your plan of earning a master’s degree in Secondary Education.


Learn More about the MA in Secondary Education with Certification Program

University of Michigan-Flint’s Master of Arts in Secondary Education with Certification program offers the skills and fieldwork experience you need to pursue your dream of becoming an inspiring teacher for the next generation. Apply today or request information to learn more about the program!