2024-2025 年招生现已开放

密歇根大学弗林特分校的医师助理 (PA) 理学硕士课程旨在通过教学、学习和服务的最佳实践来培养模范医师助理从业者、领导者和专业和公共卫生倡导者社区及其他。

凭借出色的课堂、实验室和临床培训,UM-Flint PA 计划为您提供强大的医学知识和经验,以获取国家认证和州执照。 作为医师助理计划理学硕士的毕业生,您已做好充分准备,作为跨专业医疗保健团队的重要成员,提供循证的患者护理。

快速链接


为什么选择 UM-Flint 的医师助理计划?

世界一流的 UM PA 计划

密歇根大学拥有杰出的医疗保健学位的悠久历史。 从 密歇根医学 在安娜堡到 物理治疗博士职业治疗博士 在弗林特,我们的计划在培养成功的医生、护士、物理治疗师和其他医疗保健领导者方面位居全国前列。 弗林特校区的医师助理计划通过聘请领先的教师、利用最先进的实验室空间并提供备受追捧的优质临床经验,延续了这一声誉。

示例性临床轮换

医师助理硕士项目的学生深入研究了许多不同类型的临床机会。 临床轮换在密歇根医学、密歇根大学健康附属机构、杰纳西县医院系统和 汉密尔顿社区健康中心,其中包括专业临床轮换的选项。 通过强大的临床培训,学生可以提高他们在患者护理、基于实践的学习、交流等方面的能力。


医师助理——顶级职业

对于那些想要从事有意义的医师助理职业的人来说,获得医师助理硕士学位是入门级要求。 PA 是诊断疾病、制定和管理治疗计划、开药并经常担任患者主要医疗保健提供者的医疗专业人员。

PA专业目前排名 《美国新闻与世界报道》最佳医疗保健工作排名第一, 而 PA 程序是 福布斯 10 大最佳硕士学位. 鉴于我们的人口老龄化、我们医疗保健人员的预计退休以及目前未投保和投保不足的人数,对称职的医师助理的需求正在上升。

劳工统计局 预计到 28 年,PA 的就业将增长 2031%,明显快于平均就业增长率。 除了需求激增之外,医师助理的年薪中位数为 121,530 美元,具有竞争力。

医师助理的年薪中位数为 121,530 美元 资料来源:bls.gov

医师助理计划课程硕士

医师助理理学硕士课程采用 103 个学分的综合课程,通过教学和临床阶段向学生灌输医学知识和临床技能。 最多 50 名学生的队列每年一月开始。

在超过 28 个月的时间里,学生参加校内和在线课程并体验各种临床轮换。 前 16 个月是具有临床浸入式的教学指导讲座和实验室形式。 最后 12 个月主要是临床轮换,有一些在线和校园要求。

强调实践培训和跨学科学习,PA 计划课程通过 UM 合作伙伴关系内部和之间的合作得到加强,例如 牙科学院,UM-Flint 无偿跨专业学生健康诊所。

查看详细 医师助理计划课程理学硕士.

临床安排

学生可以推荐临床地点和导师,但不需要提供或征求他们的临床轮换地点。 UM-Flint PA 计划为所有临床年学生提供符合计划要求的临床站点和导师。

医师助理硕士/MBA双学位选项

助理医师理学硕士 (MSPA) / 工商管理硕士 (MBA) 该计划专为雄心勃勃的 PA 学生和对商业和健康管理感兴趣的毕业生而设计。 这个双重计划通过商业知识和技能补充了 MSPA 计划,以提高医疗保健组织的有效性和运营成功,并促进 PA 专业人员的创业主动性,为他们在实践中观察到的日常问题寻找商业解决方案。

学位是独立的,必须先完成 PA 课程,然后才能完成 MBA课程. 在获得 MSPA 学位后,每个学位都在完成后获得 MBA 学位所接受的特定学分后授予。

学生劳伦·艾伦 (Lauren Allen)、艾米丽·巴里 (Emily Barrie) 和泽赫拉·阿尔加扎利 (Zehra Alghazaly) 最近在社区中留下了深刻印象,他们在领导力、宣传和跨专业团队合作课程中开展了一个项目。 结果,由于他们的工作以及他们与 Genesee 社区健康中心建立的合作伙伴关系,弗林特市中心现在有一台免费的 Narcan 自动售货机。 “这个项目上线这一事实非常令人满意,”Alghazaly 说。 “我们在毕业前就对社区产生了影响。” 了解更多, 现在访问 UM-Flint 网页.

学生 Lauren Allen、Emily Barrie 和 Zehra Alghazly 站在他们帮助安装在弗林特市中心的免费 Narcan 自动售货机前,作为课堂项目的一部分。

认证和 PANCE 通过率

在其 2023 年 6 月 会议上,医师助理教育认证审查委员会 (ARC-PA) 将 密歇根大学 - 弗林特医师助理计划 由...赞助 密歇根大学 - 弗林特医师助理计划 on 认证-试用期 状态直至下一次审查 2025 年 6 月.  

试用认证是一种临时认证状态,最初期限不少于两年。 然而,如果 ARC-PA 发现该计划在满足所有适用标准方面取得了实质性进展,但需要更多时间才能完全合规,则 ARC-PA 可以将该期限再延长两年。 如果 ARC-PA 认为持有“临时认证”或“持续认证”认证状态的项目不符合 ARC-PA 的要求,则 ARC-PA 可自行决定授予试用认证状态。 RSPO标准 或者当项目为学生提供可接受的教育体验的能力受到威胁时。 

一旦处于试用期,未能及时遵守 ARC-PA 规定的认证要求的项目可能会被安排进行重点现场访问,并可能会被撤销其认证。

有关计划及其计划的具体问题应直接向计划主任和/或相应的机构官员提出。 该计划的认证历史可以在 ARC-PA 网站上查看:  http://www.arc-pa.org/accreditation-history-university-of-michigan-flint.  

有关认证的更多信息,请访问 arc-pa.org/认证/,或在: 医师助理教育认证审查委员会,12000 Findley Road, Suite 150, Johns Creek, GA 30097, (770) 476-1224。

未来的学生指南

密歇根大学弗林特医师助理计划鼓励所有未来的学生阅读 未来的学生指南.

PA 课程入学要求 – 不需要 GRE

申请医师助理计划理学硕士需要满足以下资格要求:

  • 在 PA 课程的 XNUMX 月开学日期之前完成任何研究领域的学士学位。 
  • 在美国完成的学士学位必须来自 地区认可机构.
  • 如果学士学位是在非美国机构完成的,申请人必须通过以下方式获得对他们的成绩单的逐门评估 世界教育服务(WES) or 教育证书评估员 (ECE). 评估必须在 CASPA 提交截止日期之前完成并上传到 CASPA 申请,并且必须至少包括累积平均绩点和获得的学位。
  • 最低 3.0 CASPA 计算的整体累积本科平均绩点
  • UM-Flint PA 计划不授予任何个人的高级安置或其他 PA 计划学生的转学请求。 所有 PA 学生都必须通过公布的招生流程被录取,并完成 UM-Flint PA 课程中的所有课程。

从 2021-2022 申请周期开始,医师助理计划很高兴宣布该计划 不再需要 GRE 普通考试入学.

使命
密歇根大学弗林特医师助理 (UM-Flint PA) 计划的使命是通过教学、学习和服务的最佳实践,让学生成为模范医师助理从业者、领导者和专业和公共卫生倡导者。我们多元化的当地社区及其他地区。

为了实现我们的使命,我们将:

  • 准备一支多元化的 PA 员工队伍,以服务于当地、州和国家社区的以患者为中心的需求和公共卫生。
  • 教育学生利用循证决策和解决问题的方法,在不断变化的医疗保健环境中进行安全、负担得起的医学实践,重点是促进持续改进的自我评估。
  • 教育和鼓励学生提供具有文化能力和基于团队的护理,并承诺照顾所有人。
  • 培养具有创造性领导者的毕业生,他们倡导并公民参与他们作为为 PA 专业做出贡献的临床医生、管理人员、院士和研究人员的实践。
  • 培养和支持教职员工在教学、服务和奖学金方面取得卓越成就。
  • 支持 PA 计划的毕业生和教职员工的终身学习。

鼓励潜在申请人在面试之前熟悉计划任务说明(如上所示)。

Attributes
每个申请人都将根据基本属性进行单独评估,例如:

  • 学术卓越
  • 利他主义和倡导
  • 临床经验
  • 创造和发现/批判性思维
  • 渴望学习并致力于作为 PA 的实践
  • 学历
  • 为服务不足的医学专业提供服务的未来潜力
  • 为服务不足的患者群体提供服务的未来潜力
  • 正直、诚实和道德
  • 领导经验
  • 领导力潜能
  • 生活经历
  • 弹性和适应性
  • 社交/人际交往能力和团队合作
  • 为教育体验做出贡献的独特潜力
  • 书面和口头沟通技巧

属性被认为是作为 PA 的医学实践必不可少的,因此所有被 UM-Flint PA 计划录取的学生都必须具备这些属性。 独特的潜力与申请人可能拥有的独特和有价值但不是必需的特征有关,这将增强他们为 PA 计划和 PA 专业的教育经验和多样性做出贡献的潜力。

PA 课程先修课程

  • 所有先修课程必须是本科课程,并且成绩必须为“C”(2.0)或更高。 由于 COVID-19 造成的独特情况,许多机构允许学生选择通过/不通过选项来代替字母等级。 UM-Flint 医师助理计划要求所有申请人在其所有先修课程中获得字母等级。 不接受通过/不通过选项。  
  • 要求最低综合先决课程 GPA 为 3.0 或更高。
  • 所有满足先决条件要求的课程必须以 C (2.0) 或更高的成绩完成,才能被考虑入读该计划。
  • 所有先修课程必须在美国地区认可的大学或学院完成,并在 CASPA 申请提交截止日期之前完成课程、获得的成绩和上传到 CASPA 申请的文件。
  • 研究生水平的课程不会被视为完成先修课程。
  • 面对面和在线课程是可以接受的。
  • 通过考试和/或先修课程获得学分的课程不适用于任何先修课程要求。
  • 先修课程不会替代该计划专业部分中更高级的应用内容。 
  • 科学先修课程(人体解剖学、生理学、化学和微生物学)必须在提交申请之日起七年内完成。 如果在提交申请前七年以上完成任何科学课程:
    • 七年的先决条件科学课程 豁免请求 必须在 28 年 2024 月 XNUMX 日星期五之前获得。

我们鼓励您检查您的课程并通过使用 健康科学学院先决条件指南。本指南旨在作为未来学生的起点。如果您没有找到列出的课程或需要帮助,请直接联系 PA 项目: [电子邮件保护].

  • 人体解剖学:一门课程
  • 人体生理学:两门讲座课程,至少一门课程必须达到300/3000级或更高
  • 化学:两门讲座课程,一门课程必须是有机或生物化学课程
  • 微生物学:一门讲座/实验室课程,必须包括实验室(讲座和实验室可以合并或分开)
  • 发展心理学:一门课程
  • 统计:一门课
  • 医学术语:一门课程

查看您的课程并通过使用确定转学 健康科学学院先决条件指南.

录取的学生数据

UM PA 2024 届
cGPA:3.48
平均绩点 3.57
平均年龄:24.39
43 名女性和 3 名男性

UM PA 2025 届
cGPA:3.48
平均绩点 3.37
平均年龄:23.8
44 名女性和 6 名男性

UM PA 2026 届
cGPA:3.59
平均绩点:3.68
平均年龄:25
38 名女性和 12 名男性
平均 PCH:1823


申请截止日期

2025 年冬季入学周期:1 年 2024 月 1 日至 2024 年 XNUMX 月 XNUMX 日 (2024 年冬季招生周期已结束)

UM-Flint PA 计划的学生于 2025 年 XNUMX 月的冬季学期开始。申请人必须完成 医师助理集中应用服务(CASPA) 在 1 月 XNUMX 日的截止日期或之前。以电子方式提交申请时会给出完整的日期,并且至少 两封推荐信所有 正式成绩单,以及 CASPA 收到并附在申请表上的付款。 文件应在截止日期前六周发送,以确保物品准时到达。

截止日期

该计划不使用滚动录取过程。


如何申请 UM-Flint 的 PA 计划?

UM-Flint PA 计划通过一系列必要的属性对候选人进行全面评估,这些属性是成功发展为与 PA 计划使命一致的熟练、富有同情心的 PA 所必需的。

密歇根大学弗林特分校的医师助理硕士项目要求申请者提交以下文件给 医师助理中央申请服务 (CASPA) 和 UM-Flint 到 1 年 2024 月 XNUMX 日。

向 CASPA 提交以下内容:

  • 官方成绩单 来自您在美国就读的所有学院和大学
  • 签名 UM-Flint 技术标准认证表
  • 在 3.0 月开学日期之前完成的区域认可机构的学士学位,最低 CASPA 计算的本科整体累积平均绩点平均为 XNUMX。 本科学位可以在任何研究领域。
  • 所有先修课程必须在学生提交 CASPA 申请之前完成。 
  • 如果学士学位是在非美国机构完成的,申请人必须通过以下方式获得对他们的成绩单的逐门评估 世界教育服务(WES) or 教育证书评估员 (ECE). 评估必须在 CASPA 提交截止日期之前完成并上传到 CASPA 申请,并且必须至少包括累积平均绩点和获得的学位。
  • 申请人可以要求使用他们最后 60 个本科学分来计算累积 GPA。 要申请豁免,请完成 医师助理入学豁免申请表 在 28 年 2024 月 60 日星期五之前提交,并附上请求的理由。 计算中仅使用本科课程。 没有研究生课程将用于计算累积 GPA。 如果本科课程是在毕业后修读的,这些课程可能会包含在最后 60 个学分中。 如果授予最后 XNUMX 学分的豁免,则它仅适用于一个申请周期,因为豁免不会从一个周期滚动到另一个周期。 
  • 三封推荐信
    • 推荐信应该来自能够证明您作为 PA 潜力的人,最好是来自健康专业人士和/或大学教授。
    • 不接受家人或朋友的推荐信。
    • 一封推荐信应该来自确认提交的医疗保健体验时间的主管。
  • 个人陈述
  • 医疗保健经验: 500 小时的实际直接患者护理。
    • 例子 公认的经验。
    • 由于这些职位的责任和职责水平,有偿医疗保健经验是首选。 可以考虑志愿医疗保健经验,但强烈鼓励有偿、有监督的医疗保健经验。
    • 一封来自医疗保健经验主管的推荐信,用于确认提交的时间。
    • 小时数必须在提交给 CASPA 之前完成,并且应该在提交申请前两年内完成。
    • 由于 PA 招生的竞争性,建议获得额外的健康相关时间。 在评估实际操作的医疗保健时间时,我们会考虑在工作经验中使用医学术语、解剖学、生理学和病理生理学概念。
    • 通过学生临床经验获得的健康临床医生影子和小时数不符合医疗保健经验小时数要求。

将以下内容直接提交给 UM-Flint:

  • CASPer 测试——基于计算机的个人特征抽样评估
    • 访问 www.takeCASPer.com,并完成美国专业健康科学 (CSP10101)。
    • 该测试仅在一个录取周期内有效。
    • 对测试有任何疑问,请直接联系 [电子邮件保护].
    • 电子邮件 [电子邮件保护] 将分数直接发送到 UM-Flint。
    • UM-Flint 不需要 Snapshot 或 Duet 评估。
  • 如果英语不是您的母语:申请人可以通过参加托福考试或在美国、加拿大或英国获得学士学位来达到英语水平。
    • 所有第一语言不是英语和/或没有大学学士学位的申请人都需要官方和有效的英语作为外语考试 (TOEFL) 成绩。 区域认可 美国院校,或加拿大或英国的学士学位。 无论原籍国的官方语言或就读教育机构的主要语言如何,都需要这样做。 
    • 托福网考总分不低于 94 分,口语不低于 26 分。 托福成绩自考试之日起两年内有效。 分数必须直接从测试机构发送到密歇根大学弗林特分校。 必须在 MSPA 申请截止日期前提交和接收官方托福成绩报告。 从考试之日起,您应该至少留出四个星期的时间才能收到分数。 在申请截止日期之后收到的任何分数都不会在当前的录取周期中生效。
    • UM-Flint 托福机构代码 1853
  • 来自国外的学生必须提交 附加文件.

该计划是一个包含面授课程的校内计划。 被录取的学生可以申请学生(F-1)签证。 居住在国外的学生无法在本国在线完成此课程。 目前在美国的其他非移民签证持有人,请通过以下方式联系全球参与中心 [电子邮件保护].

申请流程包括校内个人面试; 符合条件的申请人将收到面试邀请。

自动邀请面试:为了与 UM-Flint PA 项目对公共卫生的重视保持一致,满足入学最低要求并就读或毕业于 UM-Flint 公共卫生与健康科学、健康科学理学学士预科课程的申请者-PA轨道和呼吸治疗理学学士将接受面试。从创新科技学院人类生物学课程 Pre-PA 课程毕业并达到最低要求的学生也将接受面试。

医师助理技术标准

所有申请人必须满足 医师助理技术标准 以便被录取并保留在 UM-Flint PA 计划中。 技术标准是入学所必需的,并且必须在学生通过 PA 计划的整个过程中保持。 技术标准对于作为 PA 的实践和运作以及超越入学的学术要求是必不可少的和必要的。 这些包括完成 PA 教育课程并在毕业时胜任 PA 所需的身体、行为和认知能力。

UM-Flint PA 计划的技术标准确保注册学生有能力展示学术精通、执行临床技能的能力以及以良好的身心能力交流临床信息的能力。

为被录取的学生提供 PA 预科准备课程

所有被录取的学生都必须参加 在线 PA 预科准备课程 这将刷新解剖学、生理学、微生物学、批判性思维和学习技能的技能。 有视频、测验和期末考试。 课程费用为 149 美元。 入学后将提供更多信息。

了解有关医师助理计划硕士学位的更多信息

使用 到密歇根大学弗林特分校的医师助理计划理学硕士,以追求成为负责任和富有同情心的医疗保健提供者的梦想。 如果您想了解有关医师助理计划的更多信息, 提交请求信息表!

UM-弗林特博客 |研究生课程

Master of Science in Physician Assistant (PA)

Free Grad Student Application Week
Apply October 25 – 31 to use the $55 “Grad Student Appreciation” waiver


The Master of Science in Physician Assistant (PA) program at the University of Michigan-Flint aims to cultivate exemplary physician assistant practitioners, leaders, and advocates for the profession and public health through best practices in teaching, learning, and service to our diverse local community and beyond.

With exceptional classroom, laboratory, and clinical training, The UM-Flint PA program arms you with strong medical knowledge and experience to sit for national certification and state licensure. As a graduate of the Master of Science in Physician Assistant program, you are well-prepared to provide evidence-based patient care as an integral member of the interprofessional health care team.


Why Choose UM-Flint’s Physician Assistant Program?

The World-Class U-M PA Program

The University of Michigan has a storied history of outstanding health care degrees. From Michigan Medicine in Ann Arbor to the Doctor of Physical Therapy and Doctor of Occupational Therapy in Flint, our programs are among the nation’s best in preparing successful physicians, nurses, physical therapists, and other health care leaders. The Physician Assistant program on the Flint campus continues that reputation by employing leading faculty, utilizing state-of-the-art laboratory space, and offering highly sought-after quality clinical experiences.

Exemplary Clinical Rotations

Students in the MS in Physician Assistant program delve into many different types of clinical opportunities. Clinical rotations take place throughout Michigan Medicine, UM health affiliates, Genesee County hospital systems, and Hamilton Community Health Center, among others with options for specialty clinical rotations. Through robust clinical training, students improve their competencies in patient care, practice-based learning, communication, and more.


Physician Assistant—A Top Career

Earning a master’s degree in Physician Assistant is an entry-level requirement for those who want to pursue a meaningful career as a Physician Assistant. PAs are medical professionals who diagnose illness, develop and manage treatment plans, prescribe medications, and often serve as a patient’s principal health care provider.

The PA profession is currently ranked #1 in Best Health Care Jobs by U.S. News & World Report, and the PA program is a Top 10 Best Master’s Degree by Forbes. Given our aging population, the projected retirements of our health care workforce, and the number of currently uninsured and underinsured individuals, the demand for competent physician assistants is rising.

The Bureau of Labor Statistics predicts that the employment of PAs will increase 31 percent through 2029, significantly faster than the average employment growth rate. In addition to the surge in demand, physician assistants can make a competitive median salary of $115,390 per year.

$115,390 median annual wage for physician assistants Source: bls.gov

MS in Physician Assistant Program Curriculum

The Master of Science in Physician Assistant program employs a comprehensive 103-credit curriculum to instill students’ medical knowledge and clinical skills through didactic and clinical phases. Cohorts of up to 50 students begin each January.

Over 28 months, students attend on-campus and online courses and experience a variety of clinical rotations. The first 16 months are didactic instruction-lecture and laboratory format with clinical immersions. The final 12 months are primarily clinical rotations with some online and on-campus requirements.

Emphasizing hands-on training and interdisciplinary learning, the PA program curriculum is strengthened by collaborations within and across UM partnerships such as the
School of Dentistry and PTHeart, the UM-Flint pro-bono interprofessional student health clinic.

See the detailed Master of Science in Physician Assistant program curriculum.

Clinical Arrangements

Students may suggest clinical sites and preceptors but are not required to provide or solicit sites for their clinical rotations. The UM-Flint PA program provides all clinical year students with clinical sites and preceptors that meet program requirements.

MS in Physician Assistant/MBA Dual Degree Option

The Master of Science in Physician Assistant (MSPA) /Master of Business Administration (MBA) program is designed for ambitious PA students and graduates interested in Business and Health Administration. This dual program complements the MSPA program with business knowledge and skills to improve the effectiveness and operational success of health care organizations and to promote entrepreneurial initiatives of PA professionals in finding business solutions to everyday issues they observe during their practice.

The degrees are independent, and the PA program must be completed first, to be followed by the completion of the MBA program. Each degree is awarded when completed with specific credits accepted for the MBA degree after the MSPA degree is awarded.

Accreditation

The ARC-PA has granted Accreditation-Provisional status to the University of Michigan-Flint Physician Assistant Program sponsored by the University of Michigan-Flint.

Accreditation-Provisional is an accreditation status granted when the plans and resource allocation, if fully implemented as planned, of a proposed program that has not yet enrolled students appear to demonstrate the program’s ability to meet the ARC-PA Standards or when a program holding Accreditation-Provisional status appears to demonstrate continued progress in complying with the Standards as it prepares for the graduation of the first class (cohort) of students.

Accreditation-Provisional does not ensure any subsequent accreditation status. It is limited to no more than five years from matriculation of the first class.

The program’s accreditation history can be viewed on the ARC-PA website.

More information on accreditation is available at arc-pa.org/accreditation/, or at: Accreditation Review Commission on Education for the Physician Assistant, Inc., 12000 Findley Road, Suite 150, Johns Creek, GA 30097, (770) 476-1224.

PA Program Admission Requirements – No GRE Required

Applicants to the Master of Science in Physician Assistant program need to meet the following eligibility requirements:

  • Completed a bachelor’s degree, in any field of study, prior to the PA program’s January start date. 
  • Bachelor’s degree completed in the U.S. must be from a regionally accredited institution.
  • If the bachelor’s degree was completed at a non-US institution, applicants must obtain a course-by-course evaluation of their transcripts by World Education Services (WES) or Educational Credential Evaluators (ECE). The evaluation must be completed and uploaded to the CASPA application by the CASPA submission deadline date and must include at least the cumulative grade point average and degree earned.
  • Minimum 3.0 CASPA-calculated overall cumulative undergraduate grade point average

Beginning with the 2021-2022 application cycle the Physician Assistant program is pleased to announce the program no longer requires the GRE General Test for admission.

Each applicant will be individually assessed on essential attributes such as:

  • academic excellence
  • altruism and advocacy
  • written and verbal communication skills 
  • creation and discovery/critical thinking 
  • desire to learn and dedication to practice as a PA, integrity, honesty, and ethics 
  • leadership potential, resilience and adaptability social/interpersonal skills and teamwork, 
  • technical standards adherence and on their unique potential to contribute to the educational experience 
  • future potential to serve under-served population of patients, 
  • future potential to serve under-served medical specialties, 
  • leadership experience, life experiences, clinical experience,
  • educational background, and socioeconomic status at the PA Program and the PA profession

Attributes are considered essential to the practice of medicine as a PA and therefore are required of all students admitted to the UM-Flint PA program. Unique potential relates to the unique and valued, but not required, characteristics that an applicant may possess, which would enhance their potential to contribute to the educational experience and diversity, broadly defined, of the PA program and to the PA profession.

PA Program Prerequisite Courses

  • All prerequisite coursework must be undergraduate courses and grades must be a “C” (2.0) or higher. Due to the unique situation created by COVID-19, many institutions are allowing students to choose a Pass/No Pass option in lieu of a letter grade. UM-Flint Physician Assistant program requires all applicants to receive letter grades in all of their prerequisites courses. The Pass/No Pass option will not be accepted.  
  • Minimum combined prerequisite course GPA of 3.0 or higher is required.
  • All coursework fulfilling prerequisite requirements must be completed with a grade of C (2.0) or higher to be considered for admission to the program.
  • All prerequisite coursework must be completed at a U.S. regionally accredited university or college, with courses completed, grades earned, and documentation uploaded to the CASPA application by the CASPA application submission deadline date.
  • Graduate-level courses will not be considered as fulfilling prerequisite courses.
  • In-person and online coursework is acceptable.
  • Courses for which credit was awarded by examination and/or advanced placement credit are not applied toward any of the prerequisite course requirements.
  • Prerequisite courses will not substitute for more advanced applied content within the professional component of the program. 
  • Science prerequisite courses (human anatomy, physiology, chemistry, and microbiology) must be taken within seven years from the date of the application submission. If any science courses were completed greater than seven years prior to the time of the application submission:
    • A seven year Prerequisite Science Course Waiver Request must be obtained prior to the following deadline dates: 
      • Early Decision –August 16
      • Regular Decision – January 15

Please use the UM-Flint course prerequisites for equivalency comparison to ensure courses will satisfy requirements. Specifically approved UM-Flint PA prerequisite approvals can be found here.

  • Human Anatomy: one lecture course
  • Human Physiology: two lecture courses, at least one course must be 300/3000 level or higher
  • Chemistry: two lecture courses, one course must be either an organic or biochemistry course
  • Microbiology: one lecture/lab course, must include lab (lecture and lab may be combined or separate)
  • Developmental Psychology: one lecture course
  • Statistics: one lecture course
  • Medical Terminology: one lecture course

Application Deadlines

Winter 2023 Admission Cycle: July 1, 2021 – March 1, 2022

The UM-Flint PA Program students begin in the winter semester, January 2023. Applicants must have a completed Centralized Application Service for Physician Assistants (CASPA) on or before the deadline date of March 1. A complete date is given when an application is e-submitted and at least two letters of reference, all official transcripts, and payments received by CASPA and attached to the application. Documents should be sent six weeks prior to the deadline date to ensure items arrive on time.

Early Decision

  • CASPA application due/UM-Flint supplemental fee due – September 1, 2021
  • CASPA verified date – September 17, 2021
  • CASPER taken by – August 22, 2021
  • Waivers requested by – August 16, 2021

Regular Decision

  • CASPA application due/UM-Flint supplemental fee due – March 1, 2022
  • CASPA verified date – March 15, 2022
  • CASPER taken by – February 17, 2022
  • Waivers requested by – January 15, 2022

How to Apply to UM-Flint’s PA Program?

The UM-Flint PA Program holistically evaluates candidates for admission across a range of attributes necessary for successful development into skilled, compassionate PAs who are aligned with the mission of the PA program.

The University of Michigan-Flint’s Master of Science in Physician Assistant program requires applicants to submit the following documents to the Central Application Service for Physician Assistants (CASPA) and UM-Flint by March 1st.

Submit the following to CASPA:

  • Official transcripts from all colleges and universities you have attended in the United States
  • Signed UM-Flint Technical Standards Attestation Form
  • Bachelor’s degree from a regionally accredited institution completed prior to the January start date with a minimum CASPA-calculated overall cumulative undergraduate grade point average of 3.0. The undergraduate degree may be in any field of study.
  • All prerequisite coursework must be completed before a student submits the CASPA application. 
  • If the bachelor’s degree was completed at a non-US institution, applicants must obtain a course-by-course evaluation of their transcripts by World Education Services (WES) or Educational Credential Evaluators (ECE). The evaluation must be completed and uploaded to the CASPA application by the CASPA submission deadline date and must include at least the cumulative grade point average and degree earned.
  • Applicants may request that their last 60 undergraduate credit hours be used to calculate the cumulative GPA. To request a waiver complete the Physician Assistant Admissions Waiver Request Form by January 15 (for those seeking regular admission; early decision must be sent by August 16, 2021), and include the rationale for the request. Only undergraduate coursework will be used in the calculation. No graduate coursework will be used to calculate the cumulative GPA. If undergraduate courses were taken after graduation, these courses may be included in the last 60 credit total. If a last 60 credit hour waiver is granted, it is applicable to one application cycle only, as waivers do not roll over from one cycle to another. 
  • Three letters of recommendation
    • Letters of recommendation should be from persons who can attest to your potential as a PA, preferably from health professionals and/or college professors.
    • Recommendation letters from family members or friends will not be accepted.
    • One letter of recommendation should be from a supervisor who confirms the health care experience hours submitted.
  • Personal statement
  • Health Care Experience: 500 hours of hands-on direct patient care.
    • Examples of accepted experience.
    • Paid health care experience is preferred due to the level of responsibility and duties afforded in these positions. Volunteer health care experience may be considered, but paid, supervised health care experience is strongly encouraged.
    • One letter of recommendation from a health care experience supervisor to confirm hours submitted.
    • Hours must be completed before submission to CASPA and should occur within two years prior to application submission.
    • Due to the competitive nature of PA admissions, earning additional health-related hours is advised. When evaluating hands-on health care hours, we consider the use of medical terminology, anatomy, physiology, and pathophysiologic concepts in the work experience.
    • Health clinician shadowing and hours gained through student clinical experiences are not accepted toward the Health Care Experience hour requirement.

Submit the following directly to UM-Flint:

  • $55 UM-Flint Supplemental Application Fee (paid online).
    • This is submitted after you have a CASPA id number. 
  • CASPer Test
    • Computer-Based Assessment for Sampling Personal Characteristics (CASPer)
    • Complete the American Professional Health Sciences (CSP10101) on the Altus website
    • The test is only valid for one admission cycle
    • Please direct any inquiries on the test to support@altus.as
    • Scores are sent directly to the Office of Graduate Programs, not to CASPA
  • If English is not your native language: Applicants can meet English proficiency either by taking the TOEFL or earning a baccalaureate degree from the United States, Canada, or Great Britain. 
    • Official and valid Test of English as a Foreign Language (TOEFL) scores are required of all applicants whose first language is not English and/or do not have a baccalaureate degree from a regionally accredited United States institution, or a baccalaureate degree from Canada or Great Britain. This is required regardless of the official language of the country of origin or the predominant language of attended educational institutions. 
    • A minimum total TOEFL internet-based testing score of 94, with a speaking score of 26 is required. TOEFL scores are only valid for two years from the test date. Scores must be sent directly from the testing agency to the University of Michigan-Flint. Official TOEFL score reports must be submitted and received by the MSPA application deadline. You should allow at least four weeks for scores to be received from the date of the test. Any scores received after the application deadline will not be validated for the current admission cycle.
  • International students must submit additional documentation. This program is an on-campus program. Admitted students are eligible to obtain a student visa (F visa). International students cannot complete this program online in their home country.

The application process includes an on-campus personal interview; qualifying applicants will receive an invitation to interview.

Physician Assistant Technical Standards

All applicants must meet the Physician Assistant Technical Standards in order to be admitted to and retained in the UM-Flint PA program. The Technical Standards are required for admission and must be maintained throughout student progression through the PA program. The Technical Standards are essential and necessary to practice and function as a PA and go beyond academic requirements for admission. These include physical, behavioral, and cognitive abilities needed to complete the PA education curriculum and competently perform as a PA upon graduation.

The Technical Standards for the UM-Flint PA program ensure that enrolled students have the ability to demonstrate academic mastery, competency when performing clinical skills, and ability to communicate clinical information with sound physical and mental capacities.

Learn More about the Master’s Degree in Physician Assistant Program

Apply to the University of Michigan-Flint’s Master of Science in Physician Assistant program to pursue your dream of becoming a responsible and compassionate health care provider. If you want to learn more about the Physician Assistant program, submit a request information form!