最适合您的援助类型

密歇根大学弗林特分校的学生可以获得多种经济援助,每种都有自己的好处和要求。 在申请援助之前,了解每种援助的运作方式很重要。 学生必须完成 免费申请学生援助 (FAFSA) 并成为有资格获得大多数经济援助的学生。

资助

赠款是一种“礼物援助”——这意味着它们不需要偿还。 它们通常是基于需求的——这可以确保具有高度需求的学生的需求得到满足。 资助类型包括 联邦佩尔格兰特, 补充教育机会补助金 (SEOG), 大学和高等教育教师教育援助 (TEACH), 和更多。 一种 FAFSA 必须完成才能考虑获得赠款。

贷款

贷款是一种必须偿还的援助。 根据贷款类型,适用不同的利率和宽限期。 联邦学生贷款允许学生以特殊的固定利率和灵活的还款计划借款。 学生必须完成 FAFSA 并成为有资格获得联邦学生贷款的合格学生。 虽然有私人或替代贷款可用,但重要的是首先寻求联邦学生贷款。

奖学金

许多慷慨的捐助者还在 UM-Flint 提供奖学金。 这些奖学金适用于许多不同的学术课程和人口统计数据。 对于一般申请,学生可以通过一份申请获得多项奖学金。 通过外部申请提供各种其他奖学金。 

奖学金通常以成绩为基础,但可能还有其他标准。 奖学金由大学、密歇根州和私人组织提供。 提供奖学金和助学金时,通常无需偿还或赚取。 虽然完成 FAFSA 是获得经济援助的主要步骤,但它不是奖学金申请。 UM-Flint 奖学金申请每年 XNUMX 月至 XNUMX 月中旬期间在线向所有学生开放,并于 XNUMX 月中旬至 XNUMX 月再次向研究生开放。

勤工俭学

勤工俭学计划为学生提供校内就业机会,以帮助满足他们的财务需求。 许多学科和研究领域都有工作机会,许多学生在他们的领域找到了工作。 学生赚取的工资可以用来支付教育费用。 学生必须完成 FAFSA 并提供勤工俭学。

支付密歇根大学的费用

支付高中毕业后的教育费用是实现人生目标的终生投资。实现这一目标可能需要联邦政府和州政府、私人金融机构、家庭捐款和个人储蓄等资源的帮助。

The Type of Aid That is Best for You

There are many varieties of financial aid available to students at the University of Michigan-Flint, each with their own benefits and requirements. It is important to know how each type of aid works before applying for aid. Students must complete the Free Application for Student Aid (FAFSA) and be an eligible student to qualify for most financial aid.

Grants

Grants are a form of “gift aid” – this means they do not need to be paid back. They are typically need-based – this ensures students with high levels of need will have their needs met. Types of grants include the Federal Pell Grant, Supplemental Education Opportunity Grant (SEOG), Teacher Education Assistance for College and Higher Education (TEACH), and more. A FAFSA must be completed to be considered for grants. 

Loans

Loans are a type of aid that must be repaid. Depending on the type of loan, different interest rates and grace periods apply. Federal student loans allow students to borrow at special fixed interest rates and with flexible repayment plans. Students must complete the FAFSA and be an eligible student to qualify for federal student loans. While there are private or alternative loans available, it is important to pursue federal student loans first.

Scholarships

Many generous donors also provide scholarships at UM-Flint. These scholarships apply to many different academic programs and demographics. With the general application students are considered for multiple scholarships with one application. Various other scholarships are offered through external applications. 

Scholarships are generally merit-based but there may be additional criteria. Scholarships are awarded by the university, the state of Michigan and private organizations. Scholarships and grants generally do not have to be repaid or earned when awarded. While completing the FAFSA is the primary step in obtaining financial aid, it is not a scholarship application. The UM-Flint scholarship application is available to all students online annually between December and mid-February and open again to graduate students mid-March through June.

Work-Study

The Work-Study program offers students employment opportunities on-campus to help meet their financial needs. Job offerings are available in many disciplines and areas of study, and many students find jobs in their field. Students earn wages that they can use to meet educational expenses. Students must complete the FAFSA and be awarded work-study.