التنوع والإنصاف والشمول

تجمع University of Michigan-Flint بين الطلاب وأعضاء هيئة التدريس والموظفين والإداريين من جميع أنحاء الجامعة لزيادة التنوع والمساواة والاندماج في الحرم الجامعي.

الجامعة أطلقت لجنة التنوع والإنصاف والشمول (DEI) في ديسمبر 2019، ويقوم الأعضاء الآن بإنشاء أهداف قصيرة وطويلة المدى في خطة عمل متعددة الأوجه لـ UM-Flint.

أعضاء هيئة التدريس من كل مدرسة وكلية ، وكل قسم جامعي ، ومجالس أعضاء هيئة التدريس والموظفين ، وهيئتي طلاب البكالوريوس والدراسات العليا ، و مكتب العميد تشكل اللجنة.

خطة العمل الإستراتيجية
خطة العمل الإستراتيجية لـ DEI ، دعوة للعمل: السعي وراء التميز من خلال الشمول والإنصاف، متاح الآن للمراجعة. أهداف خطة العمل والجدول الزمني متاحة للعرض هنا.

تحدد خطة العمل الإستراتيجية لـ DEI (DEI SAP) أهدافًا واسعة وتكتيكات مقترحة لتحسين تميزنا المؤسسي فيما يتعلق بالتنوع والإنصاف والشمول. بعض هذا العمل يعني دعم وتعزيز البرامج القائمة ، في حين أن جوانب أخرى تعني إنشاء برامج جديدة. في ما يلي عدد قليل من مبادراتنا الجديدة أو المحسّنة الجديرة بالملاحظة ، والمطلعة أو المدعومة بطرق مهمة من خلال خطة عملنا الاستراتيجية:

  • أفضل ملتزمون ببرنامج التميز والفرص (الرئيس التنفيذي) في مكتب مبادرات الفرص التعليمية (EOI) هو أحد البرامج التي تبني خط أنابيب من مدارس فلينت المحلية إلى الجامعة التي تتلقى دعمًا متزايدًا.  
  • أطلق قسم شؤون الطلاب برنامج نجاح الأقران التوجيه برنامج مع فهم أن برامج توجيه الأقران هي مبادرات قائمة على الأدلة تزرع انتماء الطلاب وتعزز النجاح لمجموعة طلابنا المتنوعة.
  • يعد تعزيز كفاءات DEI جهدًا مستمرًا يتسع الآن إلى ما بعد UM-Flint ، مع دورة تطوير مهني قصيرة ، تنمية حقوق الملكية في مؤسستك متاح للشركات المحلية.
  • عند الانخراط في عمل التنوع والإنصاف والشمول ، من المهم إنشاء معنى مشترك في اللغة المستخدمة ، مما سيؤدي أيضًا إلى تحسين فهمنا الجماعي. تحقيقا لهذه الغاية ، يحتوي DEI SAP على ملف مسرد DEI، للبدء في تشكيل معرفة وفهم الحرم الجامعي لدينا لبعض لغة DEI.    
  • أفضل برنامج منحة مبادرة DEI (DIG) هي محاولة للحصول على رؤى وخبرات مجتمع UM-Flint بأكمله في السعي لتحقيق التميز الشامل. برنامج DIG هو فرصة تمويل لموظفي UM-Flint لإنشاء مشاريع تدعم التقدم نحو أهداف DEI SAP الخاصة بنا.
    تعرف على المزيد حول مشاريع DIG:
    أرشفة الوباء والاحتجاج
    بناء برنامج إرشاد وتطوير مهني جديد لأعضاء هيئة التدريس والموظفين
    العنصرية والكفاءة المهنية
  • تمثلت إحدى الأولويات في برنامج DEI SAP في زيادة فرص التطوير المهني والقيادي المتعلقة بـ DEI ، وهذا قيد التنفيذ. ال ولفرينز للعدالة الاجتماعية ومجتمع التعلم السكني المتنوع, سلسلة قيادة العدالة الاجتماعية, شهادة القيادة الشاملةوالقيادة والذكورة الصحية وبرامج شهادة الوقاية من العنف الجنسي كلها أمثلة على الجهود التعاونية لتحقيق هذا الهدف.
  • تركز الجهود المؤسسية على تعزيز الانتماء في جميع أنحاء الحرم الجامعي. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، فإن بعض المساحات ، المفتوحة للجميع ، تركز عن قصد على هويات مجموعات معينة من الطلاب لتعزيز الانتماء والدعم المركّز. مساحات مثل مركز الجنس والجنس, مركز المشاركة العالمية, مركز متعدد الثقافاتو مركز موارد الطلاب القدامى من بين تلك المراكز التي تعمل على دعم طلابنا المتنوعين ونجاحهم.  
  • في محاولة لتعزيز المنح الدراسية والدعوة القائمة على الأبحاث التي تتناول بعض الظروف المحددة التي تواجهها فلينت وميتشيغان والمدن المماثلة الأخرى ، الجامعة ، من خلال لجنة DEI وبالتشاور مع العديد من الشركاء من أعضاء هيئة التدريس والموظفين ، أنشأ المعهد الحضري للعدالة العرقية والاقتصادية والبيئية. يمكن للطلاب الالتحاق بالمعهد الحضري من خلال البحث وفرص العمل لتجهيزهم لمستقبل مؤثر.  
  • سوف تدعم البرمجة من أجل التميز الشامل (PIE) الأموال المطابقة التي تصل إلى 2,000 دولار ، والتي يقدمها مكتب التنوع والإنصاف والشمول ، المتحدثين وورش العمل والأنشطة التي تدعم التطوير والنمو المهني لـ DEI. تعمل أموال PIE كوسيلة لتعزيز المزيد من فرص النمو في المعرفة الجماعية وفهم DEI في مجتمع UM-Flint. إذا كانت هناك وحدة في الحرم الجامعي تخطط لاستضافة متحدث مرتبط بـ DEI ، أو منسق ورشة عمل ، وما إلى ذلك ، فيمكنهم إرسال هذه المعلومات إلى FlintODEI@umich.edu للحصول على دعم ممكن.

هذه عينات من بعض الأعمال الجارية في الجامعة. مع استمرار العمل ، سنبقي مجتمع جامعتنا على اطلاع. نحن نرحب بتعليقاتكم على طول الطريق. 

تعريف DEI

بينما نواصل التحسين المستمر في مجالات التنوع والإنصاف والشمول ، نحدد هذه المصطلحات في جامعة ميشيغان - فلينت على النحو التالي:

تنوع: مجموعة من الأفكار والآراء ووجهات النظر والخبرات وصناع القرار عبر العرق والعرق والجنس والهوية الجنسية والتوجه الجنسي والوضع الاجتماعي والاقتصادي واللغة والثقافة والأصل القومي والالتزامات الدينية والعمر وحالة (عدم) القدرة السياسية المنظور ، والمتغيرات الأخرى المتعلقة بالتجربة الحياتية.

الأسهم: نتائج متساوية من خلال ممارسات وسياسات وإجراءات عادلة ومنصفة ، لا سيما بالنسبة للمحرومين تاريخياً. تعطيل وتفكيك أي حاجز مؤسسي محدد أو موقف يؤثر بشكل غير عادل أو غير عادل على مجموعة سكانية معينة بناءً على هويتهم.

إدراجه: تكافؤ الفرص والموارد لجميع الأفراد. جهود مدروسة لضمان الترحيب بالاختلافات وتقييمها ، والاستماع إلى وجهات النظر المختلفة باحترام وتعاطف ، ويشعر كل فرد بالانتماء والمجتمع والفاعلية.

رسائل إلى الحرم الجامعي

Diversity, Equity, & Inclusion

The University of Michigan-Flint is bringing together students, faculty, staff, and administrators from across the university to increase diversity, equity, and inclusion on campus.

The university launched its Diversity, Equity, & Inclusion (DEI) Committee in December 2019, and the members are now creating short- and long-term goals in a multi-faceted action plan for UM-Flint.

Faculty from each school and college, each university division, faculty and staff councils, the undergraduate and graduate student bodies, and the Provost’s Office comprise the committee.

Strategic Action Plan
The DEI Strategic Action Plan, A Call to Action: Pursuing Excellence through Inclusion and Equity, is now available to review. The Action Plan’s goals and timetable are available to view here.

The DEI Strategic Action Plan (DEI SAP) lays out broad goals and suggested tactics for improving our institutional excellence with regard to diversity, equity, and inclusion. Some of this work means supporting and enhancing existing programs, while other aspects mean generating new programs. Here are few of our noteworthy new or enhanced initiatives, informed or supported in significant ways through our strategic action plan:

  • The Committed to Excellence and Opportunity (CEO) Program in the Office of Educational Opportunity Initiatives (EOI) is one of the programs building a pipeline from local Flint schools to the University that is receiving increased support.  
  • The Division of Student Affairs launched the Success Peer Mentoring program with the understanding that peer mentoring programs are evidence-based initiatives that cultivate student belonging and promote success for our diverse student population.
  • Enhancement of DEI Competencies is a continued effort that now expands beyond UM-Flint, with a short professional development course, Cultivating Equity in your Organization available to local businesses.
  • In engaging in the work of diversity, equity, and inclusion, it is important to establish shared meaning in the language being used, which will also improve our collective understanding. To that end, the DEI SAP contains a DEI Glossary, to begin shaping our campus’ knowledge and comprehension of some of the language of DEI.    
  • The DEI Initiative Grant (DIG) program is an effort to solicit the insights and expertise of the entire UM-Flint community in pursuit of inclusive excellence. The DIG program is a funding opportunity for UM-Flint employees to create projects that support progress toward the goals of our DEI SAP.
    Learn more about the DIG projects:
    Archiving Pandemic & Protest
    Building a New Faculty & Staff Mentoring & Professional Development Program
    Racism and Professional Competence
  • A priority in the DEI SAP has been to increase professional and leadership development opportunities related to DEI, and that is under way. The Wolverines for Social Justice and Diversity Residential Learning Community, Social Justice Leadership Series, Inclusive Leadership Certificate, Leadership and Healthy Masculinity, and Sexual Violence Prevention Certificate programs are all examples of collaborative efforts toward this goal.
  • Institutional efforts focus on promoting belonging throughout campus. Additionally, certain spaces, open to all, intentionally center identities of specific student populations to promote belonging and focused support. Spaces like the Center for Gender and Sexuality, Center for Global Engagement, Intercultural Center, and Student Veterans Resource Center are among those centers that work to support our diverse students and their success.  
  • In an effort to promote scholarship and research-based advocacy addressing some of the specific circumstances faced by Flint, Michigan and other similar cities, the University, through the DEI Committee and in consultation with numerous faculty and staff partners, established the Urban Institute for Racial, Economic, and Environmental Justice. Students can plug into the Urban Institute through research and employment opportunities to equip them for an impactful future.  
  • Programming for Inclusive Excellence (PIE) matching funds of up to $2,000, provided by the Office of Diversity, Equity & Inclusion, will support speakers, workshops, and activities that support DEI professional development and growth. PIE funds function as a means of promoting more growth opportunities in the collective knowledge and understanding of DEI in the UM-Flint Community. If a unit on campus is planning to host a DEI-related speaker, workshop facilitator, etc., they can send that information to FlintODEI@umich.edu for possible support.

These are a sampling of some of the work underway at the university. As the work continues, we will keep our university community informed. We welcome your feedback along the way. 

DEI Defined

As we pursue continuous improvement in the areas of Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion, we define those terms at the University of Michigan-Flint as follows:

Diversity: A range of ideas, opinions, perspectives, experiences, and decision-makers across race and ethnicity, gender and gender identity, sexual orientation, socioeconomic status, language, culture, national origin, religious commitments, age, (dis)ability status, political perspective, and other variables related to life experience.

Equity: Equal outcomes through just and fair practices, policies, and procedures, particularly for the historically underserved. Disruption and dismantling of any identified institutional barrier or situation that unfairly or unjustly impacts a specific population based on their identity.

Inclusion: Equal opportunities and resources for all individuals. Deliberate efforts to ensure that differences are welcomed and valued, differing perspectives are respectfully and empathically heard, and every individual feels a sense of belonging, community, and agency.

Messages to Campus